We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cute Rooms & Wine Hour at the Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #30 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cute Rooms & Wine Hour at the Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here during part of our honeymoon after using Pricelines Name your Price feature. The staff was very accomodating and friendly and the room was cute. There was a free wine hour at the pool daily from 5-6 and the wines were pretty good. There were a lot of kids in the pool though, so lounging around on a float without getting splashed really wasn't an option. Good value for the price overall just maybe not where you want to be if you're trying to be romantic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Kelly J-

Congrats on your marriage! We are happy we could be a part of your honeymoon. We might need to get a couple of those portable kiddie pools for the back of the property to keep those little rascals from splashing us grown up folk. Feel free to reach out directly to me via private message so we can discuss your return trip.

Regards,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,764
    829
    252
    91
    56
See reviews for
650
1,005
119
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Myself, my husband and 2 kids recently stayed at the Surfcomber as a base for exploring the South Beach area before heading up to Orlando. We wanted somewhere that offered a little bit of the South Beach vibe with a touch of luxury. After reading countless reviews, I settled on the Surfcomber because of the location and positive reviews and a good deal on Expedia. The location is good, on Collins Avenue and directly on the beach. However, this is where the "positive" element ends. The hotel rooms are absolutely tiny, you cannot fit more than 1 person at a time in the bathroom; there is a hanging rail behind a tatty curtain which acts as a closet; there is no room for a family of 4 to walk around the two small double beds in the room that slept all 4 of us; no coffee making facilities and the whole room is very dark with one small shuttered window that directly faced another guest bedroom approx 10 feet away. There was also a loud humming and vibration noise at all times in the room, even with the air conditioning turned off. The outside areas and pool area in general look old and a little run-down. We tried to get sunbeds around the pool one afternoon but we were told by the pool boys that none were available and were offered two bean bags between the 4 of us. Five minutes later, a couple obviously known to the pool boys walked up and the pool boys leapt into action, found 2 pool chairs and cleared the old towels off them and offered them to the couple, at which point I decided to remonstrate, and was greeted with a bemused look and no apology. There is also incredibly loud music around the pool at all times which comes from the SLS hotel next door. We walked down Ocean Drive and had a look into The Betsey which I wish now I had chosen; the location is much prettier and the whole hotel looked much nicer. I really cannot fathom why the Surfcomber has such a high ranking, we spotted numerous other hotels that looked much nicer. My only other good word would go the receptionist lady (cannot recall her name) who was very friendly and knowledgable about the area. I would not stay at the Surfcomber again.

Room Tip: Take a look instead at the hotels in the cool Art Deco district on Ocean Drive, or at the larger hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WessexLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Let me start with the positive:
The hotel staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful from the front desk to the bartenders to the pool staff. They try very hard to ensure guests have a nice experience. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the valet and beach service. While I understand that these services are run by outside companies (non-kimpton staff), kimpton chooses to associate with them and every guest is forced to deal with their incompetence throughout their stay at the surfcomber. On one particular afternoon, we called ahead for our car 15 minutes before we needed it as instructed by the blackboard at the valet desk. From phone call to car took 1hr and 20 mins. While apologetic, that is inexcusable. The next day at the beach the k17 beach club which the surfcomber works with had us wait 45 minutes for the check. So much for our after lunch plans.
As for the rooms, they are small but clean and nicely appointed. Only complaint is the A/C is incredibly loud as it turns on and off through the night. After two stays here, we will probably try another hotel next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bklynnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The location of this hotel is great! Close to shops/restaurants and right on the beach. The overall vibe is chill. No loud music at the pool (like their is at the SLS next door). They have a low key bar area. Overall good staff, particularly Chris at the pool, but the outdoor bartenders were unfriendly. The rooms are small. The bathrooms are tiny. If you bring a car, prepare to wait and pay $37/day

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank late4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I highly recommend Surfcomber in Miami Beach. It's location is wonderful for leisurely walks to a myriad a fabulous restaurants and venues in South Beach. The hotel is warm and most welcoming. The staff is very attentive and work to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. The rooms are nicely appointed and the pool area is wonderful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and would go back there the next time I find myself in Miami.

Room Tip: I think that all of the rooms are great. It would be hard to make an error.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent 3 nights in this place and could not sleep the entire time. There was a loud humming sound in my room that was nonstop. I told the people at front reception the first morning and they assured me that they would look into it and remedy the issue. Never heard from anyone the rest of my stay.
Rooms are small and tired. Bathroom is super small. These rooms sizes are what you would expect to see in Europe. Internet was slow in the room and one day that was raining we lost TV reception for a couple of hours. I am assuming they use satellite TV.
Never has breakfast so can't comment. I can tell you that the prices for drinks at the pool are ridiculous, 2 mojitos = $35. Pool looked decent but never got to use it as the seats get filled quickly. The pool is too small to accommodate all the rooms the hotel has.
Location is great as you are walking distance to everything. Best thing of all is the service. Staff are always smiling and ready to greet you.
Overall i think the hotel is too expensive for what is providing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have really appreciate the atmosphere in the Surfcomber Hotel : warm, open, friendly, artistic, smiling ... Even the location is great : on the beach (no road to cross with children), walking distance from Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. We had some problems with the very tiny rooms (impossible with 2 childrens) and bathroom and the services in the room (always late). On the other hand everything is close in the Surfcomber : the heated pool (heaven for children), the reception, the beach, the bar. Best expercience the complimentary wine reception (5 to 6 pm) and the pool with complimentary sun cream and water.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite if you travel with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thediamondsboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfcomber_Nick, Director of Operations at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thediamondsboss-

Thank you sharing the great comments about our warm and friendly hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

-Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#33 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#25 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,421 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#27 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing