We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really amazing staff, great property, and nice perks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #30 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto (GTA)
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really amazing staff, great property, and nice perks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed with my mother here for a mini get-away in the middle of the week. We got a room with 2 double beds and upgraded to a room with slightly more space when an e-mail offer came in after booking. We both had a really wonderful time. Every single staff member we encountered was genuinely pleasant, which really stood out. They seem to enjoy their jobs and enjoy helping people have a nice stay.

My #1 recommendation is to SIGN UP for their In Touch membership program. There are a lot of perks which made it an extra nice place to stay, e.g., $10 mini bar credit, $10 food credit per day, beach chair rental at the beach per day ($24 value), free wi-fi, and probably more that I'm forgetting. Even if you don't sign up, there are nice perks at the hotel, like free wine and little nibbles (e.g., popcorn, ceviche, quesadilla) from 5-6pm in the lobby -- they give you a plastic wine cup that you can take out to the pool or even out to the beach, which are right out back, and both very nice.

We were celebrating a big milestone so we spent a little more $ than we usually would have to be pampered and have a memorable time. We rented a cabana by the pool for one day - it was nice for my mom who does not enjoy sitting out in the sun, though I prefer to be right out there. We ate lunch and drank wine by the pool, and also at the beach - the $30 bottle of prosecco is nicely priced and also very good - light and refreshing while you're out in the sun. An 18% gratuity seemed to be automatically added to the food, etc. (might be a thing in the area?).

The hotel is only 3 stories high but has long hallways with lots of rooms. It's nicely decorated with a quirky charm of a smaller boutique hotel (e.g., sheep and cow statues strewn about the property). It's in a great part of the beach and also in close walking distance to restaurants, shops, bars, and liquor stores. We would definitely stay again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank australaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
australaura,

Thanks for your trip advisor posting, and thank you for being a Kimpton InTouch member. We appreciate your loyalty, and who doesn't love the $10 raid the mini bar perk? It's the perfect way to indulge in something from the mini bar that you may usually not due to temptation.

Our goal is to spoil you!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,764
    829
    252
    91
    56
See reviews for
650
1,005
119
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Surfcomber in April and really enjoyed our stay. From the staff at reception to housekeeping and the pool staff, everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was compact but very clean and had all we required in it. The pool area was lovely with plenty of chairs available while we were there and an added bonus of free wine at 5pm every night. We ate a meal at the restaurant by the pool our first night there which was very nice with a helpful waiter recommending drinks to compliment it. We had complimentary breakfasts as part of our room rate which we hadn't realised before hand and was a nice surprise. The the location is great with shops and restaurants close by. I would be happy to stay here again if we ever came back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Sioux22,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor. Your feedback helps us provide excellent service for years to come. We really appreciate the shout out!

Thank you again,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was at this hotel over the weekend and found that the location is literally perfect, the grounds are clean and the staff very friendly. The hotel is a lot bigger inside than it appears. It is quite a large hotel with clean updated rooms. The beds are super comfy and the decor serine. I would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you Surfcomber for making my Labor Day holiday great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesMiamiSOBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
LovesMiamiSOBE,

We hope we were able to make your Labor Day (hopefully laborless) weekend great!
I think it's time to change your trip advisor name to LovesMiamiSOBE&Surf.
Thank you so much for posting about your experience, we really appreciate it.

Cheers!
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is right on the beach! Great location and close to Lincoln drive and Espanola Way for great dining!! This hotel rolls out the red carpet for all their guest! I was there with my husband and 9yr old son and we had a blast! You get two beach chairs set up for you everyday. Umbrella is extra if you want to pay $13/day but we didn't need it during our stay. The pool boy was so amazing! They will set up your chairs anywhere you want and offer kids ice cream at 3pm! There is infuse water at the pool and front lobby, and coffee and tea in the morning! They have complimentary wine hour at 5-6pm but we spent must time at the beach. The room we stayed in was on the smaller side! Like Paris style boutique hotels. This hotel is happy to please and you can see that in their staff. They all love what they're doing and it shows. We are glad we came at end of August start of their slow season! They have bikes to borrow for you to explore the beach pathway, Ocean Drive and the marina! We did one day sight seeing the Everglades. Will come back again next year! If you have family this is the perfect hotel on the beach! If you want RnR and not so loud music blasting stay here and you can party next door at SLS! Try the Italian restaurant at Espanola way, it's a nice outdoor style!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
wiregirl,

We're proud to be your favorite place in SOBE, thank you. I'm glad we were able to roll out the red carpet for you and make you feel like celebs.

Let's do it again sometime.

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager aka Oscars Red Carpet Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff at the Surfcomber are incredibly friendly and helpful. Literally every employee there will great you with a smile! The location is perfect if your on vacation right on the beach! And lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ns201392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Ns201392,

We love smiling. Smilings our favorite!
Thanks for your posting and come back and visit us again.

Sean Flanigan
General Manager aka Director of Smiles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel made our trip in Miami Beach; great food, brilliant service and very central location. Sun loungers always available both at the pool and on the beach, free sun cream and chilled water by the pool, always quiet and relaxing. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy_London_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Katy_London_1,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor posting! Happy to hear you had a wonderful time and hope that means a second trip is in the works. Enjoy your weekend!

Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I spent there 10 nights in oct last year on a business trip not vacation. Location is just perfect with direct access to the beach and running route. Rooms are nice and clean. Free wifi. Clean swimming pool. Very nice and beautiful girl who welcomed me every day in the restaurant befor having breakfast. Im not into american food so they served me joghurt with fruits which was not included in the menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspirynek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Aspirynek,

I think it's about time you come back for a vacation trip vs business so we can help you have a relaxing stay. We have so many fun activities that will make for a great vacation! I'll make sure there is plenty of yogurt and fruit which you enjoy. We look forward to your next trip!

Best,
Sean Flanigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#33 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#25 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,421 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#27 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing