We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In love with this hotel!”
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #57 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Harrow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“In love with this hotel!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me and my partner just returned after spending a month in the US. We spent five amazing nights at grand beach hotel. This hotel is flawless from its decor and facilities to the staff. We were very impressed with our suite on the 20th floor with amazing views of the beach and collins avenue. The room itself was amazing all decorated in white and very spacious, complete with two bathrooms and two TV's. The cleaners always did a good job and kept our room tidy. We spent most of our time either by the main pool area on the ground floor or the adult pool area on the seventh floor. Both of these areas were relaxing and enjoyable and the pool staff were always accommodating and friendly. The hotel is located on the beach and the beach was beautiful. The sea was a pleasant warm temperature and a beautiful shade of turquoise. On one of the days it rained whilst we were in the jacuzzi, but the jacuzzi was so warm that it didn't even bother us, in fact we needed to be cooled down. The only issue was the highly priced valet parking at $30 a day. We rented a car whilst out in the US so we parked in a public car park instead. The car park was located three blocks away and was priced at $1 an hour, the only issue was needing to top up the metre daily. So its better not to have a car whilst staying here. The hotel's restaurant was expensive but not too bad for a light lunch. The hotel was only a short taxi ride away from the main south beach strip and didn't cost much but we were happy with the location of the hotel. Overall this hotel is amazing and we could easily have stayed here longer and we would definitely go back. We loved it and will never forget our time at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear RVVH, thank you for giving our property the top traveler rating.
We are more than happy to be able to provide such a memorable and enjoyable experience to you and your partner. We are glad our room accommodations, their amenities and amazing views of both the beach and the bay have met your expectations and pleased you during your stay. As the entire room interior is white, it does require quite the effort to maintain the room, so thank you for appreciating the hard work of our housekeepers. It is great you have enjoyed some time at the two different pool areas the hotel has to offer and have taken advantage of the direct beach access from the first level of the hotel. We encourage our staff members to provide friendly and accommodating service; it is therefore rewarding to hear they are managing to provide just that. The valet parking rate is unfortunately a standard in the Miami Beach area due to limitation in space. We are happy however to be offering this service 24-hours a day with in/out privileges at one of the lowest valet rates for the area. We would recommend you on your next visit to also try and take advantage of the public buses which stop right across the street from our hotel. They take you to South Beach in about 10-15 minutes, at a cost of $2 per person and they do run 24-hours a day.
Thank you once again for a wonderful review. We cannot wait to welcome you and your partner back on property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,235
    1,810
    551
    228
    202
See reviews for
2,177
1,533
93
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Grand Beach is a good hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean. A really nice and relaxed hotel. The best thing is the proximity to a lovely stretch of beach. There is no need to use the pools when the beach is so lovely.

The hotel is a bargain but they do charge a lot for all food and parking. The food is absolutely not worth it and the service in Chez Gaston is slow and not up to par with the tagline: Affordable luxury. $22 for buffet breakfast is not worth the dollars.

If I were managing the Grand Beach I would add better food options at different price levels. The hotel is far away from any other food venues so this hotel really needs a good one. For $2 you get and easy busride to South Beach where you'll find lots of nice eateries.

Concierge at Grand Beach really needs to get things straight. We booked a shuttle to Sawgrass mills ($30/pp) and the guy who booked it said it would arrive at 9 am. 9:35am would be more correct. We specifically asked if the shuttle company accepted credit cards. The concierge said: Yes only. Did they? No - only cash. When would we arrive at the hotel again? Concierge: 8:45-9Pm. Reality: 9:50pm. Not much right there. My advice: fix things on your own!

In all I had a nice time and I liked the room, but due to the location of the hotel I would prefer to stay elsewhere next time in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annikajeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Annikajeanette, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel.
We are glad you have enjoyed the comfort and spaciousness of our room accommodations. We also appreciate the kind comment of our property as a nice and relaxed hotel. It is great you have enjoyed our beachfront location providing for a direct beach access from the first level of the hotel. The charge for valet parking is unfortunately a standard throughout Miami Beach due to the limitation in space. Hopefully, you will be happy to learn that our property has one of the lowest valet parking rates in the area. We are sorry to read you have found the food choices available on-site to be a bit pricey. As an alternative to the restaurant breakfast, we can definitely suggest the lighter and less expensive breakfast choices available at the espresso bar, also located on the lobby level. Another option would be as you mentioned visiting South Beach or you could also visit 41st street, which is 15-minutes walking distance down the street from the hotel. This strip also offers some options for breakfast. Furthermore, we do offer food and beverage promotions on-site throughout the week. You can find more details surrounding those in our Monthly Events Calendar available on our website under the amenities tab.
We sincerely apologize for your disappointment with our concierge service. We can most definitely understand the inconvenience these small misunderstandings could have caused you. Your comment and feedback is important to us; therefore, we have already brought you review to the attention of our front office management staff. This does not comply with our property’s service standards and we are addressing it with the proper department.
Thank you again for your feedback. We are happy you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. We do hope that you shall reconsider and decide to choose our property in the future as well and not only for the beachfront location but due to its proximity and easy accessibility to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were large, bright and clean. Gorgeous views, great balcony too. Decor was modern. Location is right on the beach, but this is not south beach. Pool was lovely. Downside was expensive food and drinks at hotel bar and restaurant but it's likely not more expensive than other hotels. Grand view was reasonably priced too! Would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelergrl824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Displeased, thank you for taking the time and writing a review of your stay with the Grand Beach Hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback.
It is pleasing to read you have enjoyed the size of our room accommodations, as well as their décor and the “gorgeous” views they have to offer from the balcony. Grand Beach Hotel does indeed have a beachfront location allowing for a direct beach access from the beach level pool area. Even though we are located north from South Beach, South Beach is easily accessible from our property via taxis, public buses, bicycle rental, or personal vehicle. Thank you for the nice comment in regards to the pool, we do hope you have had the chance to visit our 7th floor, adults only pool and the tranquility it offers to guests of the hotel. We are sorry to read you have found the pricing of food and beverages to be on the high end; however, we hope you will be happy to learn that we do offer food & beverage promotions throughout the week. More details on these you can in our Monthly Events Calendar available on our website under the amenities tab.
Thank you sincerely for your recommendation to other travelers. We are happy to have gained your loyalty to our property and cannot wait to welcome you back on-site soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Visited Miami on memorial weekend with a group of friends and we had a great stay at the hotel. Although it's not near the strip and you have to get a taxi but we didn't mind as it was a lovely hotel and the taxi was not so expensive. Overall I would recommend this hotel to others. One advise for the hotel - the cream carpet is probably not the best colour to use as you can see stains even if it has been cleaned after each stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter19842012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Jetsetter19842012, thank you for choosing the Grand Beach Hotel and for leaving a review.
We appreciate your kind comments in regards to the hotel, as well as the recommendation you provide to other travelers to come and stay at the Grand Beach Hotel. It is pleasing to read you and your friends have had a great stay on property. Another alternative to the taxis as a manner of commute to South Beach would be the public buses, stopping right across the street from the hotel. They run 24-hours a day and are available every 15 minutes. In regards to the color of the carpets within the rooms, we truly appreciate your feedback and recommendation; however, it is the preference of ownership to have this color carpets within the rooms. We are replacing carpets throughout the property almost every year and are committing to servicing and maintaining the carpets and furniture on a regular basis for spotless outlook of the rooms.
Thank you again for a great review. We hope to see you on property next memorial weekend as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The room was large and had 2 bathrooms which was great and we booked the King Suite with bay view and the view from the balcony was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and efficient. the pool on the 7th floor was lovely. I have read everyone's reviews about the terrible food served at Chef Gaston but we found that the food was good. Had the breakfast and lunch on 2 separate occasions and was not disappointed.
We were forewarned by the reviews about the distance from the hotel to South Beach so were expecting to have to catch taxi's or the bus.
only negative report I have is that they deducted money from my account when we checked in and the gentleman at the front desk did not tell us about this or explain what it was for.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I were to go back to Miami.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemyhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Lovemyhood, thank you for leaving such a great review of your stay with the Grand Beach Hotel.
We appreciate your satisfaction with our spacious room accommodations and the amenities they have to offer such as the two full bathrooms within the room and the fantastic views it opens up to both the bay and the ocean. We strive to provide friendly and hospitable customer service to all our guests, it is therefore great to read you have experienced just that during your stay. The 7th floor adults only pool is truly a great amenity we offer on-site, we are glad you have decided to spend some time there and enjoy its tranquility and gorgeous views. At the Grand Beach Hotel, we like to believe that there are no good or bad guest comments, because what might be a negative for one guest is a positive for another and vice versa; what is more important is the opportunity guests have of further exploring the property through other guests’ reviews. In this sense, it is great Chez Gaston has served food that suits your taste and has not disappointed you. On your next stay, we can also recommend you to take advantage of the boardwalk, which starts on 43rd street and leads all the way down to South Beach. You can rent a bicycle and explore the area in a different manner. We do have a sign at the front desk specifying the reason for a credit card request; however, it is the duty of the front desk to once again explain the purpose of this request, especially to first time guests of the property. I therefore apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused you as a result.
Thank you for your recommendation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on property, hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Arriving by plane from Europe, we first stayed at the Mondrian at the bay side, then after travelling to Orlando we returned to Miami and stayed the last three days in this hotel.
What a big disappointment, especially after the Mondrian, very bleak middle class hotel, maximum 3 star, but with a premium price.
Middle class service, a bar tender who made the worst margarita ever and a guy who called himself concierge but didnt even know that the Dutch at the W hotel was open, even after showing him on the internet he first still refused to book a table there. Not suitable for this job.
Breakfast ok for 3 star US hotel standards. Rooms are big, the pool is ok, food at the pool was good. The lobby and restaurant area looks terrible in my opinion.
You get a room at the Mondrian for the same price (after all the hidden add-ons), which is a 4 star plus hot spot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amsterdampassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Amsterdampassie, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We appreciate your nice comments in regards to the size of our rooms accommodations, the pool area and the food served at the pool.
Your feedback is from crucial importance to us, we therefore apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced while on property. The service you have received from the bartender and the concierge does not comply with our property’s service standards as a qualified 4 star property. According to your review, you have stayed with us back in December of 2011, when our property was only about two years old. I therefore encourage you to give Grand Beach Hotel another chance on your future visits to Miami Beach, as many improvements and developments have taken place on-site over the last year.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope you shall give our property another chance in the future to gain your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel really blew pass what i expected. Me and my girlfriend had a GREAT TIME.. We enjoyed the hell out of ourselves. We stayed in a room on the 18th floor . Great view of Millionaires Row to the left and great view of the ocean to our right!!!! We were there for 4 days and it was four days of bliss. Romantic setting in the room with view and the way the room is setup. VERY quite in the rooms. Clean CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN... I loved it and we will be returning this coming summer .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amiriceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Amiriceo, thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of our property.
It is pleasing to read Grand Beach Hotel has managed to not only meet but also exceed you and your partners’ expectations. We are happy to read you have enjoyed the breathtaking views your suite has had to offer of both the Biscayne Bay and the ocean. It is great you have enjoyed the room accommodation as well as its layout, privacy and cleanliness.
Thank you again for a great review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on property this coming summer for an even more memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Hotel
Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing