We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tries hard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Ranked #50 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Staff very helpful and rooms lovely but balcony loos straight out onto staked up trees and no coffee making facilities along with wet room shower than floods everything - room for improvement with clarity around where hotel actually is rather than illusion

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Good Afternoon Joeya,

Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I am glad that you were given satisfactory service by our staff! They work hard to make sure that everyone is well taken care of. I will pass your feedback over to our General Manager so that she is aware.

Thank you!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,143 - 2,149 of 3,217 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

The room was nice and the hotel was pretty, but a bit dark. For example, we had a room that looked out onto a patio but it was difficult to see the weather. Nice location in South Beach.

The front desk staff was not good. It was difficult so communicate with the person checking us in as she was also talking to the staff, answering the phone, etc... She was not friendly and I doubt she ever made eye contact. The hotel made a photocopy of my and my husband's drivers licenses, and then refused to give us the copies or shred them when we checked out. They said it was for their "personal records". This makes me uneasy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. The walls are thin and there is quite a bit of street noise. I saw some gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Good Afternoon April W W,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours! I am glad that you were content with the room. We do like to keep the rooms a bit dark yet relaxed. We offer extra lamps for those guests who would like more light. I wish that you could have included the name of the front desk agent that you are referring to, so that we could have addressed the issues accordingly. I will definitely let the General Manager know about this. We do keep the copy of your drivers licenses for our security. We have noticed that in the past our guests have tried to make charge backs, stating that they have never stayed with us. With the copy of your license we can prove that the guest did indeed stay with us. We do have a professional company come out and collect these prints after a certain time, and they shred them.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was greatly impressed by this hotel. The room was great. They offer a happy hour between 7 -8pm which was a lot of fun. They two pools were wonderful, but the roof top pool was my favorite. The staff was friendly and always helpful. Since I was traveling alone I reached for tips on where to go jogging, dinner and gyms. Steven Morales who is what the hotel calls a Vibe Manger was very helpful, super response always quick response. His suggestions were on point. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeannette418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hello there jeannette418,

Your wonderful 5 star feedback is very much appreciated! Thank you for sharing it with us! I am content to learn that you had such a wonderful time while staying at our hotel! We do have a complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM. It;s a perfect way to either end your day or start your night. :) I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. They work hard to ensure that each and every guest is content and enjoying their time with us! Steven is amazing and is always very quick with responding to guests requests! He knows the city like no other! :) I will let him know of your kind praise! :) We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel was a great deal. We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend and had a great experience. The rooms were clean and the service was great. Despite being a tad small, the room was still pretty nice. They appeared to be newly renovated, so everything in the room seemed to be pretty new. Complimentary breakfast could've been a bit better, they only had a few things (mini muffins, hardboiled eggs, cereal). But, overall good experience and great location. Definitely would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Good Evening Gabriel H,

Thank you for the time you took to share your positive feedback with us! I am extremely glad to read that overall you had a good experience while staying with us! We do offer unbeatable deals with a load of lovely amenities! Our staff works hard to make sure that each and every room is clean, and that you are having an amazing time! :) We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel rooms. We do offer larger rooms for those guests who would like more space. Perhaps the room type you booked was one of our smaller rooms. Our breakfast is a complimentary continental breakfast therefore we only serve fresh pastries, fresh fruits, breads, coffee's, assorted teas, etc. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Purchased this as a last minute deal.  Impressed with the price which included free shuttle to and from Miami Airport, breakfast and happy hour between 7pm - 8pm.  Rooms funky and very clean. Option of two swimming pools. Centrally located for beach and shopping in Miami South Beach area. Good free wifi connection in all areas. Fridge facilities in room.  Staff very helpful.


Dislikes: none

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hello there ToTravelToo,

Thank you so much for your wonderful positive feedback! We do offer unbeatable prices that include great amenities, you can't beat it! We are centrally located in the heart of South Beach just steps away from the beach, and several blocks from all the action that takes place here. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! \

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had a great time in this hotel. It is conveniently located in South Beach a couple blocks away from the beach. They provide beach towels and chairs, continental breakfast, happy hour, TV, internet and music system. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. I loved that they offered a free shuttle to the airport. The only drawback is a small closet (well, at least for two women in a room). Also, I wish they had a recycle bin in the hotel since I am the person who likes to recycle. Everything else was just great!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Good Afternoon Natalia K,

We absolutely love when our guests provide us with such wonderful feedback, about their recent stay with us! I am extremely glad to read that you had such a great time! We are conveniently located just a few blocks away from the beach, and not far from all the action. We have many amenities that we provide to all of our guests that stay with us.Our housekeeping staff is always hard at work to ensure that each and every room is attended to and well taken care of. Our complimentary shuttle is a great service that we offer and saves our guests some bucks!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Scattered buildings , you have to ask for a direction to check in. However, staffs were courteous. reasonable price.
Very slow small elevators - takes forever to get to the third floor.
Clean, comfortable beds but old rooms, which is a bit too dark for my liking - lightings & wall paint. The pull out sofa bed was not very comfortable. Complemental breakfast at the poolside was good.
Parking is difficult to find - Valet parking staff are not prompt ( a separate company )but street parking is available.
Close to the tourists' area & area is safe even at night

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daddyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello there daddyim,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us! We are indeed a 3 building hotel but we do have a main building for checking in/out, cocktail hour, etc. I am glad that you were able to find out staff to be courteous! They work hard to ensure that each and every guest is well taken care of! I am sure you can understand that a pull out sofa is never very comfortable to sleep on as adult, but typically is used when guests have children. Parking on South Beach is typically hard to find. Though we do offer valet parking it is not mandatory. There is a garage a few steps away from the hotel, as well as municipal parking and several lots around the property.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Croydon
#45 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,073 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 214 in Miami Beach
4,882 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,652 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#24 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,347 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Address: 318 20th Street, Corner: 2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $180 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish Classic Rooms, Modern Balcony Rooms, as well as One-Bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing