We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #39 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“4 days of paradise”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at the Surfcomber on my first trip to South Beach and loved it! Although I found the room small and the sound insulation could be upgraded, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Every member of the staff was very attentive, professional, courteous and extremely helpful. The attention I received from the concierge, the service staff and the reception staff was first class all the way. Congratulations to the whole team at Surfcomber (and a special thank you to Andy at the pool)! I will be back and will try other Kimpton hotels based on this South Beach experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sly1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Sly1972-
Thank you so much for the great posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,979
    923
    296
    106
    73
See reviews for
753
1,138
140
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our first visit to Miami Beach was excellent and we could not fault the great location (short walk from beach, shops on Lincoln etc).
However, at over $600/night the quality of the room and facilities did not meet our expectations. The room size was adequate but the shower was too weak and the thin walls meant noisy neighbours regularly woke us up during the night. The 1 cleaner for 20+ rooms also ran out of time to clean our room on one of the days we stayed.

Room Tip: Shower in room 352 was very weak. Also endured a lot of corridor noise due to location near evevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
James H-
Thank you for posting your experience.
We are sincerely sorry about the guest room accommodations and housekeeping service that you received. It would be my pleasure to host your next stay. Please reach out when you have a moment. sean.mckee@surfcomber.com
Warm Regards,
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Having spent a good deal of time choosing a hotel to stay for Christmas with family we weren't disappointed.

Location:-
This hotel is in the perfect location, right on the beach, 2 mins from Lincoln with its restaurants and stores the same distance from Ocean and a 10 min walk down to the stores and restaurants around 5th on Collins.

Rooms:-
As we were there for 8nights we had booked a room with a balcony for us and a normal room for the kids so we had somewhere to sit in the evening as a family before dinner. The kids actually preferred to sit here during the day as it was quite peaceful. My only gripe was that these rooms have no bath just a shower and you cant get more than one person in the bathroom at a time. The rest of the room was well fitted and comfortable. Could be a touch noisy if your neighbours are boisterous as there are interconnecting doors that don't barrier any sound.

Facilities:-
Coffee and Tea in the mornings at reception, a hosted wine evening at 5pm and hot chocolate in the evening were all nice touches. The bar and reception area are great, spacious and relaxing. The pool area is big for such a small hotel so although busy we managed to get sun beds each day. A walk along the beach will show you that the bigger hotels have similar outside space with a lot more people and quite often their terraces were in the shade due to the size of the hotel building.

Staff:-
This is one of the nicest things here, so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. In particular Brent at the front desk was very efficient but I didn't find one grumpy staff member.

So, what were the negatives if any, we did have to wait for our room which wasn't ready until 4.30 pm. The kids room was cleaned very late one day and we got bitten by mosquitoes on the balcony (take repellant).
All minor complaints though as this is a great hotel it has character and if you are a Kimpton member free Wifi which is a real bugbear of mine when hotels charge to use it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Simon T-
Thank you for taking a few minutes to post with such detailed.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent three nights at Surfcomber for 40th birthday weekend. From the moment we checked in and got ready to fly home, Andrew at front desk was extremely thoughtful, fun, and helpful and made our stay amazing and relaxing. Surfcomber team and Kimpton are our favorite.

Surfcomber's Lantao Kitchen was excellent to enjoy breakfast overlooking pool. Great margaritas (ask for jalapeño tequila) and burger at pool bar. Perfect location to walk on boardwalk along beach and to Lincoln Road. We recommend News Cafe and Front Porch Cafe for other breakfasts. 3 awesome dinners: A Fish Called Avalon for amazing seafood and views on Ocean Drive, Sardinia Enoteca for authentic Italian (5-minute cab ride), and Yardbird for best southern cooking!

We look forward to returning to Surfcomber. Look at flights into Fort Lauderdale, and it's worth renting umbrella and chairs on beach when you're not at Surfcomber pool.

Room Tip: Oceanfront balcony room is the only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Jim E-
Thank you for the excellent posting.
And happy belated birthday.
I am sold on the Jalapeno infused tequila margaritas; may have to sample and assure the consistency.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, IL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We made last minute reservations, and had few choices amongst the "quality" places on South Beach so we defaulted here and were pleasantly surprised. Outstanding service, great location right on the beach, on Collins, and steps from Lincoln. Pool is great, spacious with some nice amenities. Only slight downside was size of rooms, which were Euro-esque in terms of size. But at least clean, which is most important.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Jordan7676-
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are so happy that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay and enjoyed our service.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards & Happy New Year,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great Kimpton hotel, as many of its siblings. Fabulous location right on the Ocean, great interior design, and a wonderful and spacious pool area. The live band that happened to perform by the pool one afternoon was terribly loud and not as contemporary/upbeat as those of other hotel’s in the area, maybe appealing to an older crowd – actually a majority during the Christmas holidays were (European) families. However, everyone seemed well-behaved, and there is also a ton of staff to keep things under control, to service the common areas. There are two restaurants on premise, we tried the Social Club for lunch and it was really good. There is complimentary coffee/tea in the morning, which is great. I also liked the wine happy hour by the pool, but wished they had another white than Chardonnay (which I have had at all 5 Kimpton hotels I stayed at so far). Another disappointing detail were the dresser doors that did not stay closed and would slide open all the time, and that they beach chairs were not included in the room charge. However, certainly a pleasant experience. And the toiletries are fantastic (Etro!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
german_in_nyc-
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the wonderful posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was my first vacation with my girlfriend and first vacation as an "adult" on my own (ie. I paid for everything myself with no parental help). I must say I was very happy with the overall experience at the Surfcomber. The first person we met, Dorgis, was such a welcoming and friendly individual who made us feel important and helped us out by telling us a few great places to check out (he was spot on in recommending that we go to Mangoes...great place for an early 20s couple like ourselves have a great time without dropping hundreds of dollars). Surfcomber should promote him to some position where a man as friendly and personable as he could interact more with the guests (perhaps by the pool, or at the pool bar---Give that man a raise-- what a great guy). The rooms were, as other reviews stated, a bit small, but who cares, you don't come to Miami to spend time in your room. The best part of the hotel was the pool and the ambiance of that entire outdoor area--just magnificient. The food was also very good, if a bit pricey, but hey...it's SoBe! All in all, the hotel was everything we wanted and expected. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We never felt like we weren't treated well bc we weren't high rollers or bc we were young and didn't come to Miami to drop thousands of dollars. The fact that the beach was located right outside the pool area was great as well. We will certainly look into staying at a Klimpton hotel for our next trip. If I had to pick a few things I didn't like, it would be that the bed was not extremely comfortable if you slept in the middle of the bed and that it was tough to get a great seat by the pool when we walked out by 11 am everyday. It seemed like people would grab their chairs then leave for hours and therefore we couldn't sit right next to the pool. No big deal...the comfy seats closer to the pool bar were better anyway! Overall...a great hotel for a fair price. And again...Dorgis is awesome and deserves a promotion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dan L-
Thank you for the great posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
Lets see what we can arrange for Dorgis.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,753 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,869 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
SLS South Beach
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,113 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing