We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, nice suites, carefull heavy construction outside.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Ranked #47 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good stay, nice suites, carefull heavy construction outside.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The suites builiding is great the rooms are prettily decorated, breakfast is okay not much place around the pool which by the way is very small and not so clean, helpful staff but I warn you guys heavy construction outside starts 7am if you're out early not a big deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Jaw05,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! I am glad to read that you were content with the decor of the rooms. I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast that we serve by the pool. It;s a great way to start off the day! I will inform my staff about the pool not being immaculate! We are experiencing construction that is right outside the hotel. The City of Miami Beach is making some positive changes for our neighborhood and we are very grateful for that! The construction will be over very soon and everything will be back to normal.
We hope to have you stay with us on your next visit to South Beach!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    627
    291
    132
    176
See reviews for
345
948
211
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

J at the bar was awesome, great drinks, great personality..... loved it, wish I was staying another night! He served up a little blue mixture with pineapple and coconut that by the end of the night literally everyone was drinking. Highly recommend! Thanks again j!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benfromiows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello benfromiows,

Your wonderful 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated and we are glad that you chose to share it with us! Jayson at the bar is great! He knows how to get the party started, and keep it going! I will definitely let him know of your kind praise! I am glad that you loved the concoction that he put together! He does know how to mix drinks that taste delicious!
Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

So my stay at the Riviera started on the 28th of December with friends meeting me the following day to warm up for our NYE extravaganza.  Starting from the airport it was difficult to find where to catch the shuttle for the hotel since 'G26' is not marked with adequate signage.  My friends had the same issue & ended up taking a cab to the hotel.  These guys were PISSED when they got in, which lucky for me, was around 7pm just in time for happy hour.  Here marked the beginning of an epic trip!  The bartender Jayson was so on point with the drinks and his personality that my friends could not stay angry for long. He got the drinks flowing and had everyone laughing and enjoying themselves in no time!  Not only did he serve as our bartender for the rest of the trip, but he became guy we went to for all things South Beach.  Jayson & Angel kept us plugged into what the hot spot would be for every night that we were there. They are true assets to this establishment with their exemplary customer service! We ended up passing the New Year at Mango's per their recommendations and was NOT disappointed! The only complaints I have are that the room could use a lot more lighting and there was no where to get cash since the ATM in the lobby was broken & Jayson could not process any credit cards at the register!  Really!?!  No card transactions AND no working ATM when after happy hour it becomes a cash bar!?!  That's just bad business!  The ladies at the front desk were helpful in finding nail salons, waxing salons, & every other 'girly' need that came up. All in all, we had an AMAZING time, met great people, & will recommend the Riviera to others.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornettaboutthatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Cornettaboutthatlife,

Thank you for taking your time to post your extensive wonderful feedback for all of our future guests to read! We definitely appreciate it! We are glad to know that you chose to spend your New Years with us! I am sorry that you had a hard time finding the shuttle pick up location at the airport. I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary cocktail hour. All of our guests love this amenity. It's a great way to start the night off right. Jayson is great and all of our guests adore him! He's a great worker and we love to have him as part of our team! I will definitely let both Jayson and Angel know of your kind praise! I apologize that you experienced a little inconvenience with the ATM. We have called the company that owns it to come out and service it and that has been done already. The ATM is up and running like normal. Sometimes things happen that are out of our control. I apologize that you had to experience that.
Please come back and stay with us soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The staff was excellent. Pool area very clean with a tropical feel! Short walk to beach with chairs provided. Room was small but very modern and comfortable. The high light of our pre cruise stay was the lobby bar, bartender Jay he was very friendly we enjoyed the two nights spending time at the bar with him. He enjoyed his job and made all feel welcome. We can't wait to go back to riviera suites miami. Dale and TL

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLJcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello TLJcanada,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely glad to see that you were content with your stay! Our staff works hard to ensure that you leave Riviera Suites with everlasting memories! I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary beach chairs that we provide to all of our guests. We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then the average hotel room. Jay is such a great part of our team! All of our guests love him and so do we! Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was a short Miami break prior to touring Florida.

• Short (15 min) walk to shopping/restaurants in Lincoln Rd; 20 mins to Ocean Drive.
• Hotel in 2 parts; reception (and our room) south of the road; other rooms and breakfast/pool on the north side. The bar next to reception was excellent with free cocktails at happy hour.
• When we visited, there were extensive road works between the locations; access was a bit muddy/tricky. However, we were not disturbed by construction noise.
• Our room was clean and spacious with an Art Deco feel.
• Car parking was $32 per night. A bit of a surprise.
• Three days after we left, there was an extra $10 charge on my card. When I contacted the hotel, they said it was a mini-bar charge. Since we never, ever use mini-bars, I was surprised. However the hotel gave me a refund.
• Breakfast, next to the pool, is VERY basic (but included); we tried it once then ate further down Collins Rd.
On balance, it worked for a couple of days, but I think I will go for a larger hotel with a more robust feel in future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hello Cordee,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you so much for taking your time to provide it to us! The location of the property is very central. We are within walking distance from all of the action. We offer our guests great amenities that includes the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm nightly. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of that! The construction is going to be over in about a month. I am sorry that you had to experience that. The city is doing work to better things for our neighborhood. We offer valet parking for $32 per night, but it is not mandatory. There are many lots and garages around the hotel, that you can also park at. I apologize that we made a mistake by charging you for the consumption of a mini bar item. Very glad that the hotel was able to refund the $10.00 charge!

Please come back and stay with us soon!

Have a great night!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

J at the bar was awesome, great drinks, great personality..... loved it, wish I was staying another night! He served up a little blue mixture with pineapple and coconut that by the end of the night literally everyone was drinking. Highly recommend! Thanks again j!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benfromiows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hello Benfromiows,

Your wonderful 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for sharing it with us and all of our future guests. The bartenders here are great and they are always ready to start the night off right for you! I will let J know of your kind praise! He is definitely a great asset to our team!
Please come back and visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We found the decor of the rooms and the hotel to be of a very high standard. Unfortunately, there were a number of issues that left us feeling so unsatisfied that we checked out 3 nights early. The decor of the room was nice, but the layout was poor: no place to unpack suitcases, insufficient closet space, the sink was in the middle of the room. We also found the in-room a/c unit to be very loud... (but not loud enough to drown out the constructions works which started at 7:30 every morning) The pool area is an oasis as advertised - but that means it has no sun at all. There is a sun deck up on the 4th floor but there are no other amenities on the sun deck. Wifi throughout the hotel was patchy at best. And while occasionally friendly, most of the staff came across as "bored". Overall - not a place where we will return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tyzer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Good Evening Tyzer007,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! We are very glad that you chose to share it with us! I am glad to read that you were content with the decor and personality of our hotel. I apolgoize that you experienced a number of issues while staying with us! We are a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit small. We didn't want to pack the room with a lot of furniture, so that it feels claustrophobic. The construction work is something that is completely out of our control. The city is making changes to make things better for our neighborhood. Thank you so much for your honest feedback!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Croydon
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,845 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#87 of 208 in Miami Beach
4,582 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#51 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
249 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,347 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Property: Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Address: 318 20th Street, Corner: 2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish Classic Rooms, Modern Balcony Rooms, as well as One-Bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing