We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #67 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Pluses and minuses at this hotel. The rooms are wonderfully spacious and location excellent - however, the service leaves a lot to be desired. Room service is weak, valet too expensive, the breakfast is horribly bland and way too expensive (one of the worst in a hotel of this kind), and the staff unorganized. Housekeeping kept calling every 30mins even though we'd put the Do Not Disturb sign.

Overall, it's okay if you're looking for space and as a family of 3 it suited our needs, but explore other options if you can.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Luciana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Luciana S, we would like to start off by expressing our appreciation for your review. At our property, we do count on the guests’ feedback, as it helps us improve and reach new levels of quality service. While we are happy the size of our rooms and the hotel’s beachfront location were to your satisfaction, we are sorry to read of the disappointing experience you have had in your encounters with staff members throughout the hotel. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we strive to deliver an efficient and detail oriented service rendered to guests with a smile. In this sense, it is with true regret that we learn that we have failed in meeting this service goal of ours in the duration of your visit. We will definitely follow up on your feedback internally. Going forward we will do our best to improve upon your comments regarding the variety of breakfast options and staff organization. Thank you once more for your review of the hotel and for sharing your experience. It is our sincere hope you would be willing to give our property another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,333)
There are newer reviews for Grand Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,689 - 1,695 of 5,333 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

If you travel a lot, you will not like this hotel. Besides the obvious flaws: disgustingly dirty carpet and rooms broken and abused by vacationing families, they claim a luxury experience. If you have stayed in a luxury hotel, you will find the claim laughable. Attention to detail lacking entirely. And forget about safety, I had at least three different restaurant flyers slipped under my door each night, implying random people roaming the halls. Food was over-priced for the quality. Expect cold food if you order hot room service items. Staff polite but uncaring or distant...Perhaps overworked? Hotel seemed understaffed and staffed by untrained newbies. Guessing high turnover. One good thing? Location.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Elizabeth H, we are glad you took the time to express your concerns with your recent stay. While it is nice you have found our beachfront location as a plus during your visit, it is distressing to know that we failed to meet even the most basic of your vacation expectations. We would like to offer our apologies for the impression you were given by our carpets. You can rest assured that all carpets at the hotel are regularly cleaned and shampooed. We furthermore place efforts to replace the entire carpeting of the property once a year. Given the fact that the carpeting and furniture onsite are white and beige in color makes them easily stained and it is sometimes difficult to remove these stains with treatment and shampooing; thus, causing this carpet outlook you have experienced. What we can assure all of our guests of is that the carpets are clean and regularly treated. On another note, we appreciate you sharing your concern of the flyers being distributed. This is an ongoing issue for the area and our management places continuous efforts to eliminate this from happening. We will make sure your feedback is directed to the management attention, so according preventive actions may be taken in this regard. We are truly sorry that your experience onsite was not as positive as we would like. In particular, the service you experienced seems well off of our normal levels of engagement and professionalism. We take our guests’ feedback seriously and we try to follow up to the best of our abilities. At our hotel, we strive to welcome all our guests with a friendly and detail oriented service and we apologize, if the service rendered to you was anything less than that. We are truly sorry for the experience you had during your visit with us and we very much hope that we can persuade you to consider trying us once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Grand Beach Hotel was a first class experience. Staff always ready to help us, the food is great, the gym offered great opportunities for training.
I will go back to this hotel whenever I go to Miami Beach, and I will recommend the hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeleFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear LeleFranco, thank you for your excellent feedback. We are always happy to learn when we have managed to deliver a five star experience to our guests. It is encouraging to know our staff members have met your needs and requests with a smile and ready-to-help attitude. Thank you for the positive comments you have shared regarding our food offerings; we are glad, they have been to your taste. We appreciate you joining us at the fitness center and are happy it provided the necessary environment for a good work-out during your vacation. We are glad to hear that you plan to return- we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here,room great ,two bathrooms ,large lounge and king size bed.Service good would definitely stay here again and recommend .
Location good straight onto beach,infinity pool superb especially with no children allowed!
Standard of cleanliness excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8806jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear 8806jamie, thank you for writing a review of the Grand Beach Hotel. We are pleased to learn of the excellent experience you have had onsite. It is wonderful that our standard king suite was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed the in-room amenities it had to offer. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we strive to serve all our guests in an attentive and helpful manner; thus, we are glad to read of your positive reinforcement of this aspect. Our property is indeed located directly on the beach allowing for a private beach access from the hotel. Thank you for joining us at the 7th floor adults only tranquility pool. We are glad it delivered the relaxing environment you required in the duration of your visit.
Your recommendation of our property to other travelers means a lot to us and we are thrilled to know you will be visiting us again in the future. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My friend and I stayed stayed here for one night before a Caribbean cruise.
! had researched it on T.A. and had seen mixed reviews. We decided to try it because of its excellent location right on miami Beach.
When we arrived we were offered a choice of rooms. The one I had booked had on queen bed and a pull out couch. We could have upgraded to a two bead from for $70.00 more.
As this room was already over $400.00 per night, we stuck with our first choice.
This hotel is a miss mash of beautiful views, unacceptable amenities, stained carpets and poor employee service.
Our room was large, with two baths, two televisions , and a gorgeous view of the beach. Lovely balcony too.
However, we were given old bathrobes, which were threadbare and contained holes. Had to call housekeeping to get new ones. The towels were thin and needed to be replaced.
Had lunch at Chez Gaston and waited forever for our lunch. It was there that a young female server called me sweetie. Really, is that the training you provide for your employees?So rude.
The lobby here is blah, with a horrible mural at check-in.
This property is also not at all close to South Beach. taxi fare to Sobe were from $14 to $22.
This hotel has extra charges for everything, including a $75.00 charge for early check-in.
They did wave that for us.
I will never return to this property. it has so much potential, but misses the boat.
By the way, we reported all of these comments to the employee at check out and asked for a partial refund. She said that she was unable to provide that service. I guess it costs extra.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katherineincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Katherineincanada, we are glad you took the time to express your concerns with your recent stay.
While we are happy you have chosen us as your accommodation, we are sorry to learn we have failed in meeting your expectations. Thank you for commenting so positively of our room accommodations and the spectacular views they have to offer from the room’s private balcony. It is nice to read you enjoyed the room’s spaciousness, two full bathrooms, and two televisions. Please accept our apologies for the condition of the bathrobes and towels you initially found within your suite. We are happy our housekeeping department reacted fast in replacing these for you. We are also very sorry for the delayed service in the restaurant and the unprofessional manner, in which you were addressed by one of our staff members. We can assure you that this does not correspond with our service protocols and training. We have contacted you in a private message requesting further details on this case, so we may follow up directly with the concerned employee and ensure this does not happen again in the future. We are sorry you were disappointed with some of the surcharges we apply. It is our hope you would be happy to hear that at our hotel, we do not charge a mandatory daily resort fee. And while the majority of amenities and services on property are complimentary, there are some amenities which require additional fee to use. Guests are however given the option to choose, which services they would like to use daily and are not forced into paying fixed daily fee for services they do not intend on using during their stay.
We apologize once again for not managing to live up to your expectations. We very much hope that we can persuade you to consider trying us once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The service here at the Hotel was better than I expected. The staff was exceptionally courteous. Especially one that stood out to me was the bellman, Fano. He was more than helpful when I needed assistance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Rozalie P, it means so much to us that we exceeded your expectations on your recent visit to property and thus managed to deliver a five-star experience to you. We are especially happy to know our staff went above and beyond in meeting your needs. Thank you for the kind words you have shared of Fano; he is truly a great asset to our team and we will ensure your excellent feedback reaches the entire staff at the hotel. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again next time you visit the Miami Beach area. Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can assist you when planning your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The place needs to be upgraded.

The staff isn't helpful - there was a mistake with our reservation which they corrected when we arrived, but then charged us for the extra night (as a "no show") when we checked out - which they didn't tell us about at check-in.

Stay elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Reckers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Reckers1, thank you for staying with us on your recent business trip to the area. We are very sorry to read of the disappointing experience you have had onsite due to a trouble with your booking. Unfortunately, your reservation was booked with an arrival date, which was a day earlier than the day you arrived; this was the reason behind the no show charge. Our front desk staff reviewed your confirmation and all the documents supporting your reservation; however, given the fact that neither of them confirmed your arrival date to be any different than the one we had in our system, we could not remove the no show charge. We would like to offer our apologies; if we failed at communicating these facts at the time of check-in. We are also genuinely sorry to read you will not be visiting us again due to the mistake with your booking. However, we do hope you would be willing to give our hotel another chance in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly when planning your next trip, so we may assist you with the booking process and ensure such misunderstandings don’t happen again; thus, allowing you to enjoy a seamless experience onsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.8 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#37 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,181 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#29 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,604 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
2.1 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $202 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing