We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word - PHENOMENAL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #42 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One word - PHENOMENAL!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying I am a well seasoned traveler :) I recently visited SoBe for dual purpose - celebrate my bday & get away from the 'hustle and bustle' of my city. I ABSOLUTELY loved staying at this boutique hotel because I was not treated as just a number and was ALWAYS called by my first name; when greeted, the doorman would say 'Welcome Home'; all of the concierge staff were knowledgeable about what were the 'hot spots'; the Social Room served good sized portions at a very reasonable price (you have to try the pudding & Tuna Salad!); they had a daily events calendar that included free wine (or sparkling cider in my case) everday by the pool. They have a heated pool, are located on the beach, 2 blocks from Lincoln Ave where there are ample shopping and restaurant venues, valet parking only & there is a resort fee which I find was a standard cost for all the hotels as I searched around SoBe. I could go on and on and on about how great this place was but my typed words would never truly express its greatness. You have to experience it for yourself. One thing about my stay is I was traveling solo and my room was the courtyard king which was 200 sq ft and just fine for lil ole me :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KitaMae18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
KitaMae18-
Wow, phenomenal.
We are flattered.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to host your next stay in South Beach.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,022
    930
    305
    110
    82
See reviews for
777
1,159
141
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Art déco in South Beach? Of course!

Pros:
+ Location
+ Distance to the beach walk
+ Staff
+ Hotel grounds
+ Wine apprecation hour just before sundown. Sip some wine and bury your feet in the sand
+ Complimentary coffee (when they remember to refill)

Cons:
- small (but cool!) regular rooms
- weird, slow, non-A/C'd elevators

Room Tip: Get a room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hennessyparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
hennessyparadis-
Thank you for the nice posting and the compliments to the team.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went here with a friend as a spontaneous Sobe weekend. Don't be scared by the adjective "boutique." We loved the decor, the location is unbeatable (next door to SLS and two blocks from Lincoln Street). It is right on the water.
Our room was in the 160s on the first floor - did not have an ocean view but there are rooms that do. Our room was small - anymore than one large suitcase and we would have been out of comfortable room. The bed was very cozy, clean and neat. The bathroom door didn't close quite right, though, and we would have to pull hard to get it to shut completely.

Late check out is an option but you have to request it, probably before 8pm or 9pm the night before. The free wine was a plus by the pool, though my taste buds did not care for the red.

Concierge was very helpful in securing us a reservation at a DYNAMITE restaurant Saturday at 9:15pm. They also arranged for our transportation. It was well received.

The only real complaint I have is with the valet, and only toward the end. We asked to pull the car around to put our things in after we checked out Sunday at noon. Unfortunately, this time was very busy and we waited about an hour for our car to come up. The valet / bellhops were clearly more concerned about the guests coming in than going out, and I understand this. Just bear this in mind if you want to put your luggage in the car while you continue to enjoy the pool and amenities long after check out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmit549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Melody S-
Thank you for the great posting.
We appreciate your comments.
We will touch base with the valet team and assure this doesn't occur any further.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Yes this place had a great location. Yes a good pool area. The rooms I thought were very small and the bathrooms were too. I feel like they wanted to nickel and dime you to death. The service was good and most of the people were freindly. You are only a few blocks from the cute restaurant and shopping area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Karla G-
Thank you for the posting and your feedback.
Please reach out to me directly if possible to discuss any expenses that you felt were inappropriate and we will remedy. sean.mckeen@surfcomber.com
Generally, most of our guests find us to be a value based on the amount of added value we provide. We would love to welcome you back.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great location: one block from Lincoln Road and right on the beach - super path for biking, hiking, walking. Exceptional staff: Brian and Jonathan at the pool for all your needs; Andrew, Valerie, Michi, and Ben (concierge) smiling and accommodating. Lucien, Naomil, and Chris ready to give exemplary room service.

Highly recommend for singles, couples, and family. Try it - you will love it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlojoRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
GlojoRochester_NY-
Wow, thank you for the extraordinary experience posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Fabulous stay from start to end. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Facility well maintained and a beautiful beachside location with a lovely pool area. Had breakfast in the room, lunch by the beach and free wine by the pool. A great place to go and unwind. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhicks1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Jhicks1162-
Wow, sounds perfect. I may need to stay over again soon.
Thank you for staying with us and for the exceptional posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from a business meeting I held at the Surfcomber. It was an excellent hotel! James and Nicole, both of whom I worked with for the planning of the meeting and while on site provided excellent customer service! Everyone that worked there made every attempt to make you feel special. The wine hour by the pool made the last part of the afternoon nice as well. I would highly recommend this place and will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room 343 is a nice room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lottapud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Lottapud-
Thank you so much for the excellent property posting.
We are so happy that James & Nicole took such great care of you and your meeting attendees.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,859 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,125 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,614 reviews
SLS South Beach
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,152 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing