We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #43 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from a business meeting I held at the Surfcomber. It was an excellent hotel! James and Nicole, both of whom I worked with for the planning of the meeting and while on site provided excellent customer service! Everyone that worked there made every attempt to make you feel special. The wine hour by the pool made the last part of the afternoon nice as well. I would highly recommend this place and will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room 343 is a nice room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottapud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Lottapud-
Thank you so much for the excellent property posting.
We are so happy that James & Nicole took such great care of you and your meeting attendees.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,270 - 2,276 of 3,493 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Recently spent three nights at this hotel. I'm a fan of Kimpton hotels (having stayed at other locations in San Francisco and NYC) and this one did not disapoint. The service was extraordinary...everyone that works there is very friendly and helpful. The location is super central (a couple blocks from Lincoln). The lobby is really nice (great design elements) and the pool & beach are great. Lots of nice little extras like complimentary wine hour and mimosas on the beach!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniqueAllegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

MoniqueAllegra-
Thank you so much for the great posting.
I love reading about extraordinary service and the little extras that went a long way.
We hope to see you back with us soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went to Miami for my birthday. Not only was the hotel amazing, the staff was the friendliest staff I have ever met at a hotel. No matter who we passed in the hallway, they always said hi... We were greeted with "Welcome Back" when we came back in from a night out. The location was perfect with direct beach access and a short walk to Lincoln Road. The bartenders were a joy to talk to and were creative in coming up with new drinks for my friend and I. Even when our trip was extended due to the Blizzard back home the Surfcomber was incredibly understanding and we were able to enjoy an extra two days in the Miami sun! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Miami and I can't wait to go back myself!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mapelprup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

mapelprup-
Happy belated birthday.
Thank you for the fantastic posting we really appreciate it and look forward to your return with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at the Surfcomber last year soon after it had opened, and loved it (you can see my earlier review). For my return to Miami this year, I decided to stay with the Kimpton group again. I am so glad that I did.

The service at the Surfcomber is simply fantastic. The staff are always happy to help and go the extra mile -- from the front desk to housekeeping to pool staff. We got upgraded to a Premier King room upon check-in, and loved it. The room was spacios and the bed super-comfortable. This property has a very chill vibe and the landscaping around the pool is really fun and invites you to just spend the day lazing around. The location of the hotel is fantastic for going out to eat or stroll in South Beach and for access to the beach (the pool area opens out to the beach).

Will I be back at this Kimpton property -- the answer is yes! Highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

barca212-
Thank you for the recommendation.
I love reading about the smiles and our employees going the extra mile.
We can't wait for your return, see you soon.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Surfcomber for 2 nights and were very happy with our choice. It is a great value considering what other neighboring hotels were charging. I can't imagine getting much more out of a higher priced hotel than what I got here. The staff and accomodations were excellent from check-in to check-out. We would definitely stay here again. Join their Intouch membership (free) for complimentary access to wireless internet and $10 off of the mini-bar per day. Also, the food was very good. We were very disappointed with the restaurants in the Miami Beach area in general, but some of the best food was in the hotel. The burger and grilled vegetable wrap were very good. My only complaint was that they charge you and extra $15 for an umbrella on the beach. You are already paying the resort fee, why the extra charge?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler55117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

traveler55117-
Thank you for the excellent posting.
We are so happy that you recognize our property as a value.
We truly try daily to provide additional products and services to make your stay more comfortable.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Kimpton has done a very nice job with this hotel. Our observations:

-Great location, on the beach and close to other nice hotels and Lincoln Avenue
-Smaller than the typical hotel in this stretch, but that is a good thing..it felt very comfortable
-It is in a period building but just renovated a year ago, so all very fresh
-We found our room to be quiet, and of good size
-The pool area is very nicely done, with access to the beach from the property
-We ate at the restaurant for breakfast only. We found it to be a bit pricy but not unacceptable for the easy access from the room and pool
-We did room service a few times,with good turn-around time and very good food.
-Our only criticism is on service levels of items to be delivered to the room. We had a few packages sent to the hotel prior to our arrival but one was not delivered...we tracked it and found that the hotel had it all along but failed to deliver to us until we asked about it...(even though they delivered other packages). Same story for in-house laundry, it was for same-day service and we called the next to see where it was...it was ready same day, just not delivered. This was the only criticism we have of the place and it should be easy to fix.

All in all we would recommend this place highly and look forward to coming back. If they fixed that service problems it would get an "excellent" rating from us for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max2lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

max2lucy-
Thank you for staying with us. It sounds like you really enjoyed your experience and that makes us happy.
We will look into providing better service regarding packages & laundry delivery.
Thx for bring that to my attention.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here to celebrate her birthday. I have stayed in several of the Kimpton chain hotels and have come to enjoy them all and this was no exception. From the location to the beach access to the service everything was excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Corner room on the second floor had a balcony that was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcdysart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Kcdysart-
Thank you for staying with us, we love to hear from our Kimpton guests staying with us.
See you soon.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
SLS South Beach
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,194 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,949 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Shelborne South Beach
#68 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $234 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing