We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hated to leave” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #53 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hated to leave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived at the hotel quite early, having just disembarked from a cruise ship around 9AM; but we were able to check in immediately. The view from our hotel window was wonderful, although we had the least expensive of the units.We were on the 18th floor, from which we overlooked the intercoastal waterway on the left and the ocean on the right. The room itself was very comfortable, with a great bed and 2 bathrooms.The carpet was not well padded, so we could easily feel the uneven concrete underneath it. We had some problems with the housekeeping at the beginning of the stay: no hand towel, not enough soap, unemptied waste baskets, and wrinkled shower curtains. There is nothing nearby except apartment buildings, so we had to take cabs or buses because we didn't have a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelpromd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear TravelproMD, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
It is great we have been able to honor your request for early check-in. Even though we cannot guarantee early check-ins to guests, we are pleased to provide those when the availability allows. Thank you for mentioning one of the advantages of our property, which is its views. Due to the beachfront location and the fact that our suites start from the 7th floor up, all suites within the hotel provide gorgeous views of the ocean, bay, or both at the same time. We are happy you have enjoyed the view from your suite. It is great our spacious room accommodation with comfortable bedding and two bathrooms has been to your taste. We are very sorry that some housekeeping items were not present in your room upon check-in and sincerely hope our housekeeping department was able to resolve the situation for you in a quick and efficient manner. The area in which our property is located provides some dining options, which are mainly located within the nearby hotels as well as on 41st street /15-minute walk away from the hotel/. Furthermore, there is an oceanside boardwalk starting a few blocks away from the hotel and leading all the way down to South Beach; it is perfect for cycling and exploring the area.
Thank you once again for your review. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,916
    1,572
    469
    190
    168
See reviews for
1,836
1,326
75
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice already (2012 and 2013) and the stay was excellent!! The rooms were beautiful and the staff is so kind and courteous. They make you feel like a celebrity. It's located in the heart of town and all of our needs were accommodated. We asked for early check in and our room was ready right when we came and we asked for late checkout and they extended our check out to 1:00.

Room Tip: Ask for the bay room. It's gorgeous- feels like a suite and has a stunning view from the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Ann R, thank you for giving our property the highest rating possible.
We are happy to have you as one of our repeat guests. It is great you have enjoyed our spacious and beautiful room accommodations on both of your visits to property. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we truly strive to welcome all our guests with hospitality and friendly and efficient service. It is rewarding to read you have experienced just that in your encounters with staff members. We are glad to have been able to accommodate you with both an early check-in and late check-out. Even though we cannot guarantee early check-ins and late check-outs, we always do our best to fulfill such guest requests based on availability. It is great you have enjoyed our beachfront location and have found it convenient.
We appreciate your wonderful review and hope to have the pleasure of greeting you back onsite soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Beach in June of 2012. It was my second stay there, and as usual, everything was wonderful. Was upgraded to a oceanfront double, which afforded stunning views of the beach and coast. The front desk was helpful and efficient. Night manager Frank D. comped my parking, which made it much less expensive. It is a way from South Beach, but the drive takes about seven minutes. If you walk down to the Eden Roc (about a five minute walk south), you can walk the boardwalk all the way to SOBE. Its quite a distance, but it's doable.

The restaurant has several options, and I found the food quality good, but pricey. Don Shula's is just up the street at the Alexander, and there are several restaurants at the Eden Roc and Fountainbleu. A short drive to Lincoln Road Mall give you tons of restaurant options, and Espanola Way has plenty of food choices.

The beach and pool areas are immaculate. This is truly the best value in Miami Beach. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. If you can catch a sale on Tripadvisor or one of their promotional packages, you can't go wrong with price.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the cost, the oceanfront suites are great. The ocean view suites are nice if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badcamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Badcamaro, thank you for spending the time to review your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel.
We appreciate you being a repeat guest of our property and are happy to read of your continuous satisfaction with our performance. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we strive to serve all our guests in a friendly and attentive manner; it is rewarding to read of your good experience with staff members onsite. Our double ocean front view suites offer truly astonishing views of the ocean and beach, as they are corner suites. You are correct in your description of our beachfront location. Our property is indeed located north from South Beach allowing for a quiet and relaxing vacation at the beach. At the same time, we are located only a short drive away from South Beach, whenever guests would like to visit this area. Other transportation methods also exist, such as taking a taxi or catching the public transportation conveniently stopping across from the hotel. Thank you for extending to other travelers such detailed information regarding the area surrounding our property. The boardwalk starting close to the Eden Roc is indeed a great way to explore Miami Beach as this boardwalk continues all the way down to South Beach. There is a variety of dining options available within the nearby hotels, which you have mentioned. And if these choices do not suffice, as you have mentioned in your review the closely located South Beach has plenty of dining and entertainment to offer. We are happy you have taken advantage of our beach and pool areas and have been satisfied with your experience there.
We are pleased to have won your loyalty. We appreciate the helpful tip you have extended to other travelers to bear in mind when booking. We cannot wait to welcome you back on property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

All the things in this Hotel are very professional, it's very clean, the staff who works there are very helpful and very nice.
All the rooms has excellent views, also the pool area and beach were very nice.
It's a very nice place if u go with transportation, due to it's a little far from restaurants and leisure places

Room Tip: Rooms who look at the sea are very quieter than the other ones, the service is excellent, the breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Gonzalo S, thank you for leaving such a great review of your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are pleased to read you were satisfied with the friendly and helpful attitude of staff members onsite, as we strive to provide the best customer service possible to all our guests. Thank you for your great feedback on the overall cleanliness of our property. We are happy you were pleased with our spacious room accommodations and the excellent views they have to offer. It is nice you have taken advantage of both the pool and beach area and have enjoyed the time spent there. As you mentioned, guests find it more convenient to have a personal vehicle as mean of commute to and from the hotel; however, there are other options available to guests, such as taking a taxi or catching the public transportation. The area in which our property is located does indeed provide some dining and shopping options. Restaurants are mainly available in the nearby hotels and also on 41st street- a 15-minute walk away from the hotel. In regards to shopping, there is a grocery store also on 41st street, which works 24-hours a day.
Thank you again for this great review. We are looking forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a normal bay view room, which was roomy and clean. Front desk staff and valet staff are very helpful and friendly.
Pool area and the beach were very nice. Keep in mind the location of the hotel: far from South Beach making it a calm hotel but you do need transportation to get to the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rutger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Rutger L, thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay with us.
We are happy to see your satisfaction in every aspect of your stay. It is great you have enjoyed our standard bay view suite’s spaciousness and cleanliness. We strive to encourage our staff members to provide guests with a friendly and helpful service; it is rewarding to read you have experienced just that in your encounters with team members on property. We are glad you took advantage of our pool areas as well as the beach, accessible directly from the premises of the hotel. As you mentioned, our beachfront location provides for a great, relaxing vacation near the beach; however, it does require transportation if you would like to visit South Beach. Gladly, there are numerous ways to commute from and to the hotel, such as a personal vehicle, a taxi, or the public transportation, conveniently stopping across the street from the hotel.
Thank you again for your review. We are looking forward to greeting you back on property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a ocean front suite, which was roomy enough for a family of three. Views were magnificent and the room was light, clean and modern.

The hotel itself was a bit impersonal, like big hotels usually are. Carpets in the common areas could use a thorough clean, but otherwise also the common areas were clean and modern. Pool area and beach were nice (albeit the pool area gets shady quite early in the afternoon) and service in general was pleasant, although on the slow side, especially in the restaurant. Breakfast was ok, but again service could have been faster.

Location is a bit off South Beach in a more quite area, so no restaurants within walking distance.

Value for money was all in all good.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear P K, thank you for taking the time to review your stay on property with us.
We would like to congratulate you on the good choice of room you have made by staying in one of our ocean front suites. It is pleasing to read you were satisfied with the suite’s spaciousness, comfort, modern design, and the magnificent views the suite’s balcony has to offer. We are glad you were fulfilled with the overall level of cleanliness on property. In order to ensure a good quality of cleanliness in common areas and within the rooms, we replace carpets throughout the entire property almost each year. It is great you enjoyed the family pool area. If you would like to spend more time in the sun, we could definitely recommend you to take advantage of the beach area or our 7th floor adults only, tranquility pool as these areas are in general less shaded. Service is our top priority; we are therefore happy to read your good feedback on the service you have received while on property. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet we offer onsite. We would definitely take upon your comment in regards to the speed of service and refer it to the appropriate department. Our property’s beachfront location is indeed a bit off South Beach, which provides for a more quiet and relaxed stay onsite. At the same time, however, South Beach is easily accessible from our property via personal vehicle, taxi, or public transportation. Within walking distance from our hotel, we could recommend you to visit the restaurants in the nearby hotels or take a 15-minute walk to 41st street, which also offers a couple of dining choices.
We would like to thank you once again for your review and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back onsite in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Arrived here January 4th, quick check in, friendly staff and great room Four of us shared a room and there was still lots of space to spare. The night before we stayed at a hotel in key west which was tiny and dark so this was a very pleasant treat! We were told that we had a sea view but to get this we had to walk onto the communal terrace we did not have it from our room as expected!We stayed on the 7th floor Balcony and sea view is a must for next time. Bed very comfortable, bedding excellent quality, just a lovely spacious,light room. Short taxi drive to the nightlife.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Jenny W, thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
We are happy to read of your wonderful experience on property at the Grand Beach Hotel. It is rewarding you were welcomed on property by friendly and willing to assist staff members, as we do encourage such staff attitude for all our guests. We are happy our spacious room accommodations have satisfied the needs of your family of four. Our standard ocean view suites are indeed great, because they offer a view of both the ocean and the bay. The rooms available on the 7th floor, where you stayed, have the advantage of being located in direct proximity to the fitness center, 7th floor pool area, and the Sunset Bar; however, if you have not quite enjoyed this floor, next time you could request to be assigned a different floor number. Even though we cannot guarantee the floor on which your room will be assigned, we always do our best to assign guest rooms in accordance with guest preferences. It is nice you were pleased with the comfort of the in-room bedding and have enjoyed the natural light coming into the room during the day. You are right on target to mention that our beachfront property is located only a short taxi ride away from South Beach. Besides taking a taxi, guests may also take advantage of the public transportation, conveniently stopping across the street from our hotel.
We appreciate the time you have spent reviewing our property and are looking forward to welcoming you back onsite, hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.8 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,729 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#99 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#37 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
1.7 mi away
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
2.2 mi away
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Hotel
Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing