We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the family!”
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #67 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved this hotel in Miami. We were only staying there for two nights but wished we were there for longer. The pool area was lovely with a very short walk to the beach. The rooms were very spacious and well laid out. There were actually two bathrooms there which was great for the four of us sharing a room. One had a bath/shower, the other one just had a shower. We had a partial sea view which was fine. We could see the sea and the pool next door. We really didn't spend too much time there as we liked sitting in the foyer watching the world go by. The only complaint would be that the drinks from the little bar in the foyer were very expensive and you wouldn't be having too many of them. We had breakfast there the second day and it was gorgeous. It was a buffet and well worth it. There was a huge assortment to suit everyones taste! We were full for the day after it! The hotel was a bit away from the shopping and the centre of Miami but taxis were not too expensive and easy to get. The staff are very helpful and very friendly. The concierge was extremely helpful to us! All in all a great hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Partial view rooms are fine but if you want the treat ask for a beach view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MURZO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear MURZO7, thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us your opinion on your most recent stay at the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are thrilled with the top traveler rating you have extended of our property. It is great to learn that our spacious room accommodation has managed to provide you with the comfort you required during your visit. We are happy you have enjoyed the partial ocean view, which opens up from the room’s private balcony, but must also agree with you that the direct ocean front room view is worth booking. We would like to thank you for joining us at our morning buffet for breakfast. It is pleasing our breakfast buffet offering has been to your taste and has offered additional value to you. We find it rewarding to read of the wonderful feedback you have shared of our staff’s service attitude; especially because we place efforts on a daily basis to encourage excellent customer service for all our guests. While we are happy to hear you have enjoyed the direct beach access available from hotel premises, we are sorry you have not found too many activities in the area. Please feel free to visit our online area guide prior to your next trip to Miami Beach, so you may experience an even more joyful and memorable vacation onsite http://tinyurl.com/k74f7n4
Thank you once again for sharing your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon for a longer stay onsite of Grand Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,327)
There are newer reviews for Grand Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,810 - 1,816 of 5,327 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is off the beaten path of downtown Miami but close enough to all the shops and restaurants (you can walk, take the bus, or get a relatively inexpensive cab). The hotel is decorated in white - which is nice and modern but difficult to keep clean. Because all the lobby furniture was white, it looked a bit worn. The layout of our room was wonderful, with 2 full bathrooms and plenty of space (including a nice patio). The room was clean, except for the carpets, which were white and very stained. You can walk right to the beach from the lobby. The beach is wide, not too crowded, and the water is crystal clear. They charge you for umbrellas and chairs, but we bought our own from Walgreens and they worked just fine. The pool area (both on the main level and upstairs) is nice but was a bit crowded with kids during our stay. My only real complaint would be the carpets and the limited dining options at the hotel. They did always have water with fruit out for guests, which was a nice touch!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Katie M, we are glad you took the time to review our property as a result of your recent stay onsite.
You are absolutely correct in regards to our location. Grand Beach Hotel is indeed located further north from South Beach; however, its location provides direct beach access from hotel premises and an easy access to the action of South Beach. It is great to read you have enjoyed your suite, the spaciousness it offers and the comfort its two full bathrooms and private balcony deliver to guests. We are glad you enjoyed the time spent at both the beach and pool areas available on property. If you are seeking a more quiet and relaxing time by the pool, we would definitely recommend you to visit the 7th floor tranquility pool which is limited to adults above the age of 21. We appreciate the positive comment you have had to share about the fruit flavored water we place in the lobby area and are happy it has made your stay more pleasant. Please accept our apology, if we have failed at meeting your expectations for cleanliness. As you have mentioned the all white décor on property is challenging to maintain; however, we would like you to rest assured that all suites and public spaces on property are cleaned and treated on a regular basis and that any visible flaws on the carpets are from stains, which have been treated but are impossible to take out. In this sense, we hope you would be happy to learn that we replace the carpets onsite every year to help ensure the flawless outlook of our room accommodations. We do hope this has not affected your decision to choose us again in the future. Thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back onsite soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A beautiful hotel, away from the SoBe noise. We were there for three nights and enjoyed everything! If you can afford it do yourself a favor and stay in an oceanfront room, you won't regret it! Thanks Grand Beach!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Vladotc, we appreciate the top traveler rating you have extended to our property in your review as a result of your recent stay with us.
We are glad you have enjoyed our beachfront property allowing for direct beach access from hotel premises. We are indeed located further north from South Beach, which allows for a quiet and relaxing stay on the beach with an easy access to the action SoBe offers, when desired. It is great we have managed to live up to your expectations and meet all of your needs during your visit. We appreciate the recommendation you have extended of our property to other travelers.
It has been our pleasure to serve you during your recent visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, with a good location and awesome view of the ocean. I have stayed there twice and would definetely stay again. The only bad thing was that they did not allow us to add an extra bag to the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Carolykm, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience during your stay.
At the Grand Beach Hotel, it is our top priority to serve all our guests in an attentive and hospitable manner; thus, we are happy to learn of the positive experience that you have had with staff members on property. It is great our location has proved convenient due to its proximity to the beach and the area attractions. We are glad the beautiful ocean view, which opens up from the room’s private balcony has made your stay even more joyful.
Thank you for being a repeat guest of ours. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Beautiful, Peaceful, Relaxing, and Family Friendly! Just a few words to describe The Grand Beach Hotel. This is the second year I spend my 4th of July week in the Grand Beach Hotel and both times I had an unforgettable experience. The amenities were lovely 3 pools, 4 hot tubs, and a few steps away from the beach. The employees were very courteous and polite and always willing to help their guests. I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice vacation in Miami Beach. I will definetly book my next stay in Miami Beach with Grand Beach Hotel. Looking forward to visiting their new location that will open soon on Surfside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodriguez J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Rodriguez J, thank you for choosing the Grand Beach Hotel as your Miami Beach accommodation for a second year in a row. We are grateful for the top traveler rating you have given our property after your recent second stay with us.
We are pleased to have managed to deliver an exceptional experience to you and your family for the second time. It is great to know our amenities and services have met your expectations for a relaxing and peaceful family summer vacation once again. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we strive to encourage a “can-do” service attitude among our team members; thus, it is rewarding to learn of the positive encounters you have experienced with staff members throughout the hotel.
Thank you for extending a recommendation of the Grand Beach Hotel to other travelers. We are lucky to have won your loyalty and commit to deliver the same memorable experience to you and your family next time you stay with us at either one of our properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Spent two nights in this large hotel, located on the beach in the northern part of Miami beach. Initial welcome from the Valet team and front desk was excellent. We had a great room with a sea view, but needed to get the third bed made up in the room. We phoned housekeeping three times, got three different people - the first two of which could not understand English. The third person bought up a spare mattress, which really helped, because without this the bed would have been impossibly uncomfortable. So bad mark for housekeeping. The room had two phones which worked intermittently - reported to the hotel who promised to fix this but nothing happened. Friends we met had the same problem with the phone in their room, so perhaps it's a bigger issue? The wifi is so weak my son had to go and sit in the corridor under the wifi transmitter to get sufficient connection for his phone to work. On the second morning we had breakfast in the restaurant - my food was cold so I returned it. It came out again - the eggs were hot but everything else was cold! Whilst this was removed from the bill, it was extremely poor service / quality that you do not expect in a 4 star hotel (and I was left hungry!). The aircon in our room was too noisy to sleep with it on, which meant we woke up in a very hot and humid room. Very often this seems to be the case, so I don't blame the Grand exclusively for this, but quiet aircon exists so it's not an insurmountable problem......
We were there in the "quiet" season and yet there were never enough beds around the pool, and those on the beach were very expensive.
The staff were friendly on the front desk, bars, around the pool and concierge / valet. The room we had was large, well equipped, clean and with a wonderful view, but we came away a bit disappointed with our experience

Room Tip: The sea view is worth it, and even more spectacular the higher you go
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Ian H, we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review as a result of your recent stay with us.
We are glad to see you have overall enjoyed the spacious, well equipped, and clean room accommodation with beautiful view of the sea our property has had to offer during your visit. It is also great to learn that the majority of the staff members, with whom you had an encounter onsite, met your service standards. We would like to assure you that delivering an efficient and friendly customer service is a priority for us at the Grand Beach Hotel. In this regard, we would like to extend our apology for failing to fulfill some of your requests during your stay in a timely manner. We value the feedback you have extended as it is crucial to the success of our operation; therefore, we will forward your comments to our housekeeping, restaurant, and IT personnel, so measures may be taken in reference with the issues you have pointed out and neither you nor any of our other guests experiences the same inconvenience again in the future. The first level family pool does tend to get busy at times; therefore, we recommend guests to take advantage of the 7th floor adults pool area or the beach, accessible directly from hotel premises. It is unfortunate, you have found the beach chair and umbrella rentals to be more on the expensive side; however, they are in no way a prerequisite for guests to use the beach area available directly in front of the hotel.
While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback such as the one you have extended that we learn from and use to improve. We would appreciate it if you would give us the chance to change your perception of our property and would like to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed there in Aug 2013 for 4 days and had a good stay. The staff was good as well as the front desk people. They looked for a suite with a balcony as not all come with one. Location is excellent right on the beach. Food is just average. They add 18% gratuity to everything you purchase because there are a lot of Foreigners who don't tip. I would stay there again and I don't give out reccomendations easily.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marty359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Marty359, we are glad you have chosen the Grand Beach Hotel as your accommodation during your recent visit to Miami Beach.
We could not be happier to read that our staff service attitude lived up to your expectations. In this regard, greeting all our guests in a welcoming and attentive manner is a top priority for us and we are glad to hear you have experienced just that in your encounters with team members onsite. We hope you would be happy to learn that the majority of suites on property come with a private balcony, so in most cases our front office staff is able to fulfill such guest requests. It is great our beachfront location allowing for direct beach access from hotel premises has proved convenient for you during your visit. You are absolutely correct when it comes to the reasoning for the 18% gratuity, which is added to food and beverage transactions made on property. Our hotel is indeed visited by guests from many different countries, who are not necessarily acquainted with the gratuity standards in the U.S. We are happy this has not affected your decision and you would be staying with us again.
We appreciate the recommendation you have extended of our property to other travelers. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back onsite in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.8 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#35 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,276 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
2.1 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $201 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing