We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice location, extra-friendly staff across the board!”
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #59 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice location, extra-friendly staff across the board!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The most impressive thing about this hotel is the staff which was always friendly and courteous, and always went the extra mile with a smile. Ksenia presides with a smile over a great breakfast room serving staff - Stephanie, for example, went back to the kitchen on three separate occasions during one breakfast to dig up whatever it was that we wanted and was not readily available. The housekeeping staff provided all the extra towels we asked for; the valet staff always had our car out front on time after we called for it.

The room was nice and clean. We were on the 15th floor facing south with a "partial ocean view"; but the room was close to the beach so that we really got a great view of the ocean and the beach and, in addition, from the balcony we could see west all the way to downtown Miami.

One minor problem was that the WiFi network would disconnect me periodically, so that I had to find it again, select it, and log on from scratch. A minor annoyance, but one that should be remedied.

Another minor problem was that we had a connecting door to the neighboring room, and could hear the kids (and the adults, for that matter) a little bit too much. Some more sound insulation on the connecting doors would be welcome.

But all in all, definitely a place to enjoy and come back to.

Room Tip: Go for "partial ocean view" facing south, high floor, as close to the beach end of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zvi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Zvi D, thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at the Grand Beach Hotel.
Creating a hospitable environment and encouraging attentive and detail oriented staff service attitude is truly what we strive to provide to all our guests on property. It is, therefore, very rewarding to read of your joyful encounters with staff members throughout the hotel. Thank you for your wonderful feedback of Ksenia and Stephanie. We could not agree more that they are a great asset to our team. We are glad their “above and beyond” service attitude, as well as the efficiency of our housekeeping and valet staff has made your stay with us even better. We are very glad our partial ocean view room accommodation has lived up to your expectations in providing you with a beautiful view of both the ocean and downtown Miami. We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the WiFi and the isolation of the connecting door within your suite. As much as we wish you had not experienced those minor disturbances during your visit on property, we appreciate you sharing them with us, so we may follow up on them internally with the concerned departments and do our best to improve upon your comments. Currently, the WiFi access is set-up to log off users automatically due to inactivity of a certain time period, in order to provide better and more reliable connectivity to active users at the time. We would do our best to deliver a better experience in those aspects of your stay next time you visit us. Thank you again for your review and please join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,263
    1,835
    562
    232
    207
See reviews for
2,214
1,555
94
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here four four days. The hotel is very nice overall. Our room was nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable. We had a great balcony with a nice view of the ocean and the inter-coastal. The lobby is bustling, but everyone was friendly and seemed to be enjoying themselves. The valet parking was very busy. A few times we had to wait in line upon coming into the hotel, but we called ahead whenever we were going out and we never had to wait for our car to leave. The valet staff was always hustling.

The location of this hotel is great. You are away from the SouthBeach crowds, but you can get there in ten minutes if you want. There are also restaurants a few minutes to the north in the 71st street area.

Everyone on the staff was friendly, the elevators were fast, and the housekeeping staff was very efficient and check in/ out were painless.

The pools at this hotel were very nice but crowded. We were never able to get chairs at the main pools and were only able to get chairs at the adult pool late in a day that was overcast. Only one of the two hot tubs up there was hot, so that one was crowded.

My main criticism of this hotel is of the beach accommodations. You have to pay $10 per chair and umbrella. I understand that is the way it is at most places. However, the cushions on most of these chairs were stained and grungy. The same goes for the towels. One day I had to return the towel that the attendant had draped over my chair because it had a large stain on it- something he should have noticed. If I am paying for a chair it should be clean, and the beach, pool and even the room towels need an upgrade.

Other than that issue we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MeggygNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear MeggygNJ, thank you for choosing the Grand Beach Hotel on your recent visit to Miami Beach.
We are happy to read that you have had an overall joyful and satisfying experience at our hotel and would recommend our property to others. We appreciate the great feedback you have extended of our room accommodations and the onsite staff service attitude. We could not agree more with you regarding your opinion of our beachfront location, as it does provide for a great, relaxing beach vacation with an easy and fast access to the action of South Beach when desired. Thank you for sharing with us the issue you have noticed at one of the hot tubs at the adults pool, we will definitely notify our engineering department immediately so they may inspect and correct the problem in a timely manner. The beach chair rentals are indeed an additional service we offer on property. Typically, other hotels that offer complimentary beach chairs & umbrella rentals do this because in addition to their standard rates, they charge a resort fee as well. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we do not charge a resort fee, because not all guests plan to use the beach chairs & umbrella rentals, etc. thus they should not be automatically charged for it. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the freedom of choosing the services they would like to use, as opposed to enforcing fixed, daily fees. We do however understand your concern regarding the towel service. We have directed your comment to the attention of our housekeeping department for follow up.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

From the minute we pulled in, we knew this hotel was a mistake - valet didn't notice us at all. We had to wave our arms above our head to be noticed. The concierge had an attitude!! Not helpful about restaurants. This hotel is far from South Beach & any restaurants (besides ones in other hotels). The hallway carpeting was absolutely filthy (10th floor) - we've never seen anything like this before. We had an oceanfront room, but it was bad. The furniture was cheap & marked up. The walls & floor boards were also marked up!! The glass on sliding glass door had handprints....yuck! The carpeting in the room was NASTY! It was very dirty & stained. There was a large brown stain on the carpet - coffee or something else?!?! Also, we got a non-smoking room, but our neighbors smoked out on the balcony. One more thing...the walkway to the beach needs maintenance & the beach showers were junk. Very disappointed overall. Would never recommend or stay there again. I have photos, but don't want to gross anyone out!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mauidog_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mauidog_12, we are glad you took the time to express your concerns with your recent stay on property.
First, we would like to thank you for your feedback. While it is our strive to provide all our guests with a pleasant onsite experience, it is feedback such as yours that we learn from and use to improve. We take your feedback regarding the service experience you have had with our valet and concierge desk staff seriously as it does not comply with our hotel’s service standards and we will definitely bring it to the attention of our front office management for follow up. We would like to ask you to accept our apology regarding the cleanliness level in your room. We assure you that our housekeeping department takes the necessary time and effort to maintain a flawless outlook throughout the entire property. In this sense, we do shampoo and treat all room carpets regularly and because some stains are impossible to remove from the all-white in room décor, we do take the time to replace all carpets on property almost every year. We are very concerned with your feedback regarding the cleanliness level in your room as it contradicts completely to the standards we are trying to maintain; therefore, we would contact you personally via a private message on TripAdvisor and ask you for the opportunity to further elaborate on this issue. If you prefer, you may also contact us directly at mpetrov@grandbeachhotel.com and share your room number with us, so we may provide it to our housekeeping department and they may proceed with a thorough inspection of this room, so neither you nor any other guests would have the same experience. We do advise all guests accommodated in a non-smoking room upon check-in that smoking is not permitted in the room or on the balcony. We do honor this policy strictly on property and our front office managers are very quick and responsive should they receive a guest complaint in this regard. We appreciate your feedback regarding the beach showers and walkway. We will notify the appropriate department on property, so they may inspect both areas and ensure their proper functionality and outlook going forward. We do wish you had notified us of these issues, while you were still on property, so our staff members had the chance to take the necessary actions and improve your experience at our hotel in a timely manner, allowing you to enjoy the reminder of your stay without the disturbance of these issues.
Thank you once again for the extended feedback. We sincerely appreciate it, as it helps us improve the guest experience. We do hope you would be willing to give us a chance to earn back your trust and change your perception of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a room with frontal oceanview and I must admit, it was as in a dream. We had our breakfast twice on our terrace and it was very relaxing and enjoyable. We didn't want to leave the room. Nice, spacious, calm (only the sound of the ocean). I will definitly stay there again.
A few remakes though, it's 27 dollar per night parking and you have to pay the parasol and beach chair on the beach. Around the pool it's free.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beyondmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Beyondmusic, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel. We appreciate the top traveler rating you have given our property.
We would like to take the time and congratulate you on your choice of room accommodation, as our oceanfront suites do indeed offer a beautiful view of the ocean and beach. We are pleased this suite has furthermore provided you with the relaxing atmosphere and comfort you have required on your recent visit to our hotel. You are correct that the valet parking and beach chair rentals are additional services onsite, which come at an additional cost. We hope you would be happy to learn that even though the valet parking fee is a standard on Miami Beach due to the limitation in space, our hotel charges one of the lowest valet parking fees in the area. Furthermore, in contrast to most properties, which provide beach chairs at no additional charge, we do not charge our guests fixed, daily resort fees, but rather let our guests choose the services they would like to use daily.
We are thrilled to have won your loyalty and sincerely cannot wait to welcome you back on your return visit to the Grand Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you go to Miami stay at this hotel it was fab,clean,friendly right on the beach and as for the room it was fantastic, If visiting Miami again would definitely stay here.Grand beach hotel gives you great value for your money,the staff were very friendly and always helpful the breakfast buffet was was great help yourself as many times as you liked with plenty of choice.Overall I think we were spoilt ,as I said the room two toilets,two showers one walk in,fridge,drink making falicilitys,two 52inch television plus it was clean and big.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Debra1962, we appreciate the time you have taken to review your most recent visit to the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are thrilled with the top traveler rating you have given our property and are glad to have managed to provide you with a memorable and satisfying experience. It is great our room accommodation has lived up to your expectations with its spaciousness, cleanliness and the availability of two full bathrooms, refrigerator, and two televisions. At the Grand Beach Hotel, it is one of our top priorities to greet and service all hotel guests in an attentive and helpful manner; therefore, it is rewarding to learn you have experienced just that in your encounters with staff members on property. We are very happy to hear of your great feedback regarding the quality of food and service at our breakfast buffet serving, as we have just recently introduced some improvements. It is also nice to learn we have lived up to our motto- affordable luxury by providing you with a good value for the money paid during your recent visit.
We would like to once again thank you for your feedback. We are happy to have won your loyalty and cannot wait to have the pleasure of greeting you back onsite in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Well we came back to Miami Beach and stayed at the Grand Beach again. It was great to come back and I will say that should we return again, then we will most likely stay here.

After looking at alternative hotel options, I am convinced that Grand Beach gives you very good value for money.

The rooms are still fantastic and are still kept very clean.

I think that the breakfast buffet has improved. Still a lack of fresh fruit variety. Breakfast staff were great with Stephanie and Laura being most helpful and understanding.

The fitness center needs a little look at. At least 2 pieces of equipment were not working, chin equipment was unstable and the cross machines were flimsy.

Overall we were still very pleased with the hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKK031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear DKK031, thank you for being a repeat guest of the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are happy to learn you have chosen to stay at our property for the second consecutive time, have been satisfied with your experience at our hotel, and are planning to visit us again in the future. We are thrilled to read that our property has managed to provide you with the very good valued for money you expect and deserve. Thank you for the great feedback on the cleanliness and outlook of your room accommodation. You will be happy to learn that besides our regular treatment and maintenance of guest rooms and public areas, we also invest the time and effort on property to replace all carpets almost every year. In that sense, you may rest assured that you will be welcomed to the same fantastic and flawless room as you did the previous two times. Your positive feedback on our breakfast buffet offering is truly valuable, as we are currently in the process of settling improvements in our restaurant; thus, it is rewarding to receive positive comments on these improvements from one of our repeat and loyal guests. Stephanie and Laura are indeed a great asset to our team and we are happy to learn their above and beyond attitude has made your visit even more enjoyable. While we are very sorry to read we have failed to provide the best quality of equipment in the fitness center, we are thankful for your feedback, as that would assist us to work towards improving this aspect of our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your loyal business and feedback, which we will certainly pass along to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

New hotel with large rooms. The bay view is better than the sea view. The service is slow, specially the valet, although very expensive - U$29,00 per night. There are two pools and two spas, but not enough pool chairs. The beach service charges for chairs and umbrellas U$10,00 each!! There's a bus stop right in front that takes to South beach area, north Collins ave. and even downtown. The bus fare is U$2,00.

Room Tip: Choose the Bay view room, its magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaLapertosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear CeciliaLapertosa, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us.
We are glad you have enjoyed the new and modern outlook of our spacious room accommodations. Our bay view suites are truly a nice choice for an accommodation, as they provide a beautiful view of both the ocean on one side and the bay on the other side. It is great our beachfront location has proved convenient to you during your stay on property. You are absolutely correct that the public transportation, which conveniently stops right across the street from our hotel, is a great way to commute to and from the hotel at the affordable rate of $2 per person. While we are happy to read you have overall enjoyed your visit to our property, we are sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding the efficiency and cost of some of the services onsite. We are sorry to read of your disappointment with our valet parking service fee. Unfortunately, valet parking is a standard on Miami Beach due to the limitation in space. We hope you would be happy to learn that our property provides this service at one of the lowest rates in the area. We would like to assure you that our valet parking staff strives to be as efficient as possible at all times and we apologize if they have failed to provide you with the prompt service expected. In order to avoid wait times at valet, we would like to encourage you to call for your car at least 5 minutes prior to coming downstairs next time you stay with us. The beach chair and umbrella rentals are indeed an additional service we offer on property. Typically, other hotels that offer complimentary beach chairs & umbrella rentals do this because in addition to their standard taxes, they charge a resort fee as well. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we do not charge a resort fee, because not all guests plan to use the beach chairs & umbrella rentals, valet parking etc. thus they should not be automatically charged for it. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the freedom of choosing the services they would like to use, as opposed to enforcing fixed, daily fees.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate it as it helps us improve the guest experience on property. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.8 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,880 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,129 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,505 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
2.5 mi away
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#62 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Hotel
Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing