We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Ranked #22 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - honeymoon”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We had a fantastic time at this hotel. Service was great the food was great even though its over priced and you can walk to the strip (ocean drive) for a cheaper meal. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are so comfortable. The decor is beautiful and trendy! We had a great time on our honeymoon. Devito's restaurant is directly across the street expensive but GREAT food.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsjarette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    709
    209
    87
    62
See reviews for
572
859
82
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, CT
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I've been a Marriott elite member for years and I continue to see that this particular property allows guests in the pool with cocktails glasses in the water and they often park them along the pool border: can see some cuts happening soon.
To make it worse they follow a practice for which China Grill got sued and lost: adding the tip for "your convenience"- love it!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier Ander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Mo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

This might be ok for people who are on vacation, but for someone who stays at Marriott a lot, it is a second rate property. Concierge Lounge is one of the worst I have seen. Well if you like scrambled eggs and oatmeal every day than this is your place. Come on mix in some breakfast meat or a waffle iron . Evening menu is just as bad. Also 34.00 parking plus 2.38 parking tax. As a Platinum Premier member I expect better. You live and learn. Next trip will have to try the JW Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This hotel is great. Friendly and accommodating staff, excellent location, walking distance from the fun stuff not "in" the noisy areas of South Beach. It is right by the beach, has two nice pools and a jacuzzi, a great restaurant. Coffee maker and cooler in the room. Starbucks at the hotel. If you buy the package, you get parking, starbucks and internet (excellent wi-fi connection). We really enjoyed our visit. If you have pets or children, this is your place because the hotel is right by a park. Cleanliness could be better but it was just a minor issue amongst so many great things. Check for AAA discounts.

Room Tip: rooms with ocean view are the best,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We did a weekend getaway at this hotel. The cab ride from airport cost a flat rate of $32. The front staff clerk handled our check in with prompt service, helpful, and very friendly. Our room was on the conceirge level and had access to the concerige lounge for Friday evening. We booked a ctiy view room and were upgraded to a partial ocean view room because of our Marriott Gold status. The room was modern and clean. Bathroom is spacious with a marble countertop with enough counterspace. Room included a safe and a very cool looking mini fridge with a see thru door.

We took advantage of the conceirge lounge which served free drinks of soda, coffee, and tea. Also, served food, a hot dish of pasta, cold cuts, and cheese. Beer and Liquor cost extra. The terrace views of the lounge are beautiful.

Our rate included breakfast, so we opted for the breakfast buffet. The wait staff and the omelet cooking station chef were were very friendly and provided excellent service! The buffet included your usual breakfast foods, fresh fruit, and omelets, pancakes, and waffles are made to order.

The pool is very nice and we were able to get two lounge seats available at the pool around 10am. We did see empty lounge seats reserved by a towel as guests wake up early to reserve a seat at a pool while they are eating breakfast or come by later. I found this to be unfair for guests and the hotel should have a policy if stating that you cannot reserve the seat lounges with a towel for a later time for use. There is a towel desk with attendants right by the pool.

We did go to the beach and we paid $30 in total for the umbrella and two lounge chairs with comfy cushions. The beach is very beautiful, water is crystal clear, and hardly any waves. As you keep walking into the ocean, there are sandbars so water level is waist deep. There is wait service on the beach.

A unique feature at this hotel was a nature habitat room for birds. It was nothing special but it was kind of different and if you are a birdlover, it would be neat to see it.

There is a Starbucks adjacent to the hotel. So before hitting the beach, grab some drinks here to take to the beach. Also, there are great restaurants walkng distance. We walked to Joe's Stone Crab take-away about less than10 mins. I loved that this hotel was away from the loud art deco hotel district area and it was about a 10-15 walk from there. This hotel is expensive so be prepared to spend but the beach, modern decor, and quiet location make it worth to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON, MA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Our first time hitting South Beach. After studying reviews, we decided on Marriott South Beach. We were looking for a place, not too expensive, walking distance to the action, without staying in the middle of it. I dont wanna hear banging house music while trying to sleep off my hangover ;)

This hotel was perfect for us. Great pool, with a view of the beach and access to the beach. We had breakfast buffet overlooking the pool and beach. Female chef made really good eggwhite omlets and waffles. We went next door to check out the high end Hilton and we liked the Marriott pool and breakfast much better. Everyone from the front desk, the concierge, the cabana service, bell man were all great. Rooms were clean, bed was comfy, but as the reviewer below mentioned, it would be a great time for an update. We had a street view, which was fine for us for a 2 day bar crawl.

Walking distance to everything, I think the hotel is around 3rd street. Out of the hotel, to the right your about 3 blocks from the main drag starting at like 6th st - restaurants, bars, clubs, hotels, main part of the beach and park. To the left there was another area that unfortunately we didnt discover until the last day - Nikki Beach. I don't know if most people would be up to this, but we even walked all the way to Lincoln Mall Ave 17th st, all the way to the end, then hit Espanola Way. I think we did 5 miles that day.

It was Spring Break time and we had a great time. We're in our early 40's, but still like to hit the bars, etc. So the concierge gave us some great places to go and made our dinner reservation. The clubs were so crowded she steered us clear of them.

They have a small gym and no spa which is dissapointing. They do have a bathroom with a shower and a co-ed dry sauna. Starbucks was very convenient on the 1st floor. Great looking bar in the rear (we didnt drink there).

We were in Orlando and decided to fly into Ft Lauderdale because of price. We took GO Airport car service ($70) from the airport right to our Hotel in like 30 min- Shuttle would have been a lot of stops and prob 1hr 30min.

We will stay here every time we come down. Thanks to TA forum for helping me pick the perfect spot!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUEBA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I have been staying at the Marriott South Beach for TEN years now. I visit every couple of years and sometimes twice or thrice in a single year. I find that it offers the perfect combination of location, cleanliness, and hip-ness. The price is right too.

The hotel is on the beach and is about 3 blocks from the deco district where all the action is. Perfect location. Beach access is great, and the scene around the pool is great for a beer or lunch break during a day of laying in the sun. There is also a Starbucks on the street level, a hip comfort food place (The Big Pink) one block west and a great upscale restaurant one block south (Prime) plus an enormous variety of dining in the deco district three blocks north (I recommend Quinns).

I am pretty committed to this hotel as my South Beach home, and heartily recommend it.

I have only one reservation: it is starting to show its age. Please please please take note of this Marriott South Beach management -- we, your reliable guests, are in your corner --we love you -- BUT NOWS THE TIME for some fresh carpet and wallpaper. Then you're good for another ten years!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingFromHereToThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,129 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,571 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,908 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,687 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Property: Marriott Stanton South Beach
Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing