We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Ranked #23 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Negatives:
My friend & I stayed at this hotel because we got an amazing deal for a 6 night stay for July 4th, the price was pretty unbeatable! With that said, we will NEVER (and I mean never) stay at this hotel again. For starters, what was the most stressful was the valet. They charge $32/night because it's convenient and no parking anywhere near. It is seriously a JOKE and I am not exaggerating! The first night we missed the fireworks because it took them more than 30 minutes to get it to us and they were nice enough to take that night off. The rest of the time wasn't any different taking on average 20-25 minutes just to get us our car, not ideal when you're in a rush! That was the worst part of the stay! Secondly, it takes forever to get anything done with this hotel most of the time because they are trying to run 3 buildings with such a small staff.

Positives:
The check-in staff was EXTREMELY nice and we had no problems with them. They really made sure they made a good impression, however the others were a "hit or miss" with how we were treated. The maid was awesome too and the rooms were awesome! Very nice and very modern with TWO iPhone docks. Loved the free wi-fi, the times it worked. Lastly, they were nice enough to upgrade our room to two beds instead of having to share a bed, that was cool. Breakfast is nothing special, the minimum of a continental breakfast, but it was included so that was good.

OVERVIEW:
Pleasant staff, luxurious rooms and free wi-fi. However, horrible service time (sometimes staff) & HORRIBLY TERRIBLE, the worst ever, valet that is unnecessarily priced! All-in-all, NEVER staying here again and I highly advise anyone to every stay here. It's worth the money to stay at a Proper hotel on the beach if you want a real vacation.

Room Tip: corner rooms have THREE windows, plus one in the bathroom so 4 altogether. Also, get a room at the e...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Good Afternoon Justin M,

Thank you for providing us with your honest feedback! Unfortunately the valet service is not part of the hotel, it is an outside company that we use. There is definitely parking around the hotel and there is a garage in the building right over from us. I am sorry that you did not see that. Our price for parking is very normal for hotel valet parking here on South Beach. During holidays and busy time such as 4th of July there is a delay for everything. The valet company does park their cars in the garage that is right over the street from us, along with other hotel cars and public cars. When there is a high demand for cars this tends to back up the garage and create traffic within the garage. We are indeed a 3 building hotel with plenty of staff to assist our guests and their requests. I am sorry that what you were trying to get done took a little longer then usual. I am glad that our staff was nice and that you were content with rooms as well.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,092)
There are newer reviews for Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 3,097 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Visited this hotel at end of june 2013. Great hotel. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are extremely modern and spotlessly clean. They have all mod cons including ipod docking stations and great air con. The extra perks e.g. complimentary breakfast and happy hour went down well. The complimentary beach towels and sunloungers for the beach were also a nice touch. However the major attraction of this hotel has to be the great rooftop pool with luxurious sunloungers and day beds again all spotlessly clean.

Would recommend this hotel without a doubt!!!

Great location close to the beach, Collins Avenue and minutes walk from Lincoln Rd Mall.

Room Tip: Family rooms in 3rd building e.g. 3301 have two bathrooms which made a difference with four sharing!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hello amanda186534,

There is nothing that we love more then 5 star feedback! :) Thank you for sharing yours with us! I am very glad that you were given outstanding service by our staff! Our complimentary breakfast by the pool is a great way to start the day off right, and the cocktail hour from 7-8pm to end it right as well. :) I am very glad to know that you were content with everything at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The rooms are very nicely designed. Now 32 dollars valet parking I wasn't to thrilled about. Consider parking your car yourself at the lot and I believe you save a few bucks. I would stay again for the right price .

Room Tip: This place is a bargain if you don't have a car to avoid expensive parking.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThisRicanGetsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hello ThisRicanGetsAround,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for your time to share it with us! I see that you were content with the room and the design of it. We do offer valet parking for the convenience of our guests, although it is not mandatory. There are other options around, it might save you a few bucks but it can also be a hassle. Please come back again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the Riviera Suites from Monday 24th June till Wednesday 26th June 2013. There were 10 of us stayed and had a brilliant time. The suites are decorated extremely fashionable inside and out. We paid £192 for B&B for 2 nights. Also included in the price was 1 hours worth of free drink at cocktail bar on each night of your stay. Overall I couldn't fault these suites and were exactly as described as on the website. I would highly recommend this accommodation if visiting Miami.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JUVEJEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hello JUVEJEN,

We love when our guests tell us about their positive stay with us! We thank you for and the rest of your party for staying with us! Our prices are definitely unbeatable and our amenities almost seem endless. We hope that if you come back to visit Miami that you stay with us again!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel has some improvements to make. This weekend was a romantic getaway and we had great time. The hotel is located in a great location. A block from the beach. Great places to shop. Grill Fish restaurant did not disappoint. The hotel was not what I expected. The lobby is nicely decorated. The roof top pool adds a nice touch. Happy Hour was awesome. The room does not hold up to the expectations I thought it should . First, there was no hot water. Reported the problem but it was not resolved. The walls are paper thin. First night we had to call security because the guest above us decided to have a party. There was loud music, stomping, furniture being moved around. Security address the problem and the noise stopped within 10 minutes. Need I say this took place at 3:00AM. Bar was not stocked and when asked to purchase a bottle of wine from the list, the staff said it was not available. Lots of locals visit happy hour. I do not plan to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Good Afternoon Felicia L,

Your honest feedback is greatly appreciated and thank you for sharing it with us! I am very glad to read that you had a great time on your romantic weekend getaway. I see that you were content with the location of our property. Our complimentary cocktail hour is great and all of our guests love it! Unfortunately locals are not allowed to enjoy our cocktail hour unless they are staying at our hotel! I am terribly sorry about the inconvenience that you experienced with water. We can't control the behavior of our guest, but I am glad that our security guard was able to inform them of their loud behavior.

Thank you!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a great little weekend getaway for my wife's birthday. One of the biggest perks of the hotel was that it was smack dab in the middle of South Beach but just enough streets away to not get all the noise and commotion of the busy night life. We loved how accessible everything was to us. Left our car with the valet for 2 straight nights and never took a taxi ride that was more than $10. The hotel inside was very comfortable. The rooms are boutique style and very nice and modern. Very clean and just the perfect size for what we were looking for. The staff was extremely helpful and nice and Steven Morales (hotel employee) was very helpful and just made our stay that much better! I will be visiting again the next time we take a vacation to South Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miami_Arty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Riera Hotel at South Beach Florida was amazing!! The first thing was the staff, they were so friendly and cordial!! The bed was sooooooooooooo soft and confortable!! Easy access to all the restaurants, clubs, bars and beach!!

Room Tip: we was in the back side and it was amazingly perfect!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourdes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,936 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#52 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,278 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#27 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,129 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Address: 318 20th Street, Corner: 2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $115 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish Classic Rooms, Modern Balcony Rooms, as well as One-Bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing