We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$183
$172
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$328
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$304
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$217
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mondrian South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$679
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,710)
Filter reviews
3,710 results
Traveler rating
2,139
993
342
140
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,139
993
342
140
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine hoursocial clubsouth beachpool areacomplimentary winelincoln roadpool staffrooms are smallfront desk staffhappy hourpool partyresort feean umbrellaspecial shoutbeach accessgreat poolbeach service
Filter
Updating list...
2,500 - 2,505 of 3,710 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We made last minute reservations, and had few choices amongst the "quality" places on South Beach so we defaulted here and were pleasantly surprised. Outstanding service, great location right on the beach, on Collins, and steps from Lincoln. Pool is great, spacious with some nice amenities. Only slight downside was size of rooms, which were Euro-esque in terms of size. But at least clean, which is most important.

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Jordan7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Jordan7676-
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are so happy that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay and enjoyed our service.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards & Happy New Year,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great Kimpton hotel, as many of its siblings. Fabulous location right on the Ocean, great interior design, and a wonderful and spacious pool area. The live band that happened to perform by the pool one afternoon was terribly loud and not as contemporary/upbeat as those of other hotel’s in the area, maybe appealing to an older crowd – actually a majority during the Christmas holidays were (European) families. However, everyone seemed well-behaved, and there is also a ton of staff to keep things under control, to service the common areas. There are two restaurants on premise, we tried the Social Club for lunch and it was really good. There is complimentary coffee/tea in the morning, which is great. I also liked the wine happy hour by the pool, but wished they had another white than Chardonnay (which I have had at all 5 Kimpton hotels I stayed at so far). Another disappointing detail were the dresser doors that did not stay closed and would slide open all the time, and that they beach chairs were not included in the room charge. However, certainly a pleasant experience. And the toiletries are fantastic (Etro!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

german_in_nyc-
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the wonderful posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was my first vacation with my girlfriend and first vacation as an "adult" on my own (ie. I paid for everything myself with no parental help). I must say I was very happy with the overall experience at the Surfcomber. The first person we met, Dorgis, was such a welcoming and friendly individual who made us feel important and helped us out by telling us a few great places to check out (he was spot on in recommending that we go to Mangoes...great place for an early 20s couple like ourselves have a great time without dropping hundreds of dollars). Surfcomber should promote him to some position where a man as friendly and personable as he could interact more with the guests (perhaps by the pool, or at the pool bar---Give that man a raise-- what a great guy). The rooms were, as other reviews stated, a bit small, but who cares, you don't come to Miami to spend time in your room. The best part of the hotel was the pool and the ambiance of that entire outdoor area--just magnificient. The food was also very good, if a bit pricey, but hey...it's SoBe! All in all, the hotel was everything we wanted and expected. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We never felt like we weren't treated well bc we weren't high rollers or bc we were young and didn't come to Miami to drop thousands of dollars. The fact that the beach was located right outside the pool area was great as well. We will certainly look into staying at a Klimpton hotel for our next trip. If I had to pick a few things I didn't like, it would be that the bed was not extremely comfortable if you slept in the middle of the bed and that it was tough to get a great seat by the pool when we walked out by 11 am everyday. It seemed like people would grab their chairs then leave for hours and therefore we couldn't sit right next to the pool. No big deal...the comfy seats closer to the pool bar were better anyway! Overall...a great hotel for a fair price. And again...Dorgis is awesome and deserves a promotion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dan L-
Thank you for the great posting.
We hope to see you again soon.
Lets see what we can arrange for Dorgis.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Surfcomber this past weekend. The front desk staff is very good. The valet is awful and for $37 a night that is a deal breaker. The hotel was over $400 a night with out taxes and valet for a small room. The bed is comfortable. But they gave us a horrible room location over looking an air conditioning unit.

They tell you the valet takes 15 minutes so we called down each time before we needed the car each day it was the same issue the lazy employee never called resulting in 20-30 wait for the car.

There are tons of hotels in South Beach and we come to Miami for work about 4 times a year. Unless we had no other choice we would not pick this one again......

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coco_Gangemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Coco_Gangemi-
Thank you for staying with us.
My sincerest apologies for your valet experience.
Would you please reach out prior to your next visit to town?
It would be my pleasure to coordinate your stay and assure that we exceed your expectations.
Warm Regards & Happy New Year
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is avg, but for the price and the concept that they try to sell, the place fails a lot.

Pros:
Comfy rooms, good bath amenities, daily activities, location, ocean front...

Cons:
After our first night we arrive at our room at 9:00 pm and we realized that the room isn't clean, I spend more than 50 nights a year at hotels and this is the first time it happends. For the price paid, this simply cannot happend. The front desk answer was: "so sorry, if you want your room clean please leave it and in 1 hour we it will be ready". Believe me, after a long day at the beach the only thing I didn't want is to go out from my room. Beside that we didn't recieve nothing in compensation.
Overall the staff attitude is nothing to remember, well yes.. To remember that they must do better.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

draghignazzo-
Wow, first and foremost thank you for staying with us.
We truly appreciate your feedback and we sincerely apologize that your stay with us did not exceeding your expectations. If you have a moment please reach out to me directly; sean.mckeen@surfcomber.com. It would be my pleasure to invite you back & regain your trust in our product & service.
I hope to hear from you soon.
Happy New Year
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews