We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami Nice”
Review of The Fritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fritz Hotel
Ranked #62 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As many have already noted the lobby of this hotel is far from inviting but having read past reviews I was prepared to overlook its condition and placement on the side of the building, I was glad that I did read previous reviews because the suite was indeed very spacious even though it could do with a little more TLC. The bedroom was a good size and the bed was very comfortable and although I didn't have an ocean view, the fact that my suite was in the back with no view at all was good because it was quieter. Large flat screen TV in both rooms was very welcome as was the amazingly equipped kitchen - full size American style refrigerator -double-door with ice-maker and water cooler, Dish washer, combination micro.convection oven and a coffee maker complete with coffee and sugar and the staff were exceptionally kind.
More than anything else the location cannot be beaten - right across the road from Lumus Park and the beach and Bellinis restaurant just outside was excellent with a great choice and decent prices.
I couldn't finish without mentioning that wonderful pool terrace on the roof - it may not be Las Vegas style but is certainly most welcome especially in 80 degrees in the middle of January and the main bonus was that I had it all to myself most of the time.

Room Tip: Rooms without a view are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for The Fritz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 424 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

The only problem with this hotel was: finding it. Once we discovered that the entrance is on the side of the building on a very small sidewalk, I was worried at first. The lobby was being renovated and the entrance on the side was only temporary. The staff is super friendly and upon entering our suite, all worry was elevated. The rooms are very clean and huge. The rooftop pool and bar is gorgeous with an amazing view. The hotel is so centrally located that every place is within walking distance. The only regret we had was staying only 1 night before a cruise. We will be back for sure to enjoy this amazing hotel for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKWeimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pros:
-Great location on Ocean Drive, very walkable to a lot of bars/restaurants/convenience stores etc.
-Complimenatry beach towels
-iHome system in the room
-Great fridge and freezer in the room....good for keeping your own drinks chilled etc.
-Among the more affordable hotels for Ocean Drive
Cons:
-I agree with a previous poster....very obvious that they do only the minimum to keep the property up. Chairs in our room were worn, the sofa was quite worn and dingy and the sofabed itself was clearly in need of a replacement....it sagged quite a bit. Also, just noticed things like grout in the bathroom, chips and scuffs on the walls, etc. We also had problems with a couple of very random things. Random mechanical sounding noise in the bathroom...we never could figure out what it was or where it was coming from. The property does a good job of dressing itself up by having the granite kitchen, stainless steel fridge and a beautiful full length mirror in the bedroom. But if you do anything more than casually glance at the room, you'll notice it could use some tlc.
-VERY dingy leading up to the room.....hallways, lobby, etc. Can also be somewhat tricky finding the entrance to the hotel....it's hidden between two restaurants and you have to walk down an alley to get to it.
-Finally, listen to all of the other posters....this hotel is noisy. And I'm not only talking about the noise of nightlife....I mean, you pick a hotel on Ocean Drive hopefully you aren't picking it to get a quiet, peaceful night of sleep. You're going to hear people, music, conversations etc. However, the noises we heard were more industrial....trash trucks, street sweepers etc.at about 6 in the a.m.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alysia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed with my bffs Labor Day Weekend. Great stay! Pros: Location is EXCELLENT! Walgreens is around the corner w/ a licquor strore, TGIF and it's right on Ocean Dr. Beautiful rooms lots of space and the full kitchen is a plus. The rooftop pool has an excellent view we hung out there a lot! Very private feel to the hotel wich is great. CONS: The downstairs restaraunt wasn't that good. It took them 15 min to wait on me & I was by myself! They also overcharged me for my lunch. $7.00 turned into $25.00. Had to call the manager for the horrid service. Music is very noisy from the restaraunt so from 8am-1pm they play. Open the balcony doors and its pumping hard! Bad for hangovers trust me! I got yelled at my last night b/c my boyfriend lives in Miami & we wanted to swim on the roof around 9PM. The desk clerk yelled at us the pool is closed & he snatched our towels. (Not true-my bff's and I had hung out there before way past 9). We were like ok whatever. Other than that- great vacay! You Cassanova have me won over!

Room Tip: TIPS: Swoops is a free shuttle that gets you around South Beach.-The kitchen allows you to cook -we...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great apartment size space with kitchen and separate bedroom. Little noisy on the weekend nights (Fri and Sat) but quiet during the week. Beach is right across the street. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Quieter if you stay during the week vs, weekend.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpmccown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here for my birthday 9/13/2012 with my 4 friends for a quick weekend of fun. This hotel has more of an apartment building feel and doesn't quite have the at-your service type of feel you'd get at a typical hotel. It's a good value and the suite was spacious enough for the 5 of us. We stayed in room 301 which has a oceanfront view and balcony, it has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a sofa pull-out (additionally there was a futon which could have also served as a bed.) Two drawbacks to our stay was the ever present thin layer of gritty dust on the bathroom floor and the sad pool on the roof, (but who really cares? We go to Miami for the beach not the pool anyway.) Beach towels are provided and the beach is right outside the front door. There is no bar or restaurant in the hotel, but many food options are nearby (TGIFriday's for one). With a full sized refrigerator we stocked up on water and other essentials like margarita mix! :) One other thing, now I didn't see it, but my friend said she saw a roach in the hallway and you know that's pretty gross and if we are being honest I felt like I should warn you. Overall though, we had a great stay because we made it fun. If you and a group of friends were going to Miami and all wanted to stay together-- and not be cramped-- than this is the best option.

Room Tip: Rm 301 is oceanfront w/ balcony and two bdrms/2 full bathrooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny_inDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasanovaSuites, Reservations at The Fritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thanks for your feedback, here at Casanova Suites we care about our guests, and enjoy seeing them satisfied, we apologize for not having fulfilled your customer service expectations.
We also have our housekeepers that keep the hotel well groomed. The housekeepers are here on an everyday basis, cleaning and making sure the hotel is spotless.
In addition to all the helpful suggestions, did you mention the bug your friend saw to the front desk? We have a contract with a pest control company that takes care of the property. This helps us prevent any presence of any type of bugs.
We appreciate your feedback. We are here to serve you. Feel free to visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Location is excellent, just opp to beach and close to all eating joints. standard Suite was very spacious and cleanliness was decent.Staff was helpful and had us check in at least 3 hours before the check in time.It was bit loud at night at times but if you had a good party night before that, you won't even realize the noise from street. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumit7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasanovaSuites, Reservations at The Fritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoy your stay at our hotel, and took full advantage of our location. We pride ourselves on having very spacious suites on Ocean Drive, it was really a pleasure to serve you. Feel free to visit us in the future, we're here for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#80 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#58 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#119 of 210 in Miami Beach
865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#39 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bentley Miami/South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fritz Hotel

Address: 524 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6616 (Formerly Casanova Suites on the Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $116 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fritz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fritz Hotel its an , all suites boutique hotel with an upscale design, where the atmosphere and ambiance attract celebrities and trendy vacationers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Suites On The Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Casanova Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing