We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #43 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Very nice hotel in the heart of it all, staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. Easy access to South Beach, Lincoln Road Mall and shopping area, restaurants and bars.

Public transport at your doorstep, Miami airport not far either.

I would definitely be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Tee A-

Thank you for staying with us and the great reccomendation. Come back and visit soon!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,483)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,515 - 1,521 of 3,483 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2014

We travelled to Miami South Beach to celebrate my 40th birthday. The hotel, and in particular, David and his staff,made the whole experience first class and a holiday to remember. Whilst this hotel is part of a chain, it really offers the personal touch. It feels quirky boutique, art deco in style, rather than the formal, very large "glassy" corporate hotel. It offers outstanding service and superb facilities. Our room had stunning sea/pool views with a large terrace. The facility of breakfast or brunch was so unusual and excellent for our flexibility, who can't love somewhere that serves this complimentary until 4pm! Wine tasting daily at 5pm was fantastic and much appreciated. We have become Kimpton members and look forward to joining the staff at the Surfcomber soon! Thank you for making my birthday so enjoyable and memorable xx

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mikey74alc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Mikey74alc,

We are thrilled we could be a part of your 40th birthday! We appreciate your business and will be sure to recognize the team for taking great care of you. Don't wait too long to come visit!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I don't know who teach their customer service class but it should be taught by more companies worldwide. Everyone at this hotel gives service with a smile. Foxy was our favorite an made our stay most enjoyable an above expectations, an for that I thank you. Lahteef greeted us everyday by name with a pleasant smile an conversation. Jordanna & Martin was very helpful as well. The entire staff should be commended on a job well done. The location is perfect, the rooms were small but very clean. The 24 hour pool an beach access is worth the stay in itself. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting S. Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ONAPPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

ONAPPE-

We can be a little vain and enjoy reading comments like yours! Wow thank you very much for recognizing the incredible team we have on property. We hire people who genuinely are interested in making sure our guests have an unforgettable experience! We appreciate the comments and your business. Be sure to come back again soon!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

The room service guy Adrian seemed to be working every night and boy was I glad that was the case. This young man would have everything I needed ready before I even had time to ask, always smiling and joking around once his work was done. Room was fine and check in staff were okay but once again I need to give it up for Adrian the bellman

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Cvaldeezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

My wife is a Kimpton rewards member so we usually favor their hotels. The staff was amazing. Everyone was so friendly. One of the managers Sophia always went out of her way to say hi to us and we enjoyed seeing her during our 5 day visit. We also enjoyed speaking with a young lady named Pat, who was a bartender. Surfcomber is located at 1717 Collins which I think is the best area in South Beach. The Ocean Ave area does not have restaurants or bars that in my opinion can compete with the Surfcomber area. Once you get past 2000 Collins, you have all hotels and Condos and very few restaurants. The Lincoln Mall Road area is also close to the Surfcomber. The daily wine hour was always a great way to meet new people and enjoy great wine.

Room Tip: We stayed in 172 which was on the first floor near the pool. We thought it was a great room. South B...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holden140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is our second stay at a Kimpton Hotel and they do not disappoint. The Surfcomber is excellent. The rooms are modern, stylish and spotlessly clean. The pool area is great - not as big as other hotels which helps with the overall 'boutique' feel of the hotel. There is also an area of the beautiful beach exclusive to the hotel which is literally 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The location is brilliant - only 2 blocks from Ocean Drive. But the best of all in my opinion is the staff. Every member of staff was a credit to the hotel. Always willing to help and very friendly. There are also special touches like a glass of Prosecco on arrival and the daily free wine hour is a great idea. It gives guests a chance to mingle in a very informal atmosphere. Oh yeah, definitely try the Cuban sandwich in the hotel bar - best around! We are hoping to return to Miami Beach soon and the Surfcomber will be our definite choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I wish I could give this hotel 5 stars. But I have to deduct 2 stars. Firstly, it's small but has a big pool and great access to beach. Staff was excellent. That is 5 star stuff. But the rooms and booking had big problems. We had 2 rooms for 4 nights. There is little explanation for differences in rooms and prices changed significantly over a couple weeks. Our "city view" room really should have been "city street." There are only 3 floors. So our second floor room was practically in the street. That wouldn't be an issue except that a bar/restaurant across the street blasts music into the early hours even on week days (I guess management thinks loud music is a better draw than good food). Fortunately, we brought good ear plugs. The second room had windows facing a building about 3 feet away. So no view at all. Since this is a narrow but long building with only 3 floors, make sure you know what room you're getting. This isn't a cheap hotel. The hotel's booking site should give a full description of the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,185 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#28 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,915 reviews
SLS South Beach
#40 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $211 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing