We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #43 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at this amazing hotel in South Beach, Miami for two nights. The one bedroom room we were staying in was warm and the decor was nice. We had a beautiful view of palm trees and ocean! The staff was outstanding, they were friendly, considerate and helpful. Location of the hotel was perfect. It was just north of Lincoln Road Mall and all the shopping and restaurants. This hotel exceeded our expectations and we hope to return here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Cynthia H -

We are so happy that your recent stay exceeded expecations! Thank you for pointing out our oustanding staff.

We look foward to welcoming you back soon!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,483)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,161 - 2,167 of 3,483 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Rarely can you find a place that exceeds your expectations but this place does. Staff is really outstanding. They go out of their way to be helpful and considerate. The wine hour is fun and you can try some good wines. The package is nice that gets you chairs and towels at the beach. The guy was nice while we were in the ocean he cleaned the sand off my beach chair. Location is perfect. Can rent bikes on the property and returning other spots, then walk back. Located close to all the shopping and restaurants. The room was not large but we expected that. The decore is neat. Parking costs about 37 a night. Drinks at the beach are pricy. Be prepared because SoBe is noisy. This location is prime for seeing South Beach. The ocean water here is crystal clear. I definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Judsch-

Thank you for sharing the details of your great stay at Surfcomber! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about this place. The staff was great, the beach and pool service were solid, the rooms were nice. It's just north of the Lincoln Road Mall and the "strip" so if you plan to stroll and people watch in the heart of Ocean Drive, you're going to have to walk a bit.

Some things to be aware of:

1. They charge a daily resort fee. I was not bothered by this - worth it to me to get the beach service, towels, etc., but just be aware. I think it was $25 per day.

2. The rooms are small. It's an old hotel so this is to be expected. They are still very nice and well maintained. Some of the views are not great - if this concerns you ask when you check in.

3. Join the Kimpton club and you get a mini-bar credit.

4. They won't let you check out late. Don't even ask. I did end up leaving late anyway one day, they didn't charge me for it.

5. Parking is insanely expensive - $45+ per night??? This actually isn't the hotel's fault - there's been some consolidation in the ownership of valet garages, and they've jacked the prices for all hotels. Do yourself a favor and park in one of the public garages - there's one a few blocks south for about $25 per day.

Staff here is great - one of the valets even helped me change a flat tire. I'd go back

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Hi Jonathan F-

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Happy to hear you had a great time! I just want to clarify a couple items. The resort fee is $24 inclusive of taxes. This includes two beach chairs each day, a $10 per day food and beverage credit, and all of the amenities the property has to offer (towels, lounge chair covers, sunscreen, fruit infused water, calendar events, etc). When we are busy it can be tough to give the late checkouts as we want to get our rooms ready for our arriving guests! Holding luggage is always option. Valet parking is $37 and doesn't always come with a free tire change; it was great to hear the valet helped you out!

Once again, thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you soon!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Miami as a family, two adults and one 4 year old. The Surfcomber is a good choice for its location and friendly staff. The rooms are ok size wise, but for a family it lacks the hanging space for wet clothes when you are travelling with a young child. Access to the beach is quick and easy, with free beach chairs ( if you have paid the resort fee, which appears to be compulsory), but you do have to pay $16 for an umbrella. There are buckets and spades available for guests. Around the adequately sized pool there are plenty of chairs and umbrellas for week days, but I guess it would get a bit overcrowded on sunny weekends. The minimum pool depth is 3ft, so bring arm bands for little ones.
Wifi is high speed and available everywhere including the beach. All areas are pretty clean, including the pool area, but for some reason the corridors remain un-vacuumed for several days after the cleaners trolley had chipped the plaster outside our room.
The rooms often don't have a great view, with half the rooms facing the adjacent hotels with very little gap.
The location is great, as it is easy walking distance to Lincon Mall. Cabs are in abundance too due to the hotel being on Collins.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dicky_ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dicky_Ba,

Thank you for your recent stay at Surfcomber. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback so we are able improve the experience for your return and future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Regards,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Thank you Surfcomber for making our stay in Miami, this was a pre cruise stay for 2 nights and it was perfect, the pool is amazing and everyone makes you feel so special, a real personal touch.
We mentioned that we had a day on our return from the cruise in Miami and they told us to return we left our bags with them and they gave us full complimentary facilities until our evening flight, therefore we could enjoy our last day in Miami taking in lunch on Ocean Drive and returning to the hotel for 'Managers' Wine hour and then freshning up before our overnight flight to London.
If you are looking for a central hotel in the heart of Miami this is the place thank you and really hope to return again very soon

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

JacquiCastle,

What an incredible posting! We are very happy see we accomplished our mission: to make you feel special and offer a personal experience. We look forward to making you feel special again soon!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Surfcomber was perfect, everything and more! I was a bit concerned the rooms were going to be tiny, as many of the previous reviewers noted. However, the rooms in fact were not tiny and there was plenty of room to move around. I must mention we did not stay in the room very much because, hello your in MIAMI! duh!!! Anywhoo, the service and staff were great. The hotel was clean, no complaints at all. They had tons of activities for guests to join in on, however we were too busy enjoying SoBe so we didn't have time to join in on the fun. However, I must say the location of Surfcomber could not have been better. Number 1 you are on the BEACH! Number 2 you are on Collins, close walking distance to Ocean Avenue and Lincoln Road! Lastly, your next to SLS and tons of other popular SoBe hotels. I couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay at the Surfcomber! I will definitely be back next year!!!! Miami now holds a special place in my heart!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeshaweesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Keeshaweesha-

I'm not sure what was more fun, saying your name or sharing your great review with our team!

Thanks for the great posting. See you soon!

-Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here with a bunch of girlfriends for a bachelorette weekend. What a beautiful hotel! From the art in the lobby to the immaculate grounds, no place was overlooked. The palm trees had orchids tied to each and everyone of them. Both pool with cabanas and beach were beautiful. Service was at the front desk and the pool and beach was pretty outstanding. The front desk missed to call us when our room was ready, they were very apologetic and offered two free dink tickets at the bar downstairs. Both pool and beach attendants were extremely helpful. They will set you up with a lounger and table / umbrella to your preference. This service does come with an additional $20 charge per night, but is very well worth it, in my opinion.
The rooms are on a smaller side, which is to be expected at a South Beach hotel. They are slightly outdated, but are very charming in their art deco way. There were a few issues with our room that are overlooked by the great overall experience I had at the hotel. The beds and the bedding were very high end and comfy. I cannot speak much for the restaurant, as I only had breakfast there. It was very bland and extremely expensive, also to be expected. The bar downstairs was pretty excellent, in fact I had the best Margarita of my life there. Major props to the bartender. The location of the hotel could not be better. Totally central and pretty much walkable to everything that South Beach has to offer. Overall, if you are looking for a very different experience from your average hotel this would be it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrinaB960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Hi Irina,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to share your experience. I love hearing that we are fun and out of the ordinary! It was great to see you found the service outstanding and property beautiful. We will be sure to share the feedback about breakfast with the team as well as the great comments about that delicious margarita you had! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#28 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,917 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,187 reviews
SLS South Beach
#41 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,462 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $210 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing