We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Ranked #48 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed at the Riviera Hotel (6/27 - 7/4) traveling to Miami with my daughters Volleyball team. I was satisfied with our stay but like other reviewers have said, there are things that could be worked out by the staff and the Hotel. The best thing about the hotel is the location, just two blocks from the beach and walking distance to quite a few restaurants and businesses. The rooms were spacious, the suite that we stayed in had a king size bed with a full size pull-out (could sleep a family of 5, 3 on the bed & 2 on the pull-out). If you are flying into Miami airport the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to and from. If you are flying into Fort Lauderdale I would suggest SAS Transportation, we were give a rate of 13.00 per person per trip (for 4 people -with pickup at FLL to hotel and return trip), 104.00 total plus tip. Call ahead or send in an email reservation form online. Be careful of the added charges at the hotel, I was going to be charged an additional 70.00 for beverages from the rooms mini-bar and one other thing that I can't remember. The fee was taken off since I didn't touch the mini-bar.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robdawg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGeneralManager1, assistant general manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2009

We enjoyed having your Volleyball team here with us.
Thank you for your compliments about our hotel.

We strive to make sure that every mini bar is checked everyday. In that week alot of the guests requested them removed. I am sure that was the error and appologize for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,473 - 2,479 of 3,096 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2009

I loved the hotel, the staff is very nice, really good bathroom. very large room.
my only concern - room too dark and need some shelf in the bathroom. i had a great time there and i will come back in 2 weeks and stay a week there. the only problem i didnt have help with my suitcases. the internet is great and free.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sol1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGeneralManager1, assistant general manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2009

We are glad to hear you are coming back! We have bellman staff from 7am till 11pm . I appologize if he was out helping another guest when you arrived.If you see the bellman is not available please ask the desk to call for assistance and myself or another staff member would be happy to help.

Looking forward to seeing you again and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I just got back from Miami and I spent three days at the Riviera Suites. The rooms were very nice (a little dark). The manager Michael and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The kids enjoyed the pool and the adults enjoyed the pool area. The entire place was very clean. Just a few drawbacks: no happy hour at the Riviera as stated online and on the phone. Air condition did not work (but the manager did correct our bill). Overall I thought this was a great hotel and I enjoyed the service from the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckymom521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGeneralManager1, Assistant General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2009

Sorry about the a/c. We strive to have everything in working order. With the hot summer months upon us we give our a/c units a hard time.

Thank you for the kind words about us as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

What a find! The Riviera South Beach is the newest property in the South Beach Hotel Group and having stayed in most of them I can honestly say it's by far the best. The entire staff, most notably Asst. GM Michael Hopper could not have more helpful and accomodating. The suites, all one-bedroom, are beautifully done and exude a sense of 1940's glamore. The location, a few blocks from Lincoln Road and one block from Collins Avenue is perfect. Close to everything but away from the madness SoBe can sometimes be. I've already booked 2 repeat visits.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopDad52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGeneralManager1, Asst. GM at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2009

Thank you for your positive review of our property. We appreciate the comments that you have made about us.
We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

although a tad overpriced, i enjoyed my stay at the riviera. the rooms are very nice...the lighting was dark of course and kind of annoying at times but no big complaints. i do wish that they offer more lighting for people that need it..very important to women for getting ready etc. the negative...the walls and floors are very thin so it was a bit noisy at times with people walking around. the front staff was helpful and the doormen were also very nice. the rooms are spacey but not much storage space to unpack etc. the breakfast was not that great at all...it consisted of toast, bagels, and coffee...not very appetizing. the happy hour at catalina was not great at all...nice bartender but she made some horrible drinks with cheap liquor. my advice...hit up ocean drive for happy hour. riviera is very close to the beach but a nice walk to ocean drive etc. i would stay at the riviera again but at a cheaper price next time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vavuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGeneralManager1, Assistant General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2009

Thank you for your review of our property.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The complimentary breakfast is a continental breakfast. Continental breakfasts are made up of bread items, fruit ,yogurt , juices and coffee. If you did not find some of these items available I am sure our attendant would bring some to your table.

The happy hour at the Catalina offers free drinks. Most other happy hours on the beach are two for one. I will make sure to advise the bar manager to check on the pouring of his bartender so that your next drink will be the very best.

Our rooms are decorated with subdued lighting for a romantic touch. In most of the bathrooms there is more lighting available and a make-up mirror as well.

On your next trip with us please check out our website as there are a lot of great deals right now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

we spent two nights at the Riviera before departing on a cruise. This is a lovely boutique hotel, tastefully restored, and with smiling attentive staff. I somehow left my passport at the airport and the Manager was wonderful in locating it and arranging for me to pick it up.

The rooms are luxurious, spacious with every ammenity. Again very tastefully furnished, a little on the dark side, but thats why I liked it. So restful. The bed is enormous and one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, you just sink into it, I could have stayed there for days.

There is a small secluded pool area with some of the most confortable pool furniture, the attention to detail throughout this hotel is first class.

A continental breakfast is available at the poolside bar, with fruitjuices, coffee and a nice selection of fruit .

A complimentary bus service too and from the airport to the hotel door is a definite plus.
Just a few minutes walk from the beach and nightlife. - Great location.
Marks out of 10 9.5.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We got in on a Florida Resident's rate so the price was very good - 50% off the regular rate. The rooms are very large and quite well provisioned. As others have noted there is no bar or restaurant on site but if you cant find either one of these in SOBE then you should stay home.

We found the staff pleasant and helpful. Check in and check out was very fast and painless. We avoided the $30 valet by using a municipal lot on 17th and Convention Center Dr that caps out @ $20 per day. Dont look to park on the street - its residential permit only on the small streets around the hotel.

One caveat - as with most of the hotels here the walls are paper thin. You WILL hear EVERYTHING said,done and thought around you. Most of the noisy clubbers will vacate for the night and leave things relatively peaceful but if you want a dead quiet environment you will be disappointed.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGeneralManager1, Assistant General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2009

Thank you for the compliments to our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking into other solutions regarding noise between rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,485 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,315 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#33 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,241 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#25 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,164 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#46 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Address: 318 20th Street, Corner: 2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $104 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish Classic Rooms, Modern Balcony Rooms, as well as One-Bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing