We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, very courteous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #43 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Art déco in South Beach? Of course!

Pros:
+ Location
+ Distance to the beach walk
+ Staff
+ Hotel grounds
+ Wine apprecation hour just before sundown. Sip some wine and bury your feet in the sand
+ Complimentary coffee (when they remember to refill)

Cons:
- small (but cool!) regular rooms
- weird, slow, non-A/C'd elevators

Room Tip: Get a room with seaview
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hennessyparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

hennessyparadis-
Thank you for the nice posting and the compliments to the team.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,483)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,260 - 2,266 of 3,483 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went here with a friend as a spontaneous Sobe weekend. Don't be scared by the adjective "boutique." We loved the decor, the location is unbeatable (next door to SLS and two blocks from Lincoln Street). It is right on the water.
Our room was in the 160s on the first floor - did not have an ocean view but there are rooms that do. Our room was small - anymore than one large suitcase and we would have been out of comfortable room. The bed was very cozy, clean and neat. The bathroom door didn't close quite right, though, and we would have to pull hard to get it to shut completely.

Late check out is an option but you have to request it, probably before 8pm or 9pm the night before. The free wine was a plus by the pool, though my taste buds did not care for the red.

Concierge was very helpful in securing us a reservation at a DYNAMITE restaurant Saturday at 9:15pm. They also arranged for our transportation. It was well received.

The only real complaint I have is with the valet, and only toward the end. We asked to pull the car around to put our things in after we checked out Sunday at noon. Unfortunately, this time was very busy and we waited about an hour for our car to come up. The valet / bellhops were clearly more concerned about the guests coming in than going out, and I understand this. Just bear this in mind if you want to put your luggage in the car while you continue to enjoy the pool and amenities long after check out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msmit549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Melody S-
Thank you for the great posting.
We appreciate your comments.
We will touch base with the valet team and assure this doesn't occur any further.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Yes this place had a great location. Yes a good pool area. The rooms I thought were very small and the bathrooms were too. I feel like they wanted to nickel and dime you to death. The service was good and most of the people were freindly. You are only a few blocks from the cute restaurant and shopping area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Karla G-
Thank you for the posting and your feedback.
Please reach out to me directly if possible to discuss any expenses that you felt were inappropriate and we will remedy. sean.mckeen@surfcomber.com
Generally, most of our guests find us to be a value based on the amount of added value we provide. We would love to welcome you back.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great location: one block from Lincoln Road and right on the beach - super path for biking, hiking, walking. Exceptional staff: Brian and Jonathan at the pool for all your needs; Andrew, Valerie, Michi, and Ben (concierge) smiling and accommodating. Lucien, Naomil, and Chris ready to give exemplary room service.

Highly recommend for singles, couples, and family. Try it - you will love it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlojoRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

GlojoRochester_NY-
Wow, thank you for the extraordinary experience posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Fabulous stay from start to end. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Facility well maintained and a beautiful beachside location with a lovely pool area. Had breakfast in the room, lunch by the beach and free wine by the pool. A great place to go and unwind. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jhicks1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Jhicks1162-
Wow, sounds perfect. I may need to stay over again soon.
Thank you for staying with us and for the exceptional posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from a business meeting I held at the Surfcomber. It was an excellent hotel! James and Nicole, both of whom I worked with for the planning of the meeting and while on site provided excellent customer service! Everyone that worked there made every attempt to make you feel special. The wine hour by the pool made the last part of the afternoon nice as well. I would highly recommend this place and will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room 343 is a nice room with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottapud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Lottapud-
Thank you so much for the excellent property posting.
We are so happy that James & Nicole took such great care of you and your meeting attendees.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Recently spent three nights at this hotel. I'm a fan of Kimpton hotels (having stayed at other locations in San Francisco and NYC) and this one did not disapoint. The service was extraordinary...everyone that works there is very friendly and helpful. The location is super central (a couple blocks from Lincoln). The lobby is really nice (great design elements) and the pool & beach are great. Lots of nice little extras like complimentary wine hour and mimosas on the beach!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniqueAllegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

MoniqueAllegra-
Thank you so much for the great posting.
I love reading about extraordinary service and the little extras that went a long way.
We hope to see you back with us soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#28 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,918 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,187 reviews
SLS South Beach
#41 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,462 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $209 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing