We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fritz Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$299
EDITION
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$168
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$517
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$428
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$187
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$440
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$211
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$263
$230
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
247
141
56
23
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
141
56
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolocean drivein south beachfront deskmain bedroomfull size fridgeliving roomsmall balconyvalet parknoisy at nightliquor storelocation is amazingbeach towelsfirst floorgreat roomspent nightsdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 484 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2010

To begin with, my review will be sort of one sided and biased because I have stayed at a several nicer hotels on South Beach. If you are a young Black male or female, stay away from this hotel. I stayed several days with a group of friends and I did not like this hotel at all. From the start, we pulled up to the loading area in our rental car to unload and the valet attendant gave us crap while we were checking in. He gave us an ultimatum, basically stating that we could pay to have our car parked or move within 10 minutes. We were planning to check in, drop our bags off and drive around to do some shopping. Bad start. The rooms are decent because it was kind of spacious with marble floors and a two foot patio with an ok beach view. The flat screen tv's are the cheap kind you purchase at the grocery store and the sheets were not very clean. They give a limited number of bathroom towels and they were not new towels at all. One of them had a hole in it and another had a small bleach stain in a yellow towel. They give you a full refrigerator with several beverages in them that cost more than the mini bars in the Ritz Carlton. Crazy.

We were given the side eye every time we stepped foot into the hotel from a side entrance. We were not allowed to enter through the front of the hotel because it's also a restaurant. Come to find out, every Black person that walked into our room was being tallied into our bill. We were charged an extra $250 for having more than 6 people in our room. There was a camera right outside of our room that kind of violated our privacy. We were not loud, nor rowdy at all, but we did have several beautiful women join us for drinks a few nights. The front desk clerks were not helpful at all. We asked several questions that were not answered. We requested new towels, sheets, and some pain killers and they told us we would have to wait for the housekeeping crew to return the next day. Not a good stay at all. I only say it was decent because of it's location and the room was pretty clean.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Educated_Blk_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasanovaSuites, Manager at The Fritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2010

Dear Sir,

We regret that you had a bad experience at our hotel. We would like to start by clarifying that at Casanova Suites on the Beach we are proud to be part of Miami Beach, a city which uniqueness comes from welcoming and accepting diversity.

We would like to make clear certain issues mentioned in your review:

First, Valet parking it’s a third party company that provides service to all the hotels on the block and there are other options that may suit your service needs, like for example, Public Parking on 5th and Washington (a block away) or parking meters.

Second, we had never experienced complaints regarding the quality of our flat screen TVs.

Third, the cameras have the solely purpose of your protection and ours. They are key witnesses of any incidentals that may occur in the premises; moreover, they provide us evidence of how many people stay in a suite. By the way, we would like to mention that they are located in common areas of each floor outside the suites

Fourth, all of our rates are based on double occupancy; this is stated in the signing sheet that you, and every customer, have to sign at check-in.

Also, we would like to remind you that at our hotel there are rules and guidelines that must be followed. We state them when you check-in and also in conspicuous notes in the rooms and in the front desk. The rules are the following:

- Gathering and Reunions are allowed until 1:00am. The maximum number of people allowed in the rooms for gatherings and/or reunions, between guests and visitors, are 10 people in each One Bedroom Suite, and 15 people in each Two Bedroom Suite. At 1:00 am all visitors are kindly asked to leave the room until 8:00 am in the next morning. A visitor staying in the room after 1:00am will be considered an additional guest.

We have set these rules because we had in the past clients having up to twenty guests overstaying the marked hour, causing disruption and fostering guests complains. We are sorry to hear that in your specific case you took this personally, but our intention is always to preserve the best environment to provide a unique experience to all our guests.

To conclude, all our regulations are for the well being of our guests. We understand that this is South Beach and many people come to have fun, but clients have to comply with the guidelines stated so harmony prevails at our hotel.

Best regards.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

First, thanks to all the reviewers on TripAdvisor, they helped me select this place. This was my 2nd visit to Miami and Casanova Suites on Miami Beach made it great. First, the location is the BEST! Right on Ocean drive and a dash across the street and your on the beach. The view of the ocean from the rooftop deck is breathtaking. We didn't need a car, the hotel has everything you need including a restaurant, bar and lounge. It's seconds away from other restaurants and bars.

I enjoyed the marble accents, the kitchenette with full fridge, separate bedroom and bath. We went to the market and saved money by eating breakfast in the room and spending more at night on food and drinks.

I rated the sleep quality low because of the club and morning trash pickup, but you don't go to MIAMI to sleep!!!! I'm definitely keeping this on my list for all future visits. As for the staff, they guys were great! We used the beach towels when we went to the beach.

NO complaints and a great package deal through Expedia. We got the standard one room suite which has small step-out only balconies from the bedroom and living room. I enjoyed that it's a small place with a personal touch.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWDBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasanovaSuites, Manager at The Fritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2010

Management response from
CasanovaSuites, Manager

Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you very much for your excellent and extensive review! We are really happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our property. We hope to host you again if you decide to visit Miami Beach in the future. Again, we appreciate your feedback! Thank you and regards.
Camilo Matarraz - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Booked room 302 online, and called the Casanova Suites to confirm. No issues at all - confirmation email as well as a phone call before our arrival.
Valet parking outside was helpful, prompt, and courteous. Yes, it is $30 per day. Don't whine - this beats looking for a parking place and is a better option than the lot behind the hotel. If you're here, you won't need your car anyhow! Immediately we were offered a luggage cart and the valet took it into the small lobby. Yes, the lobby is small - how much time do you plan on spending in a lobby, after all?!
Check in was efficient and friendly - and the restaurant chef rolled our luggage up to the room! I'm surprised that other reviews rated the staff as indifferent and not helpful - everyone we met was very helpful - and unobtrusive. Staff leaves you alone, unless you need something - as it should be.

The room - immense. Definitely reserve an oceanfront suite. Open the door, and in to a small foyer with two closets. This opens up in to a LARGE living room with sofabed and couches and chairs. Also, a splendid kitchenette with a full size refrigerator - which means that if you're not interested in the minibar options, there's plenty of room for anything else you might bring. Glasses and dishes abound, as well as a dishwasher and large sink. Coffee maker and microwave are there too.
Down another small hallway, marble bathroom on the right and huge bedroom in the front. Bathroom amenities were actually quite nice, plenty of towels and hot water. Across from the bathroom - a walk in closet. With a safe for your laptop.
The bedroom was excellent! LCD tv, soft lighting, blackout curtains, and heavy glass and glass sliding doors made it a peaceful haven. For a first floor room on Ocean Drive, it was considerably quiet. Those sliding glass doors open on to a comfortable balcony with table and chairs - perfect for a bottle of wine (or two) and watching the ocean, sunrise, people...
Renovations were still under way when we stayed, but the rooftop pool and restaurant will be there when I return. Need beach towels? There are plenty at the front desk. Just ask. Boucher Brothers operate chair/umbrella rentals just across the street.

Once your done with the Fontainebleau, the Raleigh, the Ritz-Carlton, and the Victor...hopefully you'll discover this rare boutique gem. The rooms are larger than any of those, and the price is considerably lower. Location? Excellent food and bars are a short walk away. From your balcony, you can ogle the food at the Italian bistro below.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritofeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasanovaSuites, Manager at The Fritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you very much for your excellent and extensive review! We are really happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our property. We hope to host you again if you decide to visit Miami Beach in the future.
Again, we appreciate your feedback!
Thank you and regards.
Camilo Matarraz - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Casanova Suites for a few days and were very pleased! The rooms are spacious and well kept, staff is friendly and the location is amazing! It's right across from the beach and within walking distance to several shops, restaurants and clubs. We also got a good deal on the rooms, which was a plus. It has a restaurant too, but we didn't eat there during our stay, so I'm not sure how it is.

The kitchen is convenient, both the bedroom and living room area had flat screens which were great, bed was comfortable and the bathroom wasn't a bad size for a hotel bathroom. At times it could get a little noisy, both from inside and outside the hotel, but nothing too bad. Aside from a few minor things (room could use a fresh coat of paint, water dispenser on fridge didn't work), we had an extremely enjoyable stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasanovaSuites, Manager at The Fritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2010

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you had a good experience at our hotel and we hope to host you again in the near future.
Best regards.

Camilo Matarraz - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed at the Casanova suites for 2 nights. From friday to sunday. When i arrived i had an inconvenience with my credit card and did not go through. The person at the front desk was very attentive. They actually made an exception for me because the money wasn’t going to be available until the next day. I stayed in a standard and it was actually a very nice and clean room. The second night I was curious so I asked the front desk person to show me an ocean view and I must say that next time I will definitely book the 1 Bedroom ocean suite or the 2 bedroom ocean depending on the number of people I’m with. There’s was nothing wrong with the standard room but if you plan to stay a few nights the ocean is better because its bigger and it has a balcony. The overall condition of the building specially in the lobby is not great but the main treat of this hotel is the location and the suites you get for the affordable price. Overall this hotel is a good option for a quick weekend getaway

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claud610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews