We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love the Surfcomber!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #40 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the Surfcomber!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I got a block of rooms at the Surfcomber for my wedding guests during my wedding weekend in May 2013. Surfcomber gave us a great group discount, and they delivered our welcome bags to all of our guests for us! Our wedding guests raved about the pool-side happy hour and the rooms. My wedding photographer even used the beautiful grounds (lobby, poolside, garden) for some wedding portraits! We love Surfcomber and will definitely use them again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmwmiamibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,864
    872
    274
    99
    62
See reviews for
702
1,070
128
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our third trip to South Beach and by far the best thanks to the Surfcomber. The service at this properity is exceptional. The staff at the front desk, the valets, pool and beach staff, bar and restaurant staff, housekeeping and management are happy, friendly, courteous and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Everyone who we encountered during our stay was genuinely committed to ensuring an outstanding experience. Our room was clean and cozy, and the bed was very comfortable. The location of the Surfcomber is fantastic - a beachfront property that is walking distance to Lincoln Road, Espanola Way and Ocean Drive. Absolutely no need for a cab. The amenities offered at this hotel (pool, restaurants, beach lounge chairs) along with complimentary activities: guided art deco walking tour, fun run, bike tour, yoga on the beach, just added to our already wonderful experience. The management of the Surfcomber are to be commended because the special manner in which we were treated shows that the employees love what they do.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd floor with a courtyard or pool view as this helps to avoid any noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I frequently travel to Miami to see family, and usually stay with them. On this trip, however, I decided to treat myself to a mini- vacation in my hometown by staying at the Surfcomber. I was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Not only is it 's location fabulous-- walking distance to Lincoln Road and environs, with Deco bike stations on the property and the side street- but it also has the best staff I've experienced at a hotel in a long time. From the front desk to the valets (who made coming and going by car seamless --not an easy task), I felt right at home and yet pampered throughout my stay. My room was clean and cozy and, although I didn't have time to take advantage of the many amenities at the hotel (the pool, beachfront lounges, restaurants), I can share my observation that the hotel was impeccably run by a friendly, helpful staff. Any minor issue I had was immediately addressed with good cheer and grace!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aimrichmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here after a redeye flight. We were here around 9am. They loaded our information and took our bags and said they would call when the room is ready. They did call about 3:30. We went to the beach and laid out so that was fine. We went to the pool bar and it was not great. They were out of three different types of drinks. They also never smiled at us. The property is very nice, but to slow for me. Great location. If you want a pool scene, it is not here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Nice little room, clean bathroom, well decorated place overall. By our standards the service was excellent. Check-in time is too late, but this is a common problem in Miami hotels. It seems like room maintenance is the bottleneck of this hotel's function. Anyway, we had great time by the pool while waiting our room to get ready. In addition, we received breakfast coupons for continental breakfast to compensate for the late check in. The breakfast included fresh juice, cup of coffee and either bagel/croissant/toast/muffin and fruit salad in a bowl. For those who have used to breakfast buffets this might be too little, but we enjoyed this tasty and healthy food.

Hotel's location is right next to the beach. Sunrise is beautiful btw. Wifi extended to the waterfront of the beach and worked well on the pool too. It was not easy task to decide which hotel to choose from SoBe, but this one I definitely recommend as well as Boulan (another place we stayed)!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
219 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Great location! Nice and friendly staff who had some great tips the night we arrived.

The complientary breakfast is too small and not anything you would really want. Also the valet parking is a bit expensive.

Those two things are the only drawbacks though.

All in all this hotel rocks :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enurweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the start of our honeymoon before driving down to the keys, the hotel has everything you could need for a great stay in Miami beach, except double glazing if you want to sleep in! SoBe may be noisy by nature but piped hotel music from 7am isn't ideal after a late night, maybe better with a courtyard facing room as per some other reviews. The pool is amazing, the hotel is right on the beach and both very well equipped. The resort fee seems cheeky but you actually get good value with beds on the beach and activities included, especially if you use the hotel bars to get up to $10 back each day on drinks and food. Also a great location for Lincoln Rd and not far from the top of Ocean Drive. Having stayed in Kimpton hotels before, there's always nice touches like the wine hour, and we had complimentary prosecco on checkin which was lovely. But we've had better service in other Kimpton Hotels, and it was just attention to detail, like on three occasions we ordered or were offered drinks that never arrived, when you're chilling out you don't feel the need to chase people so just went to the bar ourselves. All in all a good visit, but with better service, it could have been great.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue-n-Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#18 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
The Confidante
#27 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#29 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#42 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#56 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing