We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very fun experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #39 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very fun experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel as a whole was phenomenal. What stood out the most was the service in the pool and beach. I believe her name was Rachel in the pool, was great, and Josh on the beach was fantastic! I stay in Kimptons all the time and it is because of their employees like these

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelseaR1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
ChelseaR1978,

Thanks for mentioning Rachel, I'm glad she was able to make your stay a memorable one!

Start planning your trip for a second great experience!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,977
    921
    296
    106
    73
See reviews for
752
1,135
140
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a very good experience overall, and at a good price, but this isn't quite the polished four star SOBE experience of your dreams. Smallish rooms that are showing their age (maybe 10 well used years?) pool area is a little dated looking and the buildings lining it have some unsightly storage spaces. A lot of work going on while we were trying to relax by the pool: power washing, landscaping.

Highlights are definitely the staff, who were thoroughly great. Lobby and restaurant ambiance very nice. Morning coffee station and complimentary wine hour were awesome. Poolside food and drink prices too high, especially the drinks.

Would go back at the right price. We had a very nice mini vaca.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKurz2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
JKurz2008,

Thank you for sharing your experience, I will be sure to share your comments with the team for future improvement.

Best Regards,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. A few short blocks from all the action of south beach. You can easily walk everywhere. Nice pool, easy access to the beach and pedestrian mall on Lincoln.
Took the Art Deco walking tour offered by the hotel. Our guide was Chris. Very informative, great walking tour of the area. He was able to recommend some restaurants and bars. Very helpful.
Don't forget the complimentary wine in the lobby from 5 to 6 nightly and complimentary tea and coffee in the morning.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank windandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
windandsand,

The wine hour from 5-6 is the best way to unwind for the evening, or get ready for a night out on the beach! Glad you were able to take advantage of the tours we have to offer, Chris is an excellent guide!

Come back and take the bike tour next time!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We spent a weekend here in March and had a great time. The property was very clean, the staff gave us helpful restaurant recommendations, and we enjoyed the Happy Hour with wine in the afternoon. Our room overlooked Collier Avenue and was spacious. The bathroom was not big but just fine with a rain-shower head. The lounge chairs on the beach were very comfortable and the beach staff took care of all the details. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wahoohistory92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
wahoohistory92-

Look forward to your return! Hoping it's sometime soon.

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

When staying here you really get what you pay for. Great service,staff, location and awesome pool parties!!! I loved that I was able to check in early and check out late with no fee. I will be going back for sure!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vydias22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
vydias22 -

Thank you for staying with us and for saying this is the best place to stay during WMC. Hope you've already booked again for next year!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Overall- I enjoyed the hotel.
Rooms- small but really nice, clean, and dark window blinds. Great place for a good night of sleep.
The bad- the pool is nice, but it is in the wide open, so there are no palm trees and shade.
The location- great. Right near Lincoln Road.
Summary- it's a nice hotel. I'd say in the top 20 or 30, but not top 10.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bush242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Bush242,

Thank you for sharing feedback about your stay.
I hope you come and visit us again.

Best Regards,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I booked this hotel because of the strong reviews. I generally trust the reviews on trip advisor and go for the top rated hotels. I was very disappointed by how far off the reviews are.

First, this is a party hotel targeted for college students. If you fall under that demographic, I recommend this hotel.

I do not recommend this hotel for leisure or family travelers. The entire time I was there, there was either a pool party with very load music and what seems like 1000+ students or construction. During the days where there was no party, there was loud construction taking down and resurrecting a new set for the next party. On one day, the pool was out of service because they were putting in a glass floor. Also the neighboring hotels have their parties so it's not a peaceful or quiet area.

There is a mandatory $20 per day resort fee. However, they also charge for beach umbrellas for an extra $20. There's an 18% mandatory tip fee on top of that. So I was paying $45 per day extra, each day. Seems like it's was too excessive. Why not include the umbrella in the resort fee? Also, when the pool is not available, they should not charge for the resort fee.

House cleaning never shows up one day after 3 calls, they finally came at 9pm after I physically went to the front desk to complain.

There are other nicer and quieter hotels that I would've selected a few blocks over.

Location is great though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
David T,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay and I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the visit. If you have any additional feedback that you would like to share with me, please reach out to me at sean.flanigan@surfcomber.com

Kind Regards,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,745 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,853 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#45 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,214 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,111 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing