We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 1st trip to Miami”
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #62 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic 1st trip to Miami”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Grand Beach personell are friendly, hard working and helpful.
Jorge Rodriguez and the rest of the valet crew are quick, dependable, witty and very helpful.They have gone above and beyond what is necessary with directions and suggestions for the Miami area. Good as the concierge.

Room Tip: 15th floor had a bay and ocean view. Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Pete D, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are pleased to learn of the wonderful interactions you have had with our staff members throughout the hotel. We appreciate the kind words you had to share of our valet parking and concierge staff as a whole, and Jorge Rodriguez in particular. We feel encouraged to know we are managing to deliver the satisfying and attentive guest experience we strive to provide for all our guests. We are glad to hear that you plan to return and we cannot wait to greet you back on your next visit to property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,283
    1,854
    577
    241
    211
See reviews for
2,252
1,572
95
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My fiance and I were looking for a romantic getaway on Miami Beach. As it was peak tourist season most other luxury hotels on the beach were looking for $400+/night which I wasn't really looking to spend. We found this gem on a travel site for half the price and decided to give it a shot. What a find! from the moment we pulled up to the valet we felt like VIPs. The staff was outstanding! Our suite on the 19th floor was incredible and had outstanding views of the beach, intracoastal, and the Miami skyline. The suite itself has a nice sitting area with a wet bar, two very modern bathrooms (one full one half) and a bedroom area with two mirrored closets and a sliding door leading to a balcony. We left our sliding door open that night and enjoyed listening to the sound of waves on the beach. As it is on the northern end of Miami Beach its fairly easy to access I-95 and the Ft. Lauderdale airport. My only complaint was that breakfast for one (bagel, eggs, and coffee) was $35 which is asinine but I can let that go in lieu of everything else. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Pmat15, we are always happy when travelers choose to stay at our hotel; but what makes us even happier is to learn that we have managed to exceed our guests’ expectations and deliver a five star experience. It is wonderful you were well welcomed and astonished by the hotel grounds. We are glad our room accommodations and the outstanding views of both the ocean and the Miami skyline they have to offer were to your satisfaction. It is great you enjoyed the in-room features, such as the two bathrooms, sitting area, and wet bar. We could not agree more with you when it comes to our property’s beachfront location. It does not only allow guests to enjoy a direct beach access from hotel premises, but it provides an easy access to the area attractions and airports.
Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The pictures of this hotel online are beautiful...and probably 10 years old. It has an expansive lobby with lot's of marble, but is desperate for a renovation. Hallways are nicely little but a little faded. We happened to have a great room though--an ocean view king suite. I would HIGHLY recommend splurging and getting this, as it made up for everything else...almost. Our room was huge and well-appointed with a sitting area, two works surfaces, a wet bar, two tvs and two closets. The bed was modern and comfortable. What makes this room...and this hotel worth it is the view and the generous balcony--gorgeous sweeping view of the ocean with the sounds of waves crashing on the beach. Have breakfast out there was the perfect way to start the day. Service at the hotel is very polite but inconsistent. Room service was decent--not frills but some of the food was fantastic--not much for presentation though...sort of like the lobby. Still I'd cautiously recommend it--especially for the price.

Room Tip: Splurge on ocean facing room and request one on highest floors for the view. A corner such as 1834 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Jamesk, thank you for choosing us as your accommodation on your recent trip to Miami Beach.
While we are thrilled to learn of your satisfaction with our oceanfront king suite, we are sorry for failing to meet your expectations in the aspect of public areas outlook. We must agree with you that our oceanfront king suites are worth the extra cost due to their spaciousness, private balconies, and spectacular frontal views of the Miami Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. We are glad you had nice interactions with our team members and going forward we shall strive to make our service as consistent as possible to further improve the guest experience onsite. Thank you for taking advantage of our 24-hour room service offering; it is wonderful, you enjoyed it at your private balcony overlooking the ocean, as that surely makes up for a great experience. We would like to take the time and apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding our public areas outlook. We take your feedback in this regard seriously and we shall ensure your comments reach our housekeeping department for follow up. In this sense, we would like to advise you that our property was newly built in 2009 and that the pictures listed on our website are dated to 2009 and 2010. For review of the most recent hotel pictures we may encourage you to visit our TripAdvisor page or any of our Social Media Networks.
We are grateful for the recommendation you have extended of our property to other travelers. And we would like to take the time and invite you to visit us again next time you travel to the Miami Beach area. We would love having the opportunity to make your opinion of our property even more favorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Well, the major draws are all A+: beach with chairs and chaises, towel service, bar and restaurant service to the beach, nice pool and hot tubs.
The hotel is beautiful and the our room, a king, is spacious and airy with floor to ceiling views of the ocean and a balcony. Everything major is well done.

The devil, however, is in a few of the details. The mirror in our bathroom is cracked majorly under the sink. Nothing you notice immediately, but sticks out if you happen to be blow drying your hair. The drain for the bathtub seals just fine, but it is an odd, clunky piece that prevents the shower from draining unless you take it out, revealing that it probably isn't actualy for this tub. 18% gratuity is included in all food at the dining room and I was annoyed that we couldn't call down an order when we were tight on time one morning (apparently room service and the restaurant are blah, blah, blah). The food is ungodly expenaive of course, and our waiter had neither the easy smarts of a diner waitress, nor the good service of a high end waiter (he was the kind that wanted to have a long boring conversation about what we were ordering "2 eggs, you said? Toast? That's a side dish. You want a side of toast?..." The valets didn't answer when we called for our car but when we got down there there were three of them (this is fairly typical but annoying).

The hotel isn't in the sexy part of north Beach, but it is in a perfectly fine location and certainly has everthing I needed to relax and enjoy myself. Not enough "wow" for me to say OMG I'll be back- but definitely more than enough to say, "thank goodness I get to be here".

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skidmore212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Skidmore212, we appreciate you sharing your recent experience at our property with the TripAdvisor community.
It is wonderful to learn that our amenities, services, public spaces, and room accommodation managed to live up to your expectations and make for a pleasant experience at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time express your concern regarding some of the details during your visit. We appreciate you pointing out some small deficiencies you noticed within your room’s bathroom. We would contact you directly to further inquire on your room number, so we can have our engineering department follow up on your feedback immediately. We are very sorry you have been disappointed by the 18% added gratuity to food and beverage offerings onsite; however, our hotel is visited by many foreign travelers, who are not necessarily acquainted with the gratuity standards within the US. We do however value the comments you have shared regarding your experience in our food and beverage and valet outlets and we would definitely follow up on your feedback and strive to improve in these aspects of the guest experience. We do agree with your comments regarding our hotel’s beachfront location. It does indeed provide the perfect spot for a relaxing beach vacation, with an easy access to the South Beach area.
We would like to thank you once again for your review. We sincerely wish we had delivered an even better and more pleasant experience to you during your most recent stay with us. We do hope you shall give us another chance in the future to perform even better and provide you with the excellent guest experience we are capable of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Grand Hotel states affordable luxury. They are half right. It's mostly affordable but you get what you pay for. We had a nice bay view. It was quiet. The lobby is nice. However, it isn't luxury. Service was slow; phone didn't work, carpet was stained, pillows were foam, not feather. It took us two requests to get extra towels. Not terribly clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Richard P, thank you for taking time out of your day to give us your opinion on your most recent stay here at Grand Beach Hotel.
We are glad to know we have managed to meet your expectations for affordability; however, we find it distressing to learn our onsite amenities and services left something to be desired in the aspect of luxury. We appreciate you sharing the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay, so we may follow up upon them and ensure an improved guest experience going forward. It is our hope that the issues you have mentioned did not prevent you from enjoying an overall satisfying visit to Miami Beach. We are looking forward to the opportunity of greeting you back onsite and delivering to you the excellent experience we intend for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The all white decor is beautiful, and they do a great job keeping up with the cleaning demands of the pure white! And the rooms were unbelievably comfortable. Areas of improvement are the quality of the food in the hotels' only restaurant (very pricey, and 'blah'); and the service was lack luster. We asked for towels 4 times, from when we checked in, to the next morning (12 hours later) and received nothing. When my husband went downstairs to ask the front desk for towels, and said that he was going to wait there for them, the woman replied very sternly "Sir, we don't have towels here, and I'm not going to go look for any for you."
WOW. Unacceptable behavior from a front line service representative.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Laura L, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience during your stay.
We are grateful for the encouraging feedback you have shared regarding our housekeeping department’s successful efforts to maintain a flawless room outlook for all our guests. It is wonderful the room itself managed to live up to your expectations for comfort. At our property, it is our top priority to deliver a helpful and detail oriented service; in this sense, we appreciate the feedback and comments you have shared regarding your encounters with staff members and the efficiency of service in some aspects of your stay. We sincerely apologize for failing to deliver the requested towels and are especially sorry for the response you received from one of our front office agents. We would like to advise you that our front office and housekeeping departments have been notified of your comments. We shall follow up on our internal procedures to ensure promptness and politeness are present in the future handling of such guest requests.
We are grateful for your feedback; it is important to us, because it helps us grow and reach new levels of quality service. It would be our pleasure if you decide to join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The design of the hotel is beautiful, the staff is super nice, the service is great, it is right on the beach and the beds are amazing. What more can you ask for? The food is not the best, and it's a bit pricy, but I have been here twice, and love it!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator, and even floors have ice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OdaEmilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear OdaEmilie, thank you for being a repeat guest of the Grand Beach Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty and the wonderful feedback you had to share regarding your experience onsite. We are glad to hear our room accommodations, beachfront location, and comfortable bedding were to your satisfaction. We are pleased with your positive comments regarding our staff service attitude, because it is our strive to welcome all our guests in a hospitable manner. It is unfortunate we have not quite met your preferences when it comes to our food and beverage offerings. We could encourage you to take advantage of our concierge desk service, as our knowledgeable concierges would be happy to recommend dining options, which will better meet your taste preferences.
Thank you for continuing to choose us as your Miami Beach accommodation. We are looking forward to your future stay onsite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.8 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,014 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,187 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
2.5 mi away
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Hotel
Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing