We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #39 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Encinitas, California
1 review
“Best vacation ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a copy of a memo we sent to the GM on the hotel, believe it captures it all.


Hello Sean, In response to your email, I will fill out the Kimpton survey but also wanted to give you some personal feedback regarding our (Jennifer Bahnemann and Jim O'Neill) stay last week.

First some background may be helpful. We are travel junkies; million milers with American Airlines and hundreds of thousands of miles on various other airlines; have been to every state in the USA; and have visited 48 countries around the world. It goes without saying that we've stayed at numerous hotels along the way. But there was something VERY different about the Surfcomber South Beach and that is why Joy and I would like to commend you and your excellent staff.

It's hard to capture all of the great experiences that we were afforded during our short stay and it seems a shame to call out individuals because I truly believe that each and every staff member reflects the same qualities and attention to customer service. However, we would like to make note of the ones that stood out profoundly and hope that you would pass along our appreciation.

* Jenny checked us in at the front desk. We arrived early and were exhausted from an early morning flight. Jenny found us a room to rest our tired bones.
* Tony helped us a number of times in the lobby with various things. Always engaging and helpful.
* Anthony and Brian the mixologist's (bar tenders) were so very knowledgeable, fun and interesting to talk with... perfect personalities.
* Chris Mehmel seemed to service many areas one of which was the evening wine bar. Great guy, very professional and polished
* You have two smiling faces, Chris Bones and Marco Dugue greeting customers pool-side, providing whatever you need to relax and enjoy... both very outgoing and friendly.
* and of course yourself, Sean Flanigan. We met you during the fire drill and oh by the way thank you again for the cocktail. I can certainly understand how you've attained the General Manager role, your boss needs to give you a huge raise. They say that an organization is a reflection of the leader, you make that happen in a very good way. There must have been at least 5 of your staff that commented how great it was to work for you, that is not common in the work place. Great job Sean

Y'all made this a very memorable and one of the best vacations we've ever had. Thank you all very much and rest assured that we will be back to The Surfcomber again soon.

Sincerely

Jim O'Neill and Joy Bahnemann

Room Tip: The hotel is located. on a busy Avenue, we would suggest a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimOHneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
jimOHneill,

Thanks for shouting us out on tripadvisor. I've already given high 5's to everyone you mentioned, they were thrilled to hear we have been crowned with the "best vacation ever"! That's a big deal and we're proud to know we made it happen. Let's beat it next year.

Cheers!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,934
    903
    286
    106
    70
See reviews for
736
1,114
136
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

L'hotel si trova sulla Collins Avenue direttamente su south Beach a pochi metri dall'hotel Delano! L'hotel non è grandissimo però non gli manca nulla : una bella piscina, un piccola zona garden , una bella Hall . Le camere non sono ne piccole ne grandi, hanno la giusta dimensione e sono arredate con stile di mare e tavole da surf! Nell'hotel poi sono distribuite strante statue di animali come mucche molto simpatiche e caratteristiche! Alloggiando qui si è direttamente sul mare, praticamente a due passi dalla zona Art Decò dove la sera vi sono numerosi locali . Vicinissima anche la zona commerciale di Lincoln Road !! Ho soggiornato in B&B e devo dire che la colazione "non continentale" (quindi il classico cappuccio/brioche) era un pò scarsina! infatti puoi ordinare solo una bevanda calda (cappuccio, the etc etc ) un succo e una sola brioche (non ne puoi avere due!!). Tra l'altro la brioche seppur buona era davvero piccola! Questo è l'unica cosa negativa della mia esperienza! A fianco c'era SLS hotel che ogni giorno dava dei party in piscina con musica a paletta (per cui se volete tranquillità non è l'hotel per voi ..ma dubito che chi si reca a miami voglia fare una vacanza tranquilla)... però se volete scatenarvi e siete giovani allora meglio SLS li a fianco con party in piscina e giovani ragazzi in costumi e scarpe (o meglio troccoli) tacco 12 ;-)

Miami è fantastica : sia per il mara che è quasi Caraibico sia per il divertimento!

ENGLISH :

The hotel is located on Collins Avenue directly south of Delano Beach a few meters away! The hotel is not great but lacks nothing: a beautiful swimming pool, a small garden area, a beautiful Hall. The rooms are not small they do great, have the right size and are furnished with style and sea surfboards! The hotel then are distributed strange statues of animals such as cows and very nice features! Staying here, you are directly on the beach, practically a stone's throw from the Art Deco area where the evening there are many venues. It is also within the commercial area of ​​Lincoln Road! I have stayed in B & B and I must say that the breakfast "non-mainland" (hence the classical cappucciono / brioche) was a bit low! In fact, you can only order a hot drink (cappuccino, tea etc etc) juice and one croissant (you can not have two!). Among other things, the brioche was really good albeit small! This is the only bad thing about my experience! Alongside SLS hotel was that every day gave the pool party with loud music (so if you want quiet is not the hotel for you .. but I doubt that those who went to miami wants to have a quiet holiday) ... But if you want to go crazy and you are young then better SLS them next pool party with hot girl in costumes and shoes (or better troccoli) heel 12;-)

Miami is fantastic, both for the mara that is almost Caribbean both for fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoGiova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Google Translation
DiegoGiova,

Grazie per la sua posting su trip advisor. Siamo contenti che vi siete trovati bene al nostro albergo per le vostre vacanza. Tornate presto!

Cordiali Saluti,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The deciding factor in choosing this hotel were the many trip advisor reviews mentioning the excellent customer service. They were accurate. Every staff member greeted our party with a warm smile and were exceptionally helpful. Room service was prompt. The rooms were clean and well-appointed. The readily available fruit infused water in the lobby and pool side, as well as the included sangria/white wine happy hours were nice touches. I would definitiely stay here again.

Room Tip: I chose a coutyard facing room for quitness. It was quiet. I have not stayed in an outside facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Kenneth B,

Great to hear you and your friends had a good time staying with us on South Beach last week. It was a pleasure taking care of you and we hope you will bring the entire family next time!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't be happier. Even a birthday surprise waiting for us upon arrival (cupcakes, champagne, card). Free bikes, great for morning ride down the boardwalk. A short walk to main strip at Lincoln rd. additional perks if u become a member of kimpton like free Internet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelLuciak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
RachaelLuciak,

Who would we be if we didn't make you feel special on your birthday?

Happy Belated!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights the end of August and overall I'd recommend this hotel. The lobby, pool area and restaurant are lovely, trendy and modern. Our first room had a horrible view of the side of a building very close. Booked through Bookings.com, it had stated we would have a street or pool view so we asked to change. Reception offered 2 upgrades with better views but we still had to pay a reduced rate. The new room was much nicer though I did complain that there was a great big coffee looking stain in the middle of the carpet that no one had attempted to remove. I did get one of the $20 night upgrade charges removed for this. Pool attendants are so nice and helpful. Breakfast was nice but highly priced. I have to thank Ben for booking our coach transfer to Orlando, that unfortunately did not show!!!! However he was so helpful and apologetic (I wouldn't use half price tickets coaches ever again- they tried to suggest we were no shows when we were perfectly on time at 5.45am and waited until nearly 8am as they are notorious for being late). David and Jenny and Lahteef were also really helpful and kind when that failed bus mishap happened, they really did go beyond the call of duty to help us out the situation and find alternative transport. They even let us check ou late and have a free breakfast. The staff definitely made for a pleasant stay and take great pride in their jobs which is really refreshing to see.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
FionaMW,

I am happy to know the team went out of your way to take care of you.
Thank you for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel was beautiful, clean and the staff were amazing! Especially the pool guys and girls, who were kind, courteous and attentive. my girlfriends i stayed labor day weekend 2013 and enjoyed every minute of it. We had stayed at the Surfcomber 10 years early (Labor Day 2003) and had such great experience that we stayed there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
kelly f,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor posting. Hopefully it doesn't take 10 years for your next visit with us! Happy to hear we were able to make you and your girlfriends Labor Day one to remember.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013.

I had heard a lot about this magical Miami Beach hotel and had high expectations. I was definitely happy to have them blown out of the water (like 'kaboom' out of the water). I could follow with a pun as to how amazing the pool area is, but this may not be the appropriate forum and it wouldn't do it justice. Let's just say I didn't want to leave. Ever.

Very happy with the service and the bar had great drinks as well. Probably too many good drinks.

Recommend this to anyone making it out to sunny Florida!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deditushl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
deditushl,

Thanks for the awesome review! Kaboom out of the water. That is the first time I hear it like that and I must say I love it. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the pool so much, our pool team works hard to rock it out for our guests. Let's do it again soon so we can EXCEED your expectations again. Hopefully I get the chance to meet you when you come back and visit us.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#33 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing