We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent "boutique" experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Ranked #23 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a terrific week-long stay! The ample staff pampered us; Mgr. Darko G. was very attentive, Pedro T. and Giovanna were our front-desk go-to people, Britt B. as manager of Morenos made it our home-away, wait staffers Amanda, Mia, Scarlett and Corey were a super team, and bartenders Marlon and Alex kept us refreshed and entertained. Bellmen services, especially by Eric and Alejandro, kept us in cabs - no need to rent a car here! We had some amazing evenings by following suggested locations... We will be back!

Room Tip: Being in Building #3 was very convenient and had a balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Hello there Maureen S,

We value all of our guests feedback and we are extremely glad to read that you shared yours with us! It seems like our staff provided outstanding service while you were with us! I will make sure to inform them all about your lovely praise! Please come back for another memorable time with us! We would love to have you!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,112)
There are newer reviews for Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,873 - 1,879 of 3,112 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Jenny first off is a gem she is a savior to me and my boyfriend needed to write quick email to my boss she helped me with that. The hotel has a wonderful decor and staff is incredibly helpful rooms a a little dark but loved my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovinstylegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Good Evening Lovinstylegg,

There is nothing that we love to read more then wonderful 5 star feedback! Thank you for sharing it with us, and all of our future guests! Jenny our front desk manager is lovely, and all of our guests seem to think so as well! I will definitely make sure to inform her of your kind praise! We like to keep the rooms a bit dark and relaxed. We offer extra lamps for those guests who need more lighting. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were shocked at the beautiful pools and the beauty of the outdoor furniture. Daily the pool attendant came around and cleaned the ash trays, umbrella stands, and supervisors checked the outdoor bathrooms. The outdoor furniture was very comfortable and clean! It looked like the picture online. The staff was very attentive but not annoying. The only thing I would caution is the small size of the room. We mentioned that to Ilona, a member of the reception staff, and asked her if there was any chance we could have a larger room for our last two nights. Ilona was so accommodating and friendly. She got back to us within minutes and upgraded our room to a suite. She went above and beyond to satisfy my family. For the past few years, we have stayed at Dream Hotel South Beach, which we loved, however, we will not be returning to Dream we will always stay at Riviera Hotel! We highly recommend the Riviera hotel South Beach to anyone you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: If u have a lot of luggage, book a suite!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Hello there Beth W,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are delighted to read that your time spent with us was a 5 star one! We offer 2 beautiful pools here at Riviera Suites. One of them that is on the rooftop and the other that is on the ground floor. Our staff are always hard at work to make sure that the grounds are well maintained, and that everyone is having a great time!! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel room. We do offer rooms that are larger for those guests who need more space. I am glad that Ilona was able to upgrade you to another room that was bigger! :) We can't wait to have you stay with us again in the future! :)

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We originally booked a standard room; the noise from the bar which has happy hour every night was too much, so we complained and they moved us to a different (higher rate) room with no charge which was nice. The room was spacious and had very nice furniture and etc, but AC didn't work and there was leak coming from the ceiling in the shower which was bringing in (dirty) water from someone else's room. Next morning, we complained and changed to another room. Finally, we settled in. All of the 3 rooms had very low water pressure in the shower and did not have hot enough water temperature. I heard a fellow guest checking out saying she had no hot water in her room when she was asked how her stay was.

The service at the front desk is very slow. Some people were very courteous, but some female employees at the counter were not very helpful. When we got voucher for the chairs on the beach, all we were told was to go to the beach between 18th st and 17th st. We got no other explanation such as to look for red/ white stripe umbrellas and etc. Not all of the staff is well trained. Also, they do not pick up calls from the rooms when they're busy. We witnessed external phone calls have more priority for them. I guess treat future customers better since the guests already paid/ will pay.

I did not think it's worth the money. Plus throwing extra $5 on my credit card for mini bar we did not use definitely didn't help improve my impression of this hotel.

The restaurant they have is very overpriced and portion is super small. My husband ordered 2 meals but it was like kids meal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackbeltgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Yea great time at the riviera the staff is happy and funny all the time jenny is wonderful rooms were nice fancy and modern the location is great overall the experience was enjoyable and pleasing two blocks away from beach and entertainment

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ani_C88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Great location, great staff and excellent customer service. I would like to thank Kathrine and Jenny to help me make my girlfriend's birthday extra special by upgrading us to a wonderful suite and decorating the room. The cake was wonderful and I am looking forward to my next stay at this wonderful hotel!! We loved both the pools and the beach is only 2 blocks away. The complimentary beach chairs are great way to relax on the beach. Beach umbrella required extra $15, which is not bad at all. They also provide comfortable shuttle bus from/to airport every hour.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Alex updated our Priceline reservation to better suit. It was close to the swimming pool. With a nice view out of the window. Great romantic environment, nice staff. I strongerly recommend it! And I will come back someday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ying917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,936 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,461 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chesterfield Hotel
#77 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,278 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#27 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,129 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Address: 318 20th Street, Corner: 2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $115 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish Classic Rooms, Modern Balcony Rooms, as well as One-Bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing