We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All white” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #57 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“All white”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were a party of 8 adults and 5 kids staying in Florida for Christmas. We spent 2 nights at this hotel.
The hotel is located far away from Ocean Drive, so if you are looking to be in that area, this is absolutely not the hotel you should choose.
However if you are looking for a wonderful access to the beach and a great view on the ocean, this is absolutely the place you want to be in.
We had 2 regular suites and 1 penthouse suite. The regular suites are really good and roomy. We appreciated extremely the penthouse suite. We were 4 adults and 2 kids of 2 years old. The baby beds are great as those are real beds which I rarely experienced even in more expensive places.

The room was NOT available until 4 p.m. and we got the feeling that, no matter what, they would not give us the rooms earlier anyway.
The direct access to the beach is great and the 2 small swimming pools and the 2 very small jacuzzis are often crowded.
The breakfast at "Chez Gaston" was okay, for a price of 22$ per person I believe it to be worth the money if you are really hungry.
The downside, is the noise of the airconditioning.

All in all we had a good experience in this family friendly hotel. We would certainly return there if we would come back with children. However if we were to be amongst adults we would prefer a hotel closer to Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Zivana, we are always happy when travelers choose us as their accommodation when visiting the Miami Beach area. We are especially pleased to know you have chosen us for such special occasion as Christmas. We appreciate the kind feedback you had to share of our hotel and are glad that you have overall enjoyed the time spent onsite. We also consider our property’s location to be convenient for guests seeking direct beach access and breathtaking ocean views. Even though we are further away from South Beach, this area is still easily accessible from the Grand Beach Hotel via both taxi and public bus transportation. It is great the two standard suites and one penthouse suite you had booked were to your satisfaction and managed to meet your family’s needs. The official check-in time at the hotel and overall in Miami Beach is 4pm. We would like you to rest assured, however, that our front office team gladly accommodates guests earlier than 4pm as long as we have the booked suites ready and available. It is unfortunate you have found our first level family pool area to be more on the small side. We hope you have taken advantage of the beach area and the 7th floor adults pool as an alternative. Thank you for deciding to join us for our breakfast buffet at Chez Gaston. We are glad it has been to your taste. It has been our sincere pleasure to serve you and your family during your most recent visit and we are thrilled to learn you are willing to return in the future. We will look forward to welcoming you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,150
    1,752
    524
    221
    193
See reviews for
2,088
1,482
90
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in 3 bedded room with our 20 year old daughter. Although the carpet was stained throughout it did not put us off! It is a good size overall.
The 2 family sized pools are not adequate for all guests to sit around. We looked at the adult only pool to be told by a member of staff/pool attendant that the pool was for adults only. So even though my daughter is an adult she is not allowed to lay by the pool with us. The member of staff laughed when we told him our daughter was 20. He thought she looked only 15!! Ridiculous rules for a hotel that does not provide adequate pool facilities. The beach is great but I am annoyed to paid $30 extra per day to sit in the sun. Breakfast facilities are understaffed (I admire the two ladies that work tirelessly to serve the guests). There isn't enough tables/chairs for guests to eat their breakfast/coffees/snacks. The tables that become available are stacked high with leftover food from previous diners. Need more staff to clear leftover food away. We dined at Chez Gaston. Many people were complaining to the head waiter re length of time waiting for food. Many of our 18% service charges go

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueW45_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear SueW45_45, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
It is distressing to know that we failed in meeting your expectations. While we are glad the spaciousness of our room accommodation was to your satisfaction, we are concerned with your overall experience on property. In particular, the service you experienced seems well off of our normal levels of engagement and professionalism. It is unfortunate, you were let down by our pool areas. The 7th floor tranquility pool is indeed limited to adults above the age of 21 and we hope you would understand our strive to strictly abide by this policy. Since our hotel does not charge guests a mandatory daily resort fee, there are some amenities onsite, which are paid for additionally. One of these services is the beach chair and umbrella rentals. While we do offer the beach chair and umbrella rentals as an additional service to contribute comfort to our guests when they spent time on the beach, the use of the beach chairs and umbrellas are in no way a pre-requisite for the use of the beach area by guests of the hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the delay in service at the restaurant upon breakfast. That is not keeping with the service standard at our property. We will definitely follow up on your feedback in this regard and ensure this happening does not repeat in the future. At our operation we do value our guests’ feedback and use it to improve the overall guest experience. In this sense, we would like you to rest assured that your comments will be attended to. Our hope is that you would give us the chance to change your perception of our property and would like to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Please don't go here if you like sports. The lady who presented here self as the front desk manager a columbian lady screamed against us for the fact that we played soccer on a grass pitch from the hotel. We tried to explain her that her fellow employees from the front desk sent us to this pitch, because it was a good place to play, instead of listening to our story she screamed that she was not interested in my story and told me 'she would call the police if we continued'
I visited a lot of hotels from different stars, but never faced a representative from a hotel, which screamed to me and told me that she was not interested in the story.
unbelievable!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomfres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Thomfres, thank you for reviewing your stay with us. While we are very sorry that your experience was not as positive as we would like, we appreciate your comments as they assist us when reviewing the improvement we can make to our service and product going forward. We understand your willingness to practice soccer during your visit to our hotel; however, the 7th floor Ocean Terrace is not an appropriate area for such activity; the main reason behind that is the hazard it causes for other guests and visitors due to its openness and the opportunity that leaves for the soccer ball to fall outside of the Ocean Terrace and eventually harm one of our guests. We hope you would agree that the beach area, accessible directly from hotel premises, is much more suitable for this activity. Furthermore, we are certain that our concierge could have assisted in finding designated soccer fields in the Miami Beach area you could use to practice. We would like to take the time and offer our sincerest apology, if we failed in providing this explanation to you in the polite manner we strive for at the hotel. We also apologize if you were misled by one of our colleagues; however, we do hope you would understand that the occurred situation was the result of our management’s strive to maintain safe and secure environment for all guests of the hotel and that our management’s intention was in no way to disturb or disrespect you as one of our valuable guests.
We very much hope that we can persuade you to consider trying us once more, as it would be our pleasure to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile


Recently returned from a 6 night stay at The Grand Beach Hotel. The staff were amazingly calm when 10 of us needed to check in, with last minute changes, of course. Room service was prompt and the burger and fires arrived before the 20 minute estimate and were hot! Ivan at the bar, was the most congenial out of all the staff, giving him a high five. Each day he would greet us, enter into conversation and made us feel so welcomed. His days off were noticeable and we all missed his smile and kindness. The serene decor in the lobby was carried to the rooms, the beds and pillows were amazing and we can't wait to return. The only downside, of our entire experience, was even though the hotel has free wi-fi, it did not work well or at all our entire stay and we were all on different floors.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BostonReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear BostonReb, thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are happy you have chosen us as your Miami Beach accommodation on your recent business trip to the area. It is great to learn we have managed to live up to your expectations by securing a seamless check-in, prompt room service, and excellent customer service. We appreciate the kind words you have shared of Ivan. He is truly a great asset to our team and we are proud he has contributed to your wonderful experience on property with his positive service attitude. Please accept our apologies for the problem you have experienced with your in-room internet connection. We will make sure to follow up on your feedback. Even though we offer our WiFi service complimentary, we do strive to maintain its good working quality, so guests may take advantage of it. We appreciate your feedback and business and are glad you had a nice time onsite. It is our hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed three nights here last week for Art Basel and some business meetings. First time for me at this property, and it really delivered. Every staff person we interacted with, from valet attendants to cleaning staff, was personable and attentive. Our room faced the Atlantic, with views all up and down Miami's golden beach. When we requested our car be brought around it was always there waiting for us when we came out the front door. Location is within walking distance of the Fontainebleau and Eden Roc, so there are plenty of dining options in addition to the Grand. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Msevers, thank you for choosing Grand Beach Hotel as your room accommodation over the Art Basel Miami Beach. We are glad to hear we managed to live up to your expectations when it comes to service and amenities at the hotel. It is especially thrilling to read of the nice interactions you have had with staff members throughout the property. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we truly value our performance in this aspect and always strive to deliver the best customer experience possible. We could not agree more with you when it comes to the description of our oceanfront king suites and the breathtaking frontal ocean views they have to offer guests. It is great our beachfront location and its easy access to nearby dining options have proved convenient in the duration of your Miami Beach visit. Thank you once again for the wonderful feedback. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a partial ocean view room which was amazing. Super clean and spacious. Loved the layout. Staff all very nice and helpful, delicious room service, great valet service, fab pool area and nice warm pool water!

Our only criticism is that there isn't a microwave in the room or at least one to request for those with young children so you can heat baby food/milk. We had to fill the ice bucket with hot tap water to heat everything which was a hassle.

This was our 4th stay in Miami and each time we have stayed somewhere different as we weren't entirely happy….until now! We will definitely be returning to Grand Beach Hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank charlotte1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Charlotte1uk, we appreciate your review and are grateful for the top traveler rating you have given the Grand Beach Hotel. We are pleased to read of the satisfying experience you have had onsite and are thrilled to know you have managed to find your favorite Miami Beach hotel in the face of our property. Thank you for sharing such positive comments regarding our partial ocean view suites. Your feedback on the level of cleanliness means a lot to us as well, because the all-white décor can prove challenging at times and because we do place great efforts to maintain a flawless looking guest rooms and public spaces. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced due to the unavailability of a microwave within the suites. We do appreciate your suggestion and we would direct it to the attention of our management team for consideration. We are glad to hear that you plan to return- we are eager to greet you back on your next visit to property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for five days and had a ball! I loved that it was away from the hustle of the Strip, but still close enough to reach by cab. It is amazing to see a city so iscolated by water. Hotel itself, very clean and very classy! Our room was amazing!! Ocean front, with ceiling to floor windows along two walls of the room, high ceilings and amazing views of the beach. Delicious room service (pepperoni pizza) and great service. A personal highlight was the Tranquility Pool and Spa. Hiring umbrellas was a bit pricy, but definitely worth it as having a reserved spot in the sun to come to when we felt like it was so handy. Chez Gaston meals were amazing! But my personal highlight was the Sunset Bar, with their frozen pina coladas, which I was addicted to. Thankyou to Hynton, our bartender who we chatted to on our last day in Miami, great staff and a nice guy all around. Thanks GBH for a great stay, can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Corner ocean view suite was fantastic, cool with high ceilings is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Mara B, thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Grand Beach Hotel. We are thrilled to learn of the wonderful visit to Miami Beach you were able to experience. It is wonderful our beachfront location has proved convenient to you and your partner. We also seem to agree with you on the advantage of our hotel’s location- further away from the South Beach hustle and bustle, yet close enough to reach fast and easy when desired. We would like to congratulate you on your choice of room accommodation, as the king oceanfront suites we offer on property are one of the best suites we have at the hotel. Not only due to their spectacular frontal ocean and beach views complimented by floor to ceiling windows and a private balcony, but because of their speciousness and the comfort of two full bathrooms within the suite as well. Thank you for joining us in our food and beverage outlets. We could not be happier to learn that we have managed to meet your preferences at a reasonable price point. We appreciate the kind words you had to share of our Sunset Bar bartender- Hynton. We will make sure your great feedback reaches him and the rest of our team. We are so very happy to have managed to deliver a memorable experience to you and your partner. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#34 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Hotel
Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing