We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel in Miami Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #32 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel in Miami Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was my first time staying at the Surfcomber. I was quite impressed by the staff and their eagerness to make sure that all guests were happy and well taken care of. The staff were very friendly and professional. The hotel is very clean and the beds are comfortable. Location is perfect for walking to Lincoln Road and enjoying the restaurants and nightlife in the area. Beautiful pool area and beachfront. I have stayed in other boutique hotels in the Miami Beach area in the past and this is by far my favorite to date. We had drinks at the hotel bar and the staff there were wonderful there as well. Drinks were perfect and it was relaxing and truly enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room with ocean view and it was very quiet and we got a great night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Cindy H -

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us! I am happy to hear that your drinks as well as your stay was truly relaxing! We are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,768
    830
    254
    92
    56
See reviews for
652
1,009
119
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Just returned from Kimpton Surfcomber. Great experience all around would recommend to anyone in a heartbeat. Great staff at the pool including Marco and Chris!! the manager ( a different Chris) also is on top of everything and made my stay a truly first class experience! I will be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dan G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!! We are so excited for you to visit us again soon!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Everyone was wonderful to our group. Always asking if we needed help with anything. Never had to wait more than 5 minutes for them to get us a cab.
Drinks and service at the pool was wonderful. Our server for the weekend was Chris Smith. He took such good care of us. Marco was very helpful always assisting in moving our umbrellas to help us avoid the sun.
Dorgos at the front was absolutely pleasant making us feel like we were returning home at the end of each day. I called one day for some guidance of where to find a salon so the bride could get her hair done and they connected me to B Dry so I could make appointments.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Jennifer,

Thank you for writing about your experience! Please plan a next visit!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

When walking into the hotel, we were greeted with wonderful men taking our luggage for us and opening the doors. The great hospitality started there but definitely didn't end there! As we approached the front desk we walked upon smiling people eagerly waiting to help us with our reservations. We had won a trip to Miami through a company called Oribe Hair Care and they chose that hotel for us. Unfortunately there was miscommunication with the 3rd party group and we were not able to get our rooms at first. David and Kenneth (at the Surfcomber) helped us out tremendously by talking to us about the situation and fixing it as fast as they could. It also helped that there was wine happy hour during the time of our check in! Through our stay, every staff at the hotel whether it was room service, the front desk, hostesses at the restaurant, the pool guys or the beach service people, the service was phenomenal! I highly recommend this spot because it's definitely a place for relaxation. Isn't that what everyone wants? :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prichy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
prichy10,

I agree - definetely a place of relaxation and happy to hear you enjoyed it!! I will be sure to give David and Kenneth a high 5 for making a memorable experience for you!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Surfcomber was a great experience. ALL the staff is friendly and helpful. The service at the beach was above and beyond my expectations. They have wine hour from 5 to 6pm. Its a great way to meet people and mingle with other guests. And who doesn't like free wine!

Green Features: I wanted to tell you that all of the employees were great but Jessica,Vinny and Hanz out at the beach were awesome. Very attentive and quick with everything. David at the front desk was great. To me he made sure we were very well taken care of.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Jackson,

Thanks for sharing your experience! Wine hour is so much fun, travel to any Kimpton from 5-6pm we are serving wine across the nation!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Surfcomber is in a great location amidst the big hotels on Collins Road in South Beach but without the pretension and/or the scene you find at so many of them. From the front desk to the pool staff you are always greeted with a friendly smile. And while the lobby may not be done in the high-style (gauzy white drapes etc) of some of the more luxe properties, and the restaurant and lobby bar are just serviceable, it is still very stylish and comfortable and it has many of those properties beat where it counts - at the pool. The pool is very large, open, spacious, lined with tall palms, and has a nice calm bar and lounge area behind it that backs up onto the beach. Rooms are comfortable, stylish in the Kimpton Hotel Group way, and recently renovated, with nice rain showers in the small but functional bathrooms. If you want a huge scene or fantastic nightlife stay elsewhere but if you want easy access to all that without it being right in your backyard then this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Most rooms either face a landscaped courtyard or one of the hotels on either side. A select few hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
MarcDavid,

Thank you so much for your review. The day life at our hotel is where we really tend to focus on. We have a great backyard space and serve brunch every day from 7am-4pm! Thanks for enjoying your visit!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Came for Bachlorette party best poolside service! Chris Smith was our server the entire time. So quick with all our orders occasional free drinks for the bride. Very relaxed and laid back pool to take a break from Miami life. Directly across from the beach so very easy access also next door to fun day clubs. Would definitely go back

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKateD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Mary Kate,

Seems Chris Smith is on a roll! Thanks for sharing your stay and happy to hear you had fun at our pool!

Come back soon,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
The Confidante
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,850 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#33 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#24 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,425 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#27 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing