We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #38 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The surf comber is definitely a toned down Kimpton hotel that includes the great customer service, wine happy hour, free wifi, and raid the mini bar accommodations and I is a few steps from the beach. The room I received was behind a neighboring hotel restaurant so what I got was a back of another hotel view with noise from staff ay night and construction in the morning. When brought up with the front desk I, they were very apologetic and even offered another room but I declined since I had one more night left. I was offered a food and beverage credit for my inconvenience which was nice. This helped since there are about $40 of additional fees and taxes added to each room in Miami. The other shortfall are the flow elevators. A few times I walked up instead of waiting.

The friendly and upbeat staff really did make the stay very good and the pool staff were helpful. With our wine happy hour were rack of lamb appetizers and those were excellent. One of the staff members brought some by us when we went up and there were none there. A sign of true customer service. It is the little things that make Kimpton one of my go to hotels!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not located in the back.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly as all Kimptons tend to be.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALNNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,914
    893
    279
    104
    66
See reviews for
723
1,096
133
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Went to the pool bar with my wife and met one of the best bartenders I have had the pleasure of spending my money with "Pat". Her personality and energy is infectious and made our visit one to remember.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robvalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The staff were so friendly and accommodating. Location was beautiful -- great pool with awesome cabanas where you can just kick back and relax, with the ocean directly behind you. The director, Chris Mehmel, took a group of us on a walking tour of the area which included scoping out the art deco architecture. It was the first time my sister and I stayed there but would definitely love to go back and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Very nice boutique hotel with beachfront access. It is in a good location near shops and many restaurants. The decor has a beachy chic feel. Tea and coffee are offered daily complimentary as well as wine at 5 pm. The smell throughout the hotel is nice and flowery. Though the room was small the bed was super comfortable. The bathroom could be a little bigger it was hard to style my hair and get ready with such little space to work with. The shower was a bit tricky either super hot or cold. But these were minuscule issues. I came for my birthday and the manager, Alex sent up a bottle of champagne and even wrote a nice card. Thank you Alex and team. The pool area is pleasant. The hotel provides sun screen and fruit infused water. The beach is very close and a quick walk from the pool area. Hotel offers beach chairs and umbrellas are $19. The beach service is provided by a third party company. You can also try their bar and restaurant for a small bite or drink. The drinks are very different and interesting. The breakfast wrap and fruit plate is tasty. The hotel is neighbors with SLS and Delano. Be sure to check them out for a bite or a drink. Would come back again, treated customers well.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ilyane512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Ilyane512-

It sounds like you had a great birthday! It is great to hear our new Front Office Manager Alex took special care of you! Regardless of the bathroom size, I heard your hair looked incredible! Thank you so much for the business and we can't wait to see you before your next birthday!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Kimpton is my favorite hotel chain and the Surfcomber was awesome in every way. The staff is friendly, welcoming and did everything to make sure we had a great time. Wendy at the desk, Pat at the pool bar and Juju on the beach, were especially great. The location is spectacular, the rooms clean and comfortable, and catering was beyond expectations. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilkb-stp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
ilkb-stp,

Thank you for highlighting a few of our rockstars on property! We are happy we can provide the amazing experience you can expect from all Kimpton Hotels! We hope to see you soon!

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel is in a nice spot and genuinely well designed. Staff is friendly, too. But then there are some things that are simply not acceptable: delivering a fruit plate with rotten/ mouldy grapes for breakfast is not on.Removing T-shirts from a pool stretcher after I asked whether it is ok to put it there and then not having anyone on duty to return is very poor service. Asking the doorman for a cab that accepts credit cards, him saying he will try his best to find one, but then not even asking the cab driver whether cards are indeed accepted is disrespectful.
As I said, the hotel and ammenities are genuinely nice, but some very basic stuff is missing. I was there on my own during a business trip. Would I stay again with my wife? No.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citruschill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear citruschill,

I am truly sorry that we failed you during your last stay. The experience that you described is not acceptable and we will certainly use your feedback to ensure that future guests do not receive a similar experience. Please feel free to reach out to me directly via private message to discuss your experience further.

Kind regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Funky little place with direct access to the beach and within walking distance of Ocean Drive, and pedestrian streets Lincoln Rd and Espanola way.
You get beach chairs/towels included with your room you only needd to pay extra for the umbrella, if you want one and the price is reasonable $19.
There's cool corners to hang out and relax like the bar at the back of the property with a sanded area with comfy couches and the private cabanas by the pool with couches and TVs.
The service was great, everyone was really friendly and ready to help with suggestions of where to go, eat, etc....
There's a funky vibe to the hotel with kitchy art pieces all over, the rooms are quite small but cute (bathrooms are the tiniest I've ever seen).
The one recommendation I have for management is to make sure used glasses and utensils are removed promptly from the halls. They tend to be left there for a while and its ver unsightly.
Overall a great experience we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdiaz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
cdiaz_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear you had a great time and liked the design of the property. We will certainly address those hallway concerns. We appreciate your business and look foward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#28 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
SLS South Beach
#36 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing