We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surfcomber April 21-25, 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #39 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surfcomber April 21-25, 2014”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is an excellent hotel. The best in which I have ever stayed. From the first class help to the beautiful architecture and ambiance, it is a winner. I actually felt bad for people staying in the giant skyscraper-like hotels with which it shared the beach. You could tell that they were all going out of their way to make this a pleasant visit. The only negative is the price--but it is Miami beach and it is a national historical site with only three floors worth of rooms. The beach is also excellent and I have never seen people work as hard as the young men working the beach kiosk. Their manager Vinny has upper management written all over him. Thanks for a great visit.

Room Tip: If you are here you are in a good room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Why should you care? Are you helping implement Agenda 21?
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krzmagister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi krzmagister,

Wow - Best hotel you have ever stayed in?! We are very happy the kind words. The entire team works hard so you don't have to while on vacation! Vinnie is incredible by the beach; so happy you were able to spend some time getting pampered in the sand. We will be ready for you whenever you need more sun!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    914
    293
    106
    73
See reviews for
744
1,127
139
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Serena, Chile
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The location of the hotel is outstanding. Very close to the beach and the Lincoln Rd. shopping mall. There is a Decobike stop right in the hotel garden. Bikes are a nice way to get around in Miami Beach. The staff is very nice and helpful and the place is clean, but a little noisy, which is not a surprise, after all it's in the middle of a big city and Collins Ave is a busy place!
There are many parking facilities only a view blocks away, where parking is available for $ 15-20 per night.
It's a highly recommended place to stay and to enjoy Miami South Beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ulrich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi Ulrich W,

Thank you for the recent stay at Surfcomber! In South Beach there is compromise between a great location and 'city noise', however we never compromise with service! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look foward to welcoming you back!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Dorgis the door man is fantastic. The concierge was extremely helpful. The staff was all over it. I love staying at Kimpton hotels and this one in particular was lovely. The beach area is superb. The pool area is picture perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlschgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Jlschgo-

Thank you for recognizing Dorgis in your great review! We really appreciate the kind words, and look foward to seeing you soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights here as part of our honeymoon and weren't disappointed.

The hotel is nice, rooms comfortable and bathrooms nicely kitted out. The pool area is good and the staff helpful.

We had a noisy room on our first night (air con units from neighbouring hotel in the south tower) however the hotel sorted for us, moved us to another room and compensated us which was totally unexpected.

The location is fab! Beach in the back garden and 5 minutes to Lincoln Road with the restaurants and bars.

Wine hour is a nice touch.

This is the hotel to stay in. We'll be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wes05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Wes05,

Thank you for the great review and recent stay! We are happy to hear you had a great time. Sorry about needing to move rooms, but glad the team took care of you. We will be here waiting for your return!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I have visited Miami many times and have stayed in a variety of properties and locations. We decided to try the Surfcomber because we have enjoyed other Kimpton properties. The location is great. The rooms are beachy but a bit small. We had one with a large balcony, which was nice but the noise from the hotel next door (which was literally a stone's throw away) was overwhelmingly loud until around 3 a.m. The pool was small but nice and beach access is very easy. There weren't enough waiters at the pool and it took a long time to get our food and drinks each day. If they added a couple of more people to their staff they would probably have made quite a bit more money. I don't know if we'd stay again, but it was a fun weekend. There were people of all ages so kids are definitely welcome.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the left side of the hotel when looking at it from the street. It will be a bit quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbmsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear dmbmsb,

Thank you for the recent stay and taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry about the noise and slow service. We certainly have fixed those staffing issues and our doing our best to keep our neighbors quite. We hope you give us another chance. Please message me with your email address so i can send over another reason for you to come back to Surfcomber.

Kind regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

First time being in Miami for most of our group! The minute we walked in we were warmly greeted, & were offered champagne. The front desk staff was very friendly and willing to help us with almost anything: jetski rentals, restaurant recommendations, club recommendations. We arrived early so the rooms were not ready, they gladly held our luggage. The pool is gorgeous & the pool staff is very accommodating, remembered us for the entire length of our stay. The drinks at the pool bar were delicious. The beach is right in your backyard. Great option to be able to choose between the pool and the beach, if you party wants to separate. Each room receives 2 complimentary beach chairs as well, extras and umbrellas are additional, at a reasonable fee. The crowd ranged from young adults, bachelor/bachelor parties, and families. The one downside to our trip was that we requested connecting rooms, or rooms next to each other, and they were not able to fulfill this request. The best they could do was place us on the same floor. This was disappointing. Both rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable! One bathroom was a little cramped as the door hit the toilet when opened, not sure why this was. The cleaning service did see to come late on some days, but if you are out by the pool all day, like we were, we didn't usually have an issue. The hotel restaurant had great breakfast, with an outside patio, perfect for the days when we just wanted to lounge by the pool. Their complimentary wine hour was enjoyed by many. We had no issue getting a cab to a local location, or to the airport thanks to the valet service. All the staff is beyond friendly. Overall great trip, and would definitely return again, or suggest to someone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crpru27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
crpru27,

We are so happy to hear you had a great first experience in Miami! Is there really a better way to start off your resort stay than by a glass of champagne? Let me know if there is a different way, because we would try it! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We can't wait to welcome you back to South Beach!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

1st things 1st, rooms are small. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Vinny and his helpers at the beach were awesome! Says the lady with the flask. The restaurant was good, although there are many better places to eat. Food service was a bit slow, but that was everywhere so I think being from the North we are just more fast paced.

Room Tip: I would make sure to request a room away from the lights of neighboring hotel. We closed the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 176482lisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi 176482lisas,

Thank you for the recent stay. We are happy to hear that Vinny and the rest of the team took great care of you. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you next time!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing