We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls' weekend”
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #65 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After reading a lot of reviews on area hotels, we chose Grand Beach because it was a bit further down from the craziness of South Beach. Ironically, it was the distance from the shopping and restaurants that was a disappointment! On paper, the distance doesn't look too bad, but in reality you can't walk to shopping, and maybe to a few restaurants---but not after dark for these two ladies. With weekend traffic on Collins Ave, a taxi to the Lincoln Rd. promenade was about $15-20; we did take the bus on one occasion, but it took 30+ minutes to go about 5 miles.

The hotel itself was very nice, just right for a long weekend. There are A LOT of kids at the pool, and dirty diapers in the bathrooms. We stuck to the beautfiul beach and adult pool on the 7th floor. Oddly, the bar at the adult pool was closed most of the time--which was inconvenient. No one enforces the "adult only" aspect of the pool, so the first day a guest had her screaming toddler there for several hours. The view from our oceanfront suite was perfect.

The staff we encountered were very friendly--especially at the coffee bar in the lobby. I do find it annoying that an 18% gratuity is included in everything--even the can of diet coke I purchased over the counter! The restaurant at the pool is average, at best. Very slow service and the food is just OK. We walked down the beach to the Eden Roc outdoor grille, and it was wonderful. The service there was impeccable--and the pool area and bar were way more impressive than Grand Beach. But of course, Eden Roc is in a different $$$ category :)

All in all, a great weekend and a nice hotel stay. If you don't mind paying for a taxi or have the patience to take the bus, the location won't be an issue.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Judy M, thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property after your recent stay with us.
While we are happy you have chosen our hotel for your trip to Miami Beach, we are sorry to read of your disappointment with our location. We are indeed located further north from South Beach, which provides for a more quiet and relaxing stay as you have mentioned. Even though, South Beach is a short distance away and is easily accessible from our property, it is not walking distance away from us. In general both the taxi and bus rides from the hotel to South beach take less time than what you have experienced. If you happened to stay with us over Boat Show weekend, it may explain the longer transit, because such events do create an unusual traffic in the Miami Beach area.
We are glad you have enjoyed our overall facilities as well as the view from your ocean front suite. The first floor, family pool area does encounter more family traffic; we therefore like to recommend our guests to take advantage of both the beach and the 7th floor, adults only tranquility pool, which provide for more relaxing time and great views. We do apologize for the inconvenience you might have experienced the first day at the pool. We strongly encourage guests in these situations to immediately notify our front office staff, so they may once again advise such guests of the adults only rule valid for the 7th floor pool. The bar at this level is now opening at 12pm on the weekends. For the reminder of the week, we do usually have the pool attendants take drink orders throughout the day.
At our hotel, we do strive to provide attentive and friendly service to all our guests; we are therefore happy to read you have experienced just that in your encounters with staff members. We are sorry you have been disappointed with the included gratuity fee. Our property is however visited by many foreign guests, who are not necessarily familiar with the gratuity standards established within the U.S. We are thankful for your comment and will direct it to the appropriate department.
We greatly appreciate the feedback you have provided and sincerely hope our location would not affect your decision to visit our property again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,033 - 2,039 of 5,468 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

... in every way! They sure live up to the slogan "affordable luxury" with great service, very friendly staff and lovely rooms. The hotel is located right on Miami Beach and only 10 minutes drive to South Beach. We had a lovely view of the Bay and even though the room was located next to the fitness room, it was very quiet. Our kids just loved the pools and the 20 seconds walk to the ocean!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Ulrikkruse, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience and for giving our property the top traveler rating.
We are pleased you have been satisfied with every aspect of your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel. We certainly strive to live up to our slogan “affordable luxury” and are glad you have experienced just that during your visit on property through our customer service, friendly staff attitude, and room accommodations. You are right on target in your description of our Miami Beach beachfront location, which is easily accessible and only a short drive or bus ride away from South Beach as you have mentioned. It is great to read you have enjoyed the view and quiet setting your onsite suite had to offer. The first floor family pool area allowing for a direct beach access is truly a great amenity for children to enjoy.
Thank you once again for your wonderful review. Now that you have experienced and enjoyed what Grand Beach Hotel has to offer, we would like to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The entire experience at this hotel was pleasant however, the service by the pool restaurant is terrible. On the first day we waited for over 20 minutes to be acknowedged until we decided to order our own food and drinks form the pool bar after being told by another table of six that they waited an hour to be served. We basically served ourselves even though we were part of the restaurant table. The next day during breakfast we had a similar experience although a little better. I do have to say that the rooms were great and very spacious. My only other complaint is the lack of upkeep in the hallways. All in all, I enjoyed this hotel and hope that they get their service issues straighted out because I would like to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myddam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Myddam, we are glad you took the time to review our property as a result of your recent stay with us.
While we are happy you have been pleased with your overall experience on property and have been satisfied with our spacious room accommodations, we are concerned with the feedback you have extended in regards to the restaurant service and hallway upkeep. We assure you that our property strives to maintain high maintenance standards throughout the entire hotel. It is our priority to provide each and every guest with attentive and friendly service and we would like to take the opportunity to apologize to you if you have received anything less than that during your visit. Your feedback is from great importance to us, as it helps us find ways to improve the guest experience. We will therefore immediately forward your feedback to the concerned departments.
Thank you once again for sharing your experience. We are pleased you have the intention to return on property and we will do our best to improve upon your feedback and provide you with an even more enjoyable experience next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Terrific Hotel.
Best possible views from very nice rooms.
Restaurant very clean with great menu items and reasonable prices.
Setting can't be beat.

Exceptional balcony views of the Atlantic and gorgeous white sand beach and warm ocean swimming right at the resort...no roads to cross. Very nice pools for evening swims.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay at a room with full view of the Atlantic Ocean...watch the sun rise o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arne199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Arne199, thank you for giving our property the top traveler rating.
We are pleased to read of the blissful experience you have had on property with our amenities and service. We are glad you have enjoyed our room accommodations and the exceptional views they have to offer of both the ocean and the bay from the private balcony available in the majority of guest suites. It is great you have taken advantage of our property’s restaurant- Chez Gaston, and have been satisfied with the quality of food service and menu choices. We are also appreciative of the great feedback you have extended of our direct beach access available directly from hotel premises and the two separate, heated pool areas our property has to offer.
We are thankful for your review and positive feedback; as it helps us further enhance the guest experience at the Grand Beach Hotel. Now that you have experienced and enjoyed our property, we would like to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our second year going to this hotel for vacation and we were not disappointed .Clean quiet room, spacious, two tv's, two bathrooms! The ocean view and balcony are wonderful, the pools great. Staff was very helpful and pleasant, valet was ready with our car promptly!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4greatkds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear 4greatkds, we are glad you took the time to review our property as a result of your recent, second stay at the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are pleased to have you as one of our repeat guests. It is great our property has managed to meet your needs and expectations for a second year in a row. Thank you for providing such positive feedback on our room accommodations and in-room amenities, such as the two full bathrooms, two televisions, private balcony, and mostly the beautiful ocean view it offers. The two heated pool areas we provide on property are truly an amenity worth taking advantage of. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we do our best to serve all our guests in an attentive and friendly manner; we are, therefore, pleased with your complimentary mention of the service extended to you during your stay. The valet parking service we offer guests is indeed convenient. We always like to recommend guests to request their car about 5 minutes prior to coming downstairs, as this proves to decrease wait times at valet parking.
Thank you once more for your great review. Now that you have experienced for the second time what Grand Beach Hotel has to offer, we would like to welcome you back again soon for another relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean and spacioius room, with partial view of ocean. Although the hotel was in a quiet location, and we did venture out on the local buses, felt it would have been better had we hired a car (our preference not to) as it was a little way out from certain attractions that we had wanted to visit. The only other "gripe" (if there has to be one) was that the restaurant seemed a little pricey for what we had (although not having visited this region before, it probably was in line with other hotels in the area), and the lobby bar seemed a little informal and reminded us more of an airport lounge rather than an initimate hotel bar. That said, the staff we encountered were very pleasant and professional and we did enjoy our stay, although we would probably opt for another hotel if in Miami again.

Room Tip: Opt for an upgrade room (oceanfront if possible).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiloLingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear MiloLingfield, we appreciate you sharing your recent experience at our property.
We are happy to read you have been satisfied with the spaciousness and cleanliness of our room accommodations. We are glad you have also enjoyed the beautiful views of both the ocean and bay they have to offer from the private balcony available in the majority of our suites. Our beachfront located property truly provides for a relaxing and quiet stay. It is furthermore easily accessible via a personal vehicle, taxi, or public transportation as you have mentioned. Even though our hotel is located in close proximity to many of Miami’s attractions, renting a personal vehicle provides for the extra convenience and comfort when visiting further located attractions. We are sorry you have found our property’s restaurant to be more on the pricey side. We hope the quality of food and service have compensated for this impression. At our hotel, we do strive to greet guests with hospitality and attentive service. It is therefore rewarding to read of your positive feedback regarding the service you have received during your stay.
Your feedback is important to us in our efforts to improve guest experience; we therefore thank you once again for your review. It would be our pleasure to greet you back on property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed for three nights for a conference nearby. Overall it's clean, quiet. However on the last day in morning I discovered a roach in the bathroom. It was running around the bathroom counter and I crushed it with the towel. I reported on checkout to the fron desk and ... "I'm so sorry, I will let the housekeeping know". I did fill out the hotel's feedback survey.
The free WiFi is slow and unstable. There is no option for wired internet.

Other than that, there is nothing wrong about the hotel. Luckily the bug showed up in the last day so that my overall stay at the hotel was relaxed and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear M I, thank you for taking the time and leaving a review of your recent stay with us.
We are glad you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and have found our property as clean and quiet. We are terribly sorry to read of the cocoa roach issue you have experienced. We can assure you that our housekeeping department takes great precautions and maintenance on a regular basis to prevent such unpleasant happenings; unfortunately, our hotel is located directly on the beach, which taken into consideration together with the high humidity in Florida provides for favorable to cocoa roach conditions. The free WiFi is an amenity we offer throughout the entire property and strive to maintain its reliable and fast connection. We do indeed offer a wired internet alternative for our free Internet service in case guests experience issues with the connectivity. Should you have problems with the WiFi on future visits, you should definitely contact our guest service agents, so they can take action and send one of our IT specialists to your suite to assist you with the wired internet set-up.
We would like to thank you for your feedback as it is important to us. We apologize once again for the situation in your room. We sincerely hope you would be willing to give our hotel another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,695 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,399 reviews
The Confidante Miami Beach
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,561 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $200 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing