We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great maybe best value on the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #31 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great maybe best value on the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

October 2013.Booked in to be given a street facing room which was too noisy for oldies. Moved to a courtyard upgrade without any fuss. Great receptionists Jackie, Jess and Valerie for whom nothing was too much trouble - let them recommend and book you evening restaurant for dinner. Chris on the Wine Tasting Happy Hour, Mitch on the beach and Aaron making sure it all hums along need a mention. We will be back. Mike & Lynn England

Room Tip: Stay off the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Mike and Lynn,

Thanks for mentioning some of the people on this team that make this such a rockin place! I will be sure to give them all high 5's for making your experience one to remember. I hope you're already planning your next trip!

Cheers,
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,726
    815
    247
    90
    56
See reviews for
637
985
115
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at the Surfcomer for a 4 day getaway with old college friends. Overall this is a great hotel choice if you are looking for a relaxing beachfront hotel. It has a nice modern classy feeling. A good call for people who are too old for the boom boom daytime club feel of the SLS or Shore Club but not too too old for some daytime drinking fun.

This is a long review so bear with me!

ROOMS
The rooms are small by modern hotel standards but this is a boutique hotel and on par with the size of many of the Miami beach hotels. The room is well appointed with ample towels, comfortable beds, wine glasses, robes, etc...They will bring you practically anything you forget or need IMMEDIATELY. We asked for a razor and one showed up within 10 minutes in a nice bag with shaving cream. We asked for a nail clipper on our way out to the beach and one was in our room when we got back. The telephone did not work but someone came and fixed it within 5 minutes. Same with clean wine glasses. The only issue was that they didn't clean our room until very late in the day. Also we weren't blown away by housekeeping.

Try not to get a room that faces the walkway to the pool. They randomly blast music in the morning and it is loud. The walls are paper thin. Our room location was really bad. We were in Room 101 across from the employee lounge and we could hear people early in the morning and employees vacuuming the hallway early, etc...Also, the first floor has NO ice machine. Luckily the one time an employee saw me wandering around with a vacant look on my face and ran and got me ice at the restaurant but otherwise we had to trek up to the 2nd floor.

POOL/BEACH
The pool is very nice. We had no problem getting chairs at various times throughout the weekend. The staff quickly turns over chairs of people who leave. Service is great - setting us up chairs with towels but a bit slow with the drinks which is typical. Overall a great service experience at the pool and the bar located at the back end of the pool near the beach. Actually, the bartender there was friendly, quick and very accommodating. The pool isn't quite as beautiful as say the Fontainebleau or Raleigh but very nice. You can definitely hear the music pool party over the shrubs from the next door SLS. The beach chairs looked by far superior in comfort then the ones at the hotels surrounding us. Also 2 chairs are included with the resort fee - additional chairs cost $13 and umbrellas cost $19. The ocean was AMAZING when we where there (October 11-14). Best beach weather we could possibly ask for. Only saw 1 jellyfish and a little bit of trash and seaweed - very little. Service again at the beach was fantastic but "last call" was at 3:30 in the afternoon for food and drink at the beach. I think that is a bit too early! Also they shut down service when a few dark clouds passed by - I mean it didn't even end up raining and they shut it down.

Advice - The hotel has a wine tasting happy hour from 5:00pm to 6:00pm and they DO NOT skimp on the wine pours and you can drink them by the pool. It is a fantastic perk and break from the $13 drinks! We usually laid out on the beach all day - got our last call drinks at 3:30 and then packed up and laid by the pool and drank 3 glasses of free wine until 6:00pm. The food/wraps on the pool and beach menu were surprisingly very tasty!

The fellow guests were a mix of young adults, families, Europeans, older couples...

HOTEL GENERAL
The hotel lobby décor is modern but welcoming. The front desk is very nice. They let me check in early at noon which was nice. Coffee is only available from 7-10am so it stops way too early for a Sunday morning after a Saturday night in Miami. We decided we didn't care about paying for coffee and asked for a large pot to be delivered to the room after 10 but they only had a small pot. They promised to come back and refill but they didn't by the time we left for the beach - no worries - they removed it from our bill. Also they did offer me coffee when I was waiting for my cab to the airport at 5:30am. Again, the staff was very polite and accommodating. Kimpton is a good brand. Never had a bad experience with a Kimpton.

The locations is great. Right on beach near the Raleigh, Delano, SLS...and within walking distance of a lot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are loud and no ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyNewlywed08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
HappyNewlywed08,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor posting! Thank you for taking the time to really detail your stay out and comments about your experience! It helps us perfect our service for years to come. We look forward to having you visit us again soon!

Best,
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west boylston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed three nights at the Surfcomber. I really enjoyed my time there. The staff are very friendly,positive and accommodating. They did a great job of making sure all my needs were met. The location is awesome!! Just a few steps away from the beach, shops and entertainment. My favorite part was being served cold drinks and lunch while on the beach. The pasta salad and chicken sandwich were delicious!! The room was clean. The pool area is very nice. They also offer coffee and tea in the morning and host a wine hour in the evening that is a lot of fun. I had a fabulous time. Thanks to the Surfcomber team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lfsunshine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
lfsunshine3,

Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad to hear you had a fabulous time and were able to enjoy the hotel amenities, what's better than a cold beverage on the beach and finishing the night with a glass of wine at our wine hour?

Come and visit us again soon!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
255 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Super Positive: The staff is incredible. The front desk helped me check in early and recommended great food. The concierge staff provided the most thoughtful amenity I've seen from any Kimpton all year. The bar, restaurant, and pool members all took the time to strike up friendly conversation and make the visit more personal and relaxing.
Positive: Great location right next to the beach and within walking distance of Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive.
Neutral: None.
Negative: None.

I've stayed at about twenty different Kimptons nationwide in the last year. The staffs are generally above average. The Surfcomber team is awesome. They provided one of the most relaxing weekend getaways I've had in a long time. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFOPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
mirandajjl,

I must say I read your review a few times throughout the week. Thank you so much for being a loyal Kimpton fan! It's impressive you visit so many and I am happy to hear we were awesome. Glad you enjoyed our staff's recommendations - always trying to help you live like a local!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed 4 nights from 23rd September and were pleased with the choice of hotel, good location within reasonable walking distance of ocean drive and lincoln rd and great access to the beach from the excellent pool area. Found the majority of staff to be very friendly and helpful, brian was very knowledgable and offered good advice when we arrived, marco was also great at the pool every morning, bit disappointed with some of the bar staff who in my opinion could have been more helpful. Room was nice, little on the small side but no problem, bathroom again quite small but nicely decorated, shower was style over substance though and wasn't powerful enough. Slight niggle with housecleaning that they removed the robes after the first night so we left a polite note on the desk asking for 2 more only to find it ignored 2 days on the trot. Overall really enjoyed our stay, the hotel is a nice size and well maintained, sharpen up a few things and it would be exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R50KEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
R50KEY,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. Happy to hear the good things and would love to hear more specific feedback for future improvement. If you have the time, reach out to me at sean.flanigan@surfcomber.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with our 20month old son and thoroughly enjoyed it: staff were particularly helpful (thank you Keith for our welcome and advice; thank you Monty for providing crayons while we waited for our car; and Jenny, thanks for advice on the keys). It was very relaxing and everything made easy.

The hotel has great access to the beach, and a lovely pool. We didn't eat at the restaurant but my son enjoyed his food there (kids menu) and the locations provides good access to the main sights of south beach. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EVMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
EVMorgan,

It's reviews like these that have me smiling from ear to ear - I will be sure to give Monty, Keith, and Jenny a high 5. It really is the best job to work with a dream team. Glad to hear you were able to witness it.

Thanks!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights at the Surfcomber with our son and his partner before going on a cruise. I have to say the staff here are amazing! Everyone has been so friendly and helpful- it really is true what all the other reviewers have written! The hotel is so truly boutique and trendy- unlike anywhere we have ever stayed! Breakfast was perfect- very good burritos and eggs Benedict. Loved the wine hour and great morning tea selection. Especially appreciated the double set of bathroom towels, excellent air-con and 12pm checkout! Only minor downside was no one noted it was my birthday, unlike previous guests mentioned- all I got at 3.15 was an unmade room because housekeeping hadn't got there yet! Not a big problem because I am a grown up after all!!! Thanks anyway for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Karen M,

Happy belated birthday! Sorry we missed your birthday, come back again next year and we'll blow it up for you. I'm happy to hear you had an excellent stay. Let's do it again soon!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
The Confidante
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,372 reviews
SLS South Beach
#32 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,773 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing