We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the sun at the Riviera Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Ranked #23 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a really relaxing time in South beach...hotel had a great roof top pool and lots of umbrellas, cabanas, towels...and good bar service. The room was really unique with alot of nice features...if I had to say one negative thing I would say there was not alot of lighting in the suite. Great location...within walking distance to all the good restaurants, shopping, bars and five minutes from the beach. At checkout we did have a problem. They have a free shuttle that takes you to the airport...you book it the day before you leave which we did...we booked it for 7:00am...they told us to be downstairs at 6:50am and at 7:30 the shuttle was still not there. That being said, they were kind enough to pick up the cab fare that was a flat-rate of $33.00. Will definitely comeback!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building one...it is quiet at night because the bar is in the building with the ro...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meesh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hello there Meesh47,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I am glad that the time you spent with us was relaxing! We do like to keep our rooms dark yet relaxed. We do offer extra lamps for those guests who would like more lighting in their room. We are tucked away in a quiet residential area still not far from all the action. I am terribly sorry that you had an issue with taking the shuttle on the way back to the airport. Perhaps there was a mechanical issue with the shuttle and therefore we could not be on time. We would definitely love to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,102)
There are newer reviews for Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,033 - 2,039 of 3,103 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

Don't stay here unless you plan on sleeping in the wrong room! Upon check-in, they gave me a studio instead of a 1 bedroom deluxe which is what I paid for.

They lie about the description of what a 1 bedroom is. They feel that because a studio has a kitchen and dining area (plus a bed in the room) that it can be called a 1 bedroom deluxe room.

Then after another reservation was made for a 2nd night, using an online reservation site, I needed to cancel it and they would not refund anything at all - claiming they could not sell the room again because it was out of the inventory.

The shower did not have any door, so water was all over the floor every time I showered. So much so, that the bedroom wood floors were warped and coming up off the floor at the entrance from the bathroom.

I couldn't turn off one of the lamps because the switch was broken. When I called for assistance, he just took off the switch knob from another lamp in the room and told me to use the switch for that lamp, to accommodate the one that was broken.

The decor is NOT South Beach - dark wood paneling everywhere, including the bathroom! The living room had some type of animal print as and area carpet.

I will never stay at this hotel again! There are way better places to stay at for the same price. I can't believe the regular price they charge their patrons.

Horrible value!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDN_Traveller_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Good Afternoon CDN_Traveller_1979,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for the time you took to share yours with us! Unfortunately when you book through a third party the room type is never guaranteed. We have one bedrooms and we have studio's as well. When you cancel and you are not within the cancellation policy there is a cancellation policy which also goes for any other hotel. The decor of our hotel is funky and unique and not your average Art Deco type decor. I am sorry that your experience with us was not amazing!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Riviera is a fun and chic hotel definitely for people who want to be close to south beach but away from the chaos. if you're used to walking you can pretty much walk to all the popular places in south beach. Since we're from NYC we had no problem doing that.

The rooms are clean, a little small but it is fine. The only thing i did not like are the showers! seriously who thought it was a good idea to have only half a glass? water gets everywhere. it's not functional at all.

The best part about the Riviera is the bartenders! i would definitely stay here again to hang with them again! Suzy is very sweet and makes yummy and tropical drinks. Marlon is very chill and he knows all the cool local places to hang. James is hilarious and had everyone laughing the entire time during happy hour. He also knows some really good restaurants in the area. The bartenders are seriously the best!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hello there Tia M,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, regarding your recent visit! We are very glad to know that you had such a great time with us! We are close to all the action, yet tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood that is nice and quiet. :) I will definitely make sure to inform Suzy, Marlon and James about your wonderful praise! They will be stoked to hear it! Our team works hard to make sure that everyone is enjoying their time spent with us! Please come back for another memorable time with us!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at Riviera hotel with my sister in November for a week. It was amazing week with Riviera Hotel and its staff. The hotel has a great location, close to the beach and Collins Av, Ocean Drive where there are a lot of restaurants, bars and clubs. At the same time the hotel is located in the quite place in Liberty Av. and you can sleep well at night.
The room was nicely decorated, clean , modern and very comfortable. It was very pleasant to stay near the swimming pool on the roof, it was always clean there and were some of the most comfortable sun beds we have experienced. The guys there and lady Susy were always kind, polite and attentive.
The staff were very friendly, the girl and boy at the front desk were really kind and polite during our check in (it was pretty fast). Actually all the staff at hotel were attentive and supported with all you needed. All of them created feeling of safety and it seemed that you were at home with big family in cosy atmoshpere.
Will definitely be returning and will definitely stay at this hotel again!! Also we can recommend to everybody the RIVIERA HOTEL and guarantee 100% satisfaction after staying here.
Thank you for a really great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvetlanaSPB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hello SvetlanaSPB99,

There is nothing that we love to see more then a wonderful review with 5 stars!!!!!!!!! We are extremely glad to know that you had such a great time with us! From the staff, to the location of our property, to the room, and everything in between- it seems like you enjoyed it all! Our staff works hard to make sure that each and every guest is having a great time with us, and that the rooms are clean and the grounds are well kept! We would love to have you stay with us again in the near future! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our overall stay at the hotel was great. The hotel has 3 different suites all very beautiful. we enjoyed the rooftop pool in building 3, simple yet satisfying continental breakfast in building 1 and Happy Hour from 7-8 in building 2. Here was where we met James and Suzy, the bar team. Both made AMAAZING drinks. If you want to know where to have great meals ask James. He knows his area very well. These two added to our stay experience. Suzy makes a mean tropical drink.
There is construction work in building 3 but it's during work hours. We weren't in our room for extended period of times to have been bothered by the work going on. My advice for anyone who's going to stay there will; be very clear as what you are looking for in your rooms, from space, 2 baths to balcony view.
Overall Great stay great place

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eab81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hello there eab81,

Your wonderful 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated!!! Thank you for sharing it with us and all of our future guests!! We are very glad to know that you had such a great time with us! I see that you were able to enjoy some of the amenities that we offer here at Riviera Suites! Both James and Suzy are both great and all of our guests absolutely love them! I will make sure to let them know of your kind praise! :) Please come back for another memorable time with us! We would love to have you!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

First off, there must be something wrong with the imagination of both Squatopotamus and Carolinerg. How they could be so downright critical of the Riviera Suites is totally incomprehensible.Let's think about it, we have a 150+ room "boutique" style hotel / suites using 3 different buildings. The oldest is 5 years old, the 2nd is 3 and the 3rd is only 4 - 5 months old. We stayed in the newest, building 3 in room 409 and found it absolutely superb.The hotel offers free WiFi, free PC access, free breakfast, complimentary cocktail hour, complimentary beach chairs & towels, free airport shuttle on return and free USA telephone calls. We've stayed, previously, at the 5* Delano and can tell you the rooms at the Riviera are equally as good as the Delano. Everyone here, especially Yolande, on reception, were extremely friendly and helpful. It's inevitable that the floor gets wet if you stomp around the bedroom after a shower but that does NOT deserve negative remarks nor does locking oneself out of one's room due to self stupidity.
The hotel is superbly placed for Collins Ave, Washington Ave, Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road the boardwalk, beaches and shops!
The rooftop pool and deck is fabulous!
Only point for the hotel to bear in mind is to make sure in room "amenities" are restocked including loo rolls!
Apart from that, we would have absolutely no hesitation i recommending this hotel and would return, without hesitation, at any time.

Room Tip: I would suggest upper level(s) building 3!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Good Afternoon MandYDerbyEngland.

There is nothing that we love to see more then a positive review with 5 stars!!! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are extremely glad to read that you had such a lovely time with us, and that you loved the room that you were given. The hotel offers a lot of complimentary amenities when you choose to stay with us. I see that you were able to enjoy the majority of them. :) We would love to have you stay with us again in the future! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel was clean and nicely decorated although their attempt at being 'chic and modern' came off as cheap and lackluster. The open shower in the bathroom looked more like a gym locker room and we had to use all of the towels provided in our room to clean the puddles of water that flooded the bathroom after each use. The unfinished ceilings appeared as unfinished blocks of cement with random orange spray paint in sections.

The doors have a privacy setting preventing cleaning service from entering the room if you set the lock at private. We were not told about this setting and by accidentally pressing the privacy button when leaving for dinner we ended up locked out of our room for close to an hour. Even though we are told this is a common occurrence, the front desk continued to issue us new keys about 5 times... none of which worked. Finally after waiting in the hallway for what felt like forever a security guard was able to let us in with his master key. Make sure you know about the privacy lock before you leave the room! It does not automatically disengage when you open the door to go of your room.

Unfortunately due to our short stay we were unable to take advantage of the beach and rooftop pool amenities, which I hear are both very nice perks of the hotel. I will say that the beds were very comfortable and it is worth the splurge on a balcony room as the views of the city are very nice. Breakfast is included from 8-11 which is also a nice perk and not common at most hotels these days.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squatopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hello Squatopotamus,

We value the time that you took to provide us with your honest feedback! We take our guests comments very serious and though it pains us to hear that your experience wasn't positive, we see every opportunity as chance to learn and to grow. Though situations like yours are rare, it is something that we must always be vigilant about as we continually try to enrich your stay with the best boutique experience in South Beach. The next time that you are back in town, I would love the chance to personally make sure your next stay at our hotel is an all- out success!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,936 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,278 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#27 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,129 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Address: 318 20th Street, Corner: 2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $116 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish Classic Rooms, Modern Balcony Rooms, as well as One-Bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing