We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun, thoughtful details and "yes" attitude!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #30 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun, thoughtful details and "yes" attitude!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I worked for the airlines for over 20 years and have traveled extensively around the world so, I consider myself somewhat of a hotel expert. I always stay at hotels that have great Tripadvisor reviews or recommendations from friends. .I have never written a Tripadvisor review my self but felt compelled to this time.
My friends and I stayed at the Surfcomber from December 9-12, 2012 and had a fabulous time. It was my first trip to South Beach and I loved it! Besides the great food, awesome beach and weather the Surfcomber made the trip really enjoyable. From the front desk to the pool to the valet and the bartender we only got smiles and a "can do" attitude.

The champagne at check in starts off the festive mood. And if you're wine lovers like we are you will enjoy the daily wine party at the pool. Complimentary wine and while we were there, a apple cider/vodka cocktail. Also, they were celebrating their 1 year anniversary on 12-12-12 and invited the whole hotel to the celebration at the pool. There was Veuve Cliquot and tuna tartare and lots of really pleasant "big wigs" from Kimpton there to celebrate.

Maria at the pool kept our drinks coming and Ryan was really fabulous at the pool too. They have complimentary water bottles and sunscreen! Such a pleasant change from some other beach hotels that nickel and dime you at every turn. Ryan got our chairs ready every day and made sure our needs were met. Another really nice touch was when we asked for a late check out and were expecting to have to beg for 1:00pm they actually gave us a 2:00. It was unexpected and well received.

Some other cool things at the Surfcomber are the morning activities like bike tours and Art Deco walks. We did not participate but some other people we met did and said it was fun. Also, the food at breakfast was delicious and well priced. Try the Egg white/spinach/goat cheese scramble. There is a bike rental rack on the property and beach volleyball too. They have a beach hut on the beach that offers a discount to hotel guests for chair and umbrella rentals. The staff there was really pleasant and they even run back and forth to the hotel bar to bring you drinks at the beach! Oh. and in the pool there are rafts and floats that the guests can use. Its the small touches like that that have me excited to try another Kimpton and also to return to the Surfcomber!

Room Tip: The rooms are small but, who cares? You're there for the beach and pool! Cute decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
JanSanDiego-
Thank you for the thorough and detailed posting.
For your first time, you were awesome.
We hope to see you back here soon.
Warm Regards & Happy holidays,
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,762
    827
    252
    91
    56
See reviews for
650
1,002
119
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

first time for me and my friend in miami and we spend 2 days at the surfcomber when we arrived.at the reception the give us to glass of sparkling wine as a welcome drink.room was very nice with 2 kings sides beds.have to say: best bed never had.we came back a week after a trip we make in florida and spend 6 days again.most of the time we stay at the pool drinking and eating.everyday with free wine drink at the pool at 5 very nice..at the pool we meet RYAN who work there and have to say than is for us the best pool man waiter.always smiling and there when we did need something;hope than he will stay for long time and hope to see him next year with more responsability..good luck mister RYAN...Continental breakfast are not the best sorry fruit salad is very hard maybe melon are not a season fruit???employed are all very sexy at reception:)and concierge more.the 2 french guays

Room Tip: we stay in room 333 first and 219 after
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frederic j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
frederic j-
Thank you for the great posting.
Ryan will be here for your return & let’s see if he steps up to the plate to take on more responsibility.
We look forward to your return. Happy Holidays
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Awesome stay at the Surfcomber. From the front desk staff to the room and facilities I have to rank this in the top 5% of hotels I have stayed in while in South Beach------and I have been coming to SB for the past 20 years. Love the scale of the hotel, and location is A+.
Will be back next year for Art Basel and this is the only place I want to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollipome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
ollipome-
Thank you for the amazing posting.
It’s really flattering the read that we are the only place you would like to stay.
We welcome your return.
Warm Regards & Happy Holidays.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our party of 2 stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday, 2012. Great location, clean rooms, clean pool. Check out the Decobike rack near the walk way/pool area. We rented bikes and rode all over Southbeach. This property IS on the beach. It's a little bit of a walk, but just grab your beach bag and head over to the beach. Or, the hotel will help you reserve an umbrella and chairs.

The restaurant was a little slow to serve, so we mainly ate at other locations. You can walk easily to most places. I believe the entire hotel was renovated in 2011.

Within 1 block, you can easily walk to the pharmacy that sells many items including groceries. We wish we would have walked there the first day for water, snacks, etc... The service at this property was great, in our opinion. We had a hard time tipping the staff as they actually said no tip was necessary!?!? Much thanks to them!

The pool area is very relaxing and we had no problem finding a chair. The staff will dress your chair with a towel, although I don't think there is drink service poolside. There is a small bar in the form of a hut, but we didn't visit. If you want to play volleyball or relax in the oversized bean bags - it's easy. Overall, YES we will go back. It was our first stay, but it's a place we like.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Paul D-
Thank you for staying with us for your Thanksgiving holiday get away.
We look forward to your return.
Happy holidays.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went here for my 30th birthday with a few friends, and I have to admit after reading such promising reviews, I had high expectations...and I was blown away. From the minute we got to the hotel, the staff was impeccably attentive and there was champagne and a nice card signed by the staff in my room waiting for me...Surfcomber made my 30th birthday unforgettable!! From the amazing food (orange duck noodles were awesome), hosted wine hour, great beach service, Ricky at the Mixology lessons, I honestly would not have changed a thing. We are actually staying at another Kimpton in Arizona just because of the great experience we had...I hope they live up to the standard that Surfcomber set! Thanks to all the staff for an amazing trip, and we will definitely be back again!!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NebraskaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
NebraskaDude-
Happy belated 30th birthday.
It so great to read about exceeding expectations.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been to South Beach many times. I usually stay at a hotel a few times if I like it and then try somewhere new...just because. Friends told me about the Surfcomber, so it was time for a try. Everyone on staff was so pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is low key and very pretty. Rooms were average size and nicely appointed. Pool area is so pleasant and relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for the courtyard rooms. Quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
richard960-
Thank you for trying us out.
We are very appreciative of your perfect weekend getaway posting.
We hope you start to staying with us regularly and forget about trying out anything new.
See you soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently stayed for 6 nights. 1st time at a Kimpton, and hopefully not last...very nice hotel; unique style, and good service: thanks to Michie, Vanessa and Ehren for making my stay a pleasant one. Good location and great beach & pool service. Rooms are nicely decorated.

Room Tip: North building; garden view on 3rd floor was relatively quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
happy619-
Thank you for the nice stay posting.
We really appreciate reading that you enjoyed our unique style & friendly employees.
We hope to see you back again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
The Confidante
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,833 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#33 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#24 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#26 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing