We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Ranked #23 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Overall, I was satisfied but I did have a few concerns. First, the pool and hot tub closes at "dusk." This is South Beach people, it would be awesome if we could cone hone after a nice dinner and drinks and take a dip in the hot tub. Second, the breakfast is way overpriced and only mediocre at best. With tip, its $30 for a buffet that only has a few pastries, some fruit, and an omelette station. I learned quickly that you're better off going to Starbucks in the lobby and spending $6 for a coffee and danish.... plus it tasted better.

On the positive side, the rooms were nice, and if you get an ocean view, the balconies are incredible. The pool situation is great other than the hours. The location is about a 6 block walk from great restaurants and nightlife. I might stay here again next year, but honestly I will probably explore other South Beach options.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,650 - 1,656 of 2,468 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location of this hotel is first class -right on the beach and a short walk from the action -sufficient distance to be quiet and calm . The rooms are spacious and confortable and most have a view -even the rooms located on the side as the hotel is adjacent to a park . The staff are courteous and have a sense of humour and clearly enjoy working there . Very nice pool area looking onto the beach -What more do you want ? Thumbs up from me

Room Tip: There is work going on at the front as they relay the road so avoid a front location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinD294458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Cursing in the lobby and boom boom music with bad attitudes was my experience. The staff was very nice but this is not a nice hotel.The clientele is undesirable. Falls way short of any expectation. The rooms are very small but clean. The hotel it self is small but has a nice ocean access.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goodtimechsrlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Nice ocean front property. Typical SoBe service and prices. Slept in room 525, came home with several bed bug bites on arms and legs so avoid that room!
Outside of beg bug problems the hotel was expensive:
$14.95 Internet access
$20.00 breakfast buffet
$36.00 daily parking
Would not stay there again because of the bed bug problem.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary246810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in September, arriving on a Thursday. We were given a lovely ocean front room on the tenth floor of eleven - the room was showing its age and certain bits of it were not exactly pristine, but the view of the beach was fantastic. There are several other parts of the hotel that are ready for a re-vamp, including the lunge.
On the Thursday evening and Friday morning, we used the concierge lounge, which was excellent - made better by the helpful, super friendly staff both in the evening and morning. My first grouch is that fact that the lounge is locked shut at the weekends - even though the (already very high) rates go up.
There is a very good swimming pool - the lady in charge of the sun beds does a great job removing towels from those no longer in use, and it couldn't be handier for the beach.
As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel's location is excellent at the quiet end of Ocean Drive - the biggest problem, and the thing that will almost certainly stop us returning was PARKING! $35 plus tax a night to use the hotel garage. This is clearly not just a Marriott issue, parking charges are horrendous all over the beach - we were able to use a car park one street back for $20 per 24 hours with full in and out. There is some on street parking at weekends but there were also a lot of road works around the hotel making this difficult.
We had breakfast in the restaurant - this was very, very good - but vastly over priced - nearly $100 for the three of us (including an 18% service charge FOR A BUFFET - where we served ourselves!).
Despite the little niggles, we really enjoyed our stay, but next time we are in Miami, we will plump for a cheaper option away from the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great location and great staff, beach just 30 seconds away, 2 swimming pools,
realy god food at the pool reataurant and the main restaurant. walking distance to Art Deco
and a lot of nice restaurants, Big Pink just a block away is real good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolf Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is the second time I stayed at the Marriott and overall it's a great hotel. It's about a three block walk to the start of the action on Ocean Drive. A cab ride is only $4.00. You do not need a car. They also have the option of biking - you can take the bike from one location and return it elsewhere...very cool. Now the hotel overview: Bed are GREAT!! Rooms overlooking the ocean are just perfect. The shower for me had a little to be desired - if you have thick hair - you may have shampoo in there after the shower - the rain spout really doesn't do to trict for thick hair. The restaurant is expensive and doesn't have much to offer but there are a lot of inexpensive places on Washington and Collins. They charge for umbrellas and chairs on the beach which I think is tacky and the service for drinks is far and few in between. But I would stay here again . The staff is great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank staop2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,695 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,042 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,399 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#45 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $312 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy effortless glamour at Marriott Stanton South Beach. Our Art Deco-inspired South Beach hotel in Miami Beach, Florida fits right in on Ocean Drive with some of the most stylish buildings in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing