We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Class Act Hotel worthy of 5 stars, 5 Diamonds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #19 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2010

From the moment we arrived, we knew we made the right choice in staying here. The staff at the front desk were personable and accommodating. Our room was ready earlier than expected. The lobby is inviting and comfortable. The guest rooms are very nice and the flat screen TV in the mirror is something you would expect in a "Grand Suite". The "Welcome basket" was a nice touch. The Director of Operations - Cory Randolph is a very engaging and hands on manager. Within a day, he knows your name and he ensures you are happy during your stay. The rooftop deck has a spectacular view of the beach and ocean. We will definitely be coming back again and again. I just hope they never change what they are doing because they have the correct formula for Service Quality.

Mr & Mrs A. Fairfax

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfairfax29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,952 - 1,958 of 2,606 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

We where there during the Art Miami. Therefore prices were as expected high (approximate $600 per night inclusive taxes, resort fees, etc) - too expensive for the value we got. Nevertheless I would go there again for the "standard" rates outside the super high season. The hotel is very charming and the service was great. Definitely an excellent alternative to the big luxury "towers" north of the Betsy.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Beautiful hotel, very close to the beach. Lovely, personal, professional service. We stayed at one of the suits. The king bed was incredible, the sofa bed for the kids was NOT comfortable. Rooms are beautiful, quiet and cozy. From the moment of reservation until checkout everything that was promised and so much more was delivered. Great modern gym and pool area. Fun loby for kids and adults. Amazing spa.
Great hotel, great personnel, stylish and homey. Thank you Cory (Director of Operations) and thank you the Betsy hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sport_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

This was a true florida laid back super hotel! Glad to be comming bak hopefully allready spring 2011. Cant wait!

Very happy guesta!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We began our honeymoon at The Betsy and after the long flight from Ireland and our wedding celebrations we were glad to finally arrive at our hotel – The Betsy was an oasis on South Beach.

The staff from the front door to check in made the process effortless and we were escorted to our stylish room and were delighted to find a bottle of prosecco and a card welcoming us to the hotel. This is key to why the Betsy is tops, small touches that make your stay enjoyable and top class service that ensures requests are ‘no problem’.

The location is perfect for South Beach as it is in a slightly more residential area therefore quieter but well within walking distance to Lincoln road and Espaniola way etc. We especially enjoyed the beach (loungers and beach towels supplied by The Betsy) which is across the road and on returning it was great to escape the heat, enter the hotel ,check emails at reception while enjoying an ice cold homemade lemonade. The rooftop bar has great views of the beach and the most amazing fresh fruit strawberry daiquiris and mojitos - the barman actually made our second drink even though he was supposed to be closed – again no end to the great service.

After 3 nights we had to leave to join a cruise in Fort Lauderdale but special mention must go to Jessica on reception for helping us print our sea passes for the cruise, the process must have taken 15-20minutes but it was no problem and we also had an excellent restaurant recommendation from Jessica for Espaniola way. Robert on the front door was a wealth of knowledge on South Beach and gave some great tips on different parts of the Beach.

The hotel has a fantastic playlist that is played throughout all the common areas/terrace and it was great to sit on the front terrace with a mojito and people watch Ocean Drive. The playlist should be on a channel in room it is that good.Thanks again to all the staff and Mr Valera and we can’t wait to return soon to our oasis on the beach for 5star service.
Kind Regards,
Paul&Annie.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moraney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Director of Guest Services at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

Good Day Moraney,
We feel honored that you crossed “The Pond” to visit The Betsy for your honeymoon. Congratulations on your recent marriage. Thanks for noticing ‘the little things’, I agree that they make all the difference. Jessica, Robert & Albert are each essential to what we do here; it is wonderful that you acknowledged them. Cheers, Reo Davis, Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Location is great. Quiet area of South Beach but walking distance from all the action. Staff was very attentive except the bar attendants. Roof top veranda is private and relaxing getaway. Rooms were very clean with alot ammenities including a bathroom TV inside the mirror. It was nice to get ready for the day and finding out the new and weather of the day at the same time. It was also nice to have a BLT restaurant right in the hotel for a great meal. I will stay there again my next visit to SoBech

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David26g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Director of Guest Services at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

Hello David26g,
We appreciate you taking time out to write this very nice review. Thanks especially for all of your comments on our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Peace and happiness, Reo Davis, Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I was hesitant to stay on South Beach because all of the hotels seemed overpriced yet small, old, and unattractive....but we received a fair deal on the Betsy Hotel through our airline miles, so we booked it for 3 days, 2 nights. I was pleasantly surprised to pull up to a very beautiful hotel the day of my check-in. It was clean and appealing upon first impression. Check-in was smooth (you never know how those things turn out when you do not book your reservations directly with the hotel). Every staff member I came in contact with was friendly and helpful...service with a smile.
We had a 1br suite and it was the perfect size, not too small but not large either. There were 2 of us, but I would sleep no more than 3 in those rooms. The bathroom was large with a tv in the mirror (how cute). There wasnt a tub just a large shower with a rain-down shower head and an extra hand-held shower head. The room was clean, everything was functioning, I had no complaints. I requested extra towels and toiletries and it arrived less than 2 minutes after my request, no questions asked.
The concierge was great! (sorry I can not remember his name: tall, slim, black man). I was alone the first night and I needed advice on a restaurant for the evening (I was craving comfort food) and not only did he give me a great recommendation, he walked me to the restuarant for it was pretty late and I wouldve been walking alone and had no idea where I was walking. Talk about going the extra mile!
I did not take advantage of the restaurant or bar in the hotel, but I heard they both are excellent. There was jazz Thursday night in the lower lounge, but we missed that also.
We sat on the beach and that went smooth as well. No problems with getting our free beach loungers and towels (as guests of the hotel). I sat on the rooftop deck (after hours) for a little peaceful reading and it is beautiful up there.
Now this is my hotel of choice when staying on South Beach from now on. It is close too the action, beach, and shopping and still is a warm, inviting, and clean place to stay.
They provide complimentary lemonade or punch at the front desk (made by one of the bell-boys) and it is absolutely fantastic, I raved about the lemonade the entire stay! The perfect touch to the perfect 3 days of our vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarmelKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Director of Guest Services at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2010

Hi KarmelKW,
I really have to thank you for this lovely review and also for calling me ‘slim’! You made my day. Come again soon for homemade lemonade! All the best, Reo Davis, Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,872 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#13 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,930 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,640 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $269 - $927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing