We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice updated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Ranked #49 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Riviera Hotel is an unimpressive cluster of 3 white buildings from the outside. On the inside the rooms and the lobby have been recently renovated with modern clean lines. Our room was a single room with a small non-usable balcony outside. The room was clean and the furnishings were nice. It was located right off the restaurant courtyard so it was rather noisy until 11PM. Its location is a couple of blocks from the beach and beach chairs and towels came with the room. A resort fee of $15 and a parking fee of $35 was tacked on the basic room charge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Good Afternoon WHMK,

Thank you so much for sharing your honest feedback, regarding your recent stay! We are a 3 building hotel tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood. I am glad to know that you were content with cleanliness of the hotel. We do charge a $15 resort fee for the amenities that we offer such as- R/T shuttle from MIA, cocktail hour nightly from 7-8PM, WiFi, Beach chairs and towels at our beach club. Please come back and stay with us again!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,893 - 1,899 of 3,122 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Check in was almost 40 mins!! The owner of the hotel walked right in front of us half way through check in to give someone else a room away from spring breakers. He did not apologizes or even acknowledge we were there. Then the receptionist help his guest before finishing with us. We then went to the complimentary cocktail hour and the bar tender ignored us and every other guest he was not nice at all. We did enjoy the access to beach chairs and towels at the beach and the close walking distance to Lincoln drive.

1  Thank michaelreuter1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hello michaelreuter1,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your honest feedback! We have been experiencing some issues with our system. This has caused things to take a bit longer to check guests in/out. We apologize for any inconveniences this caused you! We strive on providing outstanding customer service and apologize that is not what you were given! We really hope that you would give us another chance in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

stayed at this hotel 1 night before leaving for a cruise. We stayed in building 1 and our room was huge and beautiful; bed was very comfortable; the staff was very accomodating; the pool area looked nice but unfortunately our stay was too short; the hotel is a great location; we will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYvirg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Good Day NYvirg1,

There is nothing that we love to read more then wonderful 5 star feedback! Our rooms are definitely spacious. We only use the best mattresses here at Riviera Suites. We know that a great nights sleep is priceless!! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Huge thanks to Arlene at the front desk who went way out of her way to help me solve a problem when she didn't have to. She was kind, understanding, diligent, and went out of her way for me. Very much appreciated!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mer1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hello there Mer1212,

Thank you for your feedback! Arlene is absolutely wonderful and I will make sure that she is aware of your kind praise! She is always going out of her way to make sure that each and every guest is having a splendid time here at Riviera Suites. We hope to have you stay with us again!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Reservationists are slippery. If you make reservations through any other sites, be prepared for the hotel to find ways to charge you 20% more to accommodate any special requests. Hotel not full, availability to accommodate requests, but will not do so without having you pull your credit card back out. Bait-n-switch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank GCrew429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hello there GCrew429,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are terribly sorry to read that you did not have a 5 star time here at Riviera Suites! We do not charge any of our guests anything extra if you book directly with us, or through a third party site. We do charge a $15 resort fee for the amenities that you love to enjoy. When booking through a third party site this fee is not included. You will pay this directly to the hotel, and on each site it clearly states this. We apologize that you were not aware of this.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel has charm but its service and absence to details gets in the way of charm. The small reception desk and very, very slow check-in process, or any other hotel matter that requires attention, challenge even the seasoned traveler.
In the "pretty" dimly lit bathroom, the floor and shower floor, when wet, are a very slippery ceramic tile - it's a fall waiting to happen. And wet it is since the shower door is a half-door resulting in water everywhere. The towels end up as mops.
And lastly, even though there's a coffee maker in the room, you better take your coffee black!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank babslozada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Hello there,

We would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us! We are delighted to read that you found the hotel to be a charm. Our reception area is indeed a bit small but is perfect for the Riviera. We have been having a few issues with our system that is out of our control. They have been working to resolve these issues, and everything is running perfectly again. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you! I will make sure to pass on your feedback to our General Manager so that he is aware. We hope that you would stay with us again when coming to Miami!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

There are many options for your stay on South Beach. This place is a cluster of renovated buildings, several blocks from the Beach, deep in a residential area. The buildings are across the street from each other. The is no street parking unless you are very lucky. Valet service is available for about $36 per night, or there is a public garage across the street for........$36 per night. I found the location of this hotel very inconvenient....everything i was doing was a cab ride away....unless you were ready to hike. Cabs are difficult to get as the hotel is not on a main road.....the bell staff would walk 2 blocks to Collins ave to attempt to hail a cab for you. The rooms were very nice. Definitely chic and trendy. Bedding was comfy, and everything was clean, as expected. Mini bar and snacks were made available in the room, but the was NO ROOM SERVICE. (yes, this is a big negative for me).

My overall experience was positive. All of the staff were friendly and professional. Room was very nice. Great breakfast with Cuban Coffee at the outdoor bar behind the main lobby. If you don't need to deal with parking or cabing.......then this place will be perfect. If this review helps your planning, please leave me a helpful vote......ENJOY

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slayridez06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Good Afternoon Slayridez06,

We value all of our guests feedback and we would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are a 3 building hotel located in a quiet residential neighborhood. We are just blocks away from the beach and many other hot spots in South Beach. We offer valet parking for $35 per night. There is also garages, lots and municipal parking around the hotel. The front desk is able to call a cab for you if they were aware of ahead of time with no problem. We are content to read that you were satisfied with our rooms, the bedding and the cleanliness. I see that you were given great service by our staff. We hope that you would come back and stay with us again in the future.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,521 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#91 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,755 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#26 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,208 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,000 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#70 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Address: 318 20th Street, Corner: 2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $118 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish Classic Rooms, Modern Balcony Rooms, as well as One-Bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing