We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Kimpton Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #34 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another Kimpton Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

When I Miami, I usually stay at the excellent Epic, downtown. The Surfcomber is a new Kimpton group property, located directly on the beach - perfect if you need to be near the ocean. On my recent visit, the hotel had just become part of the Kimpton chain, and the new look and service were fantastic. The property is located directly on Miami Beach's oceanfront, with direct access to the surf right from the hotel (there's also a fantastic boardwalk for running). The hotel is chic and well designed, with an extremely inviting staff welcoming all with grace and ease. The lobby is 'cool' without being space age - an warm 'living room'. It's a great place to hang out, enjoy complimentary wine in the late afternoon, or morning coffee (also on the house). The wifi is excellent throughout the hotel, even at the pool (free for In Touch members). The pool - fantastic, luxurious, and unlike many other SoBe properties, in full sun. There are nice loungers, a soothing fountain, Fatboy beanbags, and ubiquitous palm trees - quite heavenly, and facing the beach. The rooms are nice sized, thoughtfully designed, with excellent beds and great pillows. Room service is lightning fast from the great restaurant on site. Bathrooms are small but sparkly and cool, with tons of towels and great Etro products. All in all, a great addition to the Kimpton group and my new home when I need to be at the beach as opposed to downtown. Bravo to Michelle and her team - a superb job!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Design-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Design-Family -
That’s awesome.
Thank you so much for posting your experience with us.
We are super excited to welcome you back to your new home.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,829
    851
    261
    95
    59
See reviews for
666
1,051
122
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights when they were doing the renovations, I can say that the rooms are clean and nice but unfortunatly I am really disappointed with how they handle the organization and the day of my wedding!!
They didn't care at all about me, the kept sending me to talk to 5 different people and noone knew what to tell me, my wedding planner was also sending to them e mails and this one and a half month before the wedding day!!I was really stressed!I just made a request of having few lights for the dinner and the answer was yes, but they didn't put the lights so all the tables were really dark and the pictures are horrible, all my guests were complaining!!
I also didn't have the mirror in my room even if I was the Bride!I have other things to say but I think is enough info for the next bride!!
I think that even if you change the company in the middle of the organization, you should maintain the same as was said before to a bride, wich already sent the invitations!!
I only want to say thanks to Nathaly and the 2 door gusy wich were really helpful!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivijan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Vivijan M-
I am terribly saddened to read your posting.
Let me first apologize for this experience with us. The lighting for the event should have been perfect and there should of never of been a need to request a mirror on such a momentous day. The items should have been provided and we will denote for the future.
In September on the date of your event we were still muddling through our renovation.
That is not an excuse; we have simply have re-launched our product and service since then.
I will be reaching out to assist in winning back your loyalty and creating another experience for you that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna,TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here prior to running the half marathon. The Surfcomber was one of the official hotels for this event. I had read the prior reviews and was somewhat concerned, but after speaking to a very nice reservation person with Kimpton, I decided to take a chance. Right at check-in, all my worries disappeared. We were warmly greeted and were amazed how friendly each and everyone of the staff was. Our room, although somewhat small, had been updated nicely and was very comfortable. The location was excellent and was within easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping. The pool and location to the beach was fantastic. We enjoyed the evening happy hour where wine was served. They also went out of their way on the morning of the run and provided complimentary food and drink. Check-out was easy and efficient. Our bellman even went out of his way to bring us Gatorade and granola bars to help us recover from the run.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tnvols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
tnvols -
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us.
We offer a complimentary wine hour daily to try to get to know our hotel guests.
We look forward to your return next year for the Dodge marathon 2012.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

One of the best places I have ever stayed at. Perfect location with the beach just steps from your room. The best part of our stay was the staff-they were professional, warm and catered to our every need. They welcome you from the moment you step foot here and make sure that your every request is met. Mauricio, Rashad and Dorgis were friendly, professional and helped make us feel welcomed. They offered great suggestions for places to eat, suggestions for how to get to the airport, and great hangout spots. I have stayed at other Kimpton hotels, but I must say this beat the other hotels as well. What makes this hotel stand out from the rest is the amazing service, they really do make you feel right at home!! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms here are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Patty G-
Wow, thank you for the great posting.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
And to say you enjoyed your stay here better than any other Kimpton is amazing. Thank you.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Great renovation! Hotel was immaculate and very comfortable. Rooms were large with high end finishes/furnishings. Our room had a private roof top patio overlooking the pool and ocean. Staff was very efficient and friendly. The pool and lounge area was incredible. A great value and I will stay here on each return trip to South Beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
weking-
Thank you for taking a moment to post your experience with us.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean Mckeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Stayed at the Surfcomber over Thanksgiving weekend. They were just wrapping up their renovations - lobby is sleek and modern, the overnight rooms are quaint but fun design! the bathroom is really cute and well layed out. Truly can't beat the location - right on Collins Ave and with the pool that overlooks the beach!! Great staff, always love Kimpton hotels!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Kristin A-
Cute doggie.
I hope upon your return that you are able to bring your buddy with you.
We love pets and they stay complimentary, your family is our family.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

It is in an excellent location, the beach is out the back gate. Close to shopping, restaurants, bars but far enough away to be quite. A Miami Transit Airport Flyer stop is just a few steps out the front door($2.35 Airport to South Beach). The hotel and my room were comfortable, clean and updated. Vanessa at the desk was friendly and professional. Brian (Bellman) ,Dorges, Mauricio and Chef Freddie gave me some great suggestions when I asked about things away from the hustle of Lincoln Rd and Ocean Dr. I am just sorry I can remember everyone's name. They all went above and beyond to make me fell welcome. Great Place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Darryl99-
Great tip on the airport flyer.
Thank you for the great posting as well and for praising our teams service.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
The Confidante
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#30 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
SLS South Beach
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing