We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service in a beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #39 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service in a beautiful hotel!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My friend and I visited the Surfcomber for our spring break. We were blown away by the wonderful people that work there along with the cute and clean decorations and rooms. Although the hotel is smaller than the surrounding ones, it provides a very intimate and cozy experience that I'm sure larger hotels cannot provide. David at the front desk was extremely accommodating and very friendly. From helping us check in, to giving us great restaurant recommendations, he knew it all! Chris, who works out by the pool, was extremely friendly and also gave us great bar recommendations. To say the staff was the friendliest I've ever met at a hotel would be a total understatement. Loved every minute of our vacation! I will definitely be staying in the Surfcomber every time I come to Miami Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brvogelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Brvogelz -

It brings a smile to my face to know that we made your vacation one to remember and Chris and David will be awaiting your return!

Thanks for your review!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    914
    293
    106
    73
See reviews for
744
1,127
139
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for my bachelorette party last May. It has a great lobby, bar and an awesome pool area right on the beach, plus all the standard things that make a Kimpton great such as free wine happy and a raid the bar discount. The rooms were nice and comfortable, although the walls seemed to be a bit thin. The staff was exceptional! They went above and beyond to make this a special experience for me - they truly gave us the royal treatment. Also the hotel was in a perfect location for nearby bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Sarah W,

Thank you for sharing your stay - it's great to see that you remember your experience after almost a year of visiting us. Hopefully the reunion is coming soon, perhaps with your new partner! Congratulations, by the way.

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I recently stayed at the Surfcomber Hotel; The Hotel was great, the pool is pleasant, we enjoyed the happy hour when complimentary drinks were served. Thanks for all the hospitality and especially to Vinny Ortega beach attendant who made sure that our stay on the beach was convenient and refreshing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eszter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Eszter S-

Vinny's great glad you got to meet!

Visit us again soon
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield ma.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Returned this year after a great stay last year and was not disappointed. This is the best location in South Beach - right on the ocean and an easy walk to restaurants and shopping. The hotel itself is stylish and comfortable without being pretentious and has all the amenities you could want. But the best part is the staff - everyone is super friendly and helpful. A special thank you to Vinnie down on the beach and all the guys on the bell staff but really everyone is great . I would recommend The Surfcomber to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leapinlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
leapinlulu,

Thanks for reccomending us! We love that. Please make sure you visit us again soon.

Thanks,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I highly recommend the Surfcomber. The staff is amazing friendly, helpful and sincere. Everyone from the cleaning personelle to the manager is extremely attentive. The rooms are very clean and bright. The staff went out of their way to make both our dogs and us feel welcome. The dogs were welcome at the pool and in the restaurant. That is unheard of. Loved every minute there!

Room Tip: The generators were a bit loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
MK66,

Thanks for sharing your experience. We can't wait to have you back!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I had been to Miami 10+ times, but it was my girlfriends first time. We both loved it very much and it was my favorite stay of all of them. The accommodations, location, friendly staff, and convenience of the whole experience was terrific. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful on the staff, especially Marco D, Eric, Chris B, Rachel, Jenna, Pat, CAR, Keith, Lahteef, and the whole front desk with an extra shout out to Chris and Wendy. Very high level talent and professionalism all around. The beach accommodations were great and the easy of everything was spot on. Food and drinks were awesome (little pricey) everywhere on the property. The hotel is right next to SLS, the Delano and Raleigh and close walking distance to the W, Lincoln Rd. and the start of Ocean Dr. Must go!!

Room Tip: every room is the same except some have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Christopher B,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the hotel. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team.

I hope you come and visit us again soon!

Best
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for a quick Girls weekend. It's perfectly located in the middle of South Beach, within walking distance to everything. It was really comfortable and modern with lots of nice touches. Strengths and weaknesses noted below:

Strengths
- Gorgeous lobby designed beautifully. It's modern yet at the same time rustic and cozy. My friends and I enjoyed just sitting in the lobby, enjoying the atmosphere.
- The Pool is beautiful. Large in size with lots of cabanas, free sunscreen and water with lemon and mint
- great juice bar and bar, drinks were very yummy
- every morning free coffee and teas; and free wine happy hour most afternoons
- great beach service
- Staff is AWESOME!! Everyone speaks and seem happy to work there. Always someone around to cater to your needs. Marco at the pool area was especially awesome, totally takes good care of everyone. Chris, who I think was the manager was always walking around talking to everyone
- Beds were very comfortable
- Free bikes for customers to use ( only 2 though)

Weaknesses
- The food is quite mediocre. Ordered very strange fish tacos that were in buns vs tortillas. Pretty bland, not yummy. Yuca fries were soggy. Would have been happier if food had been yummier.
- they can't really help this, but the SLS is next door and they have a beach party every weekend. The crowd and music is pretty loud. Can be annoying to hear the EDM and hip hop from next door competing with the chill out music at the pool.
- rooms are on the smaller side, but that is typical of the older hotels. Rooms were a bit disappointing though. Bathrooms really should be nicer and more updated.

Overall, really enjoyed my stay!!
-

Room Tip: If it's not too much more, try to get a suite because the rooms are on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GetawayNYCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
GetawayNYCgirl,

Thank you so much for detailing out your stay with us. It is always great to hear our guests feedback to know where we are doing great and where we can do better. Thanks for mentioning some of our rockstar employees!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#38 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing