We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant and comfortable oasis in the middle of bustling South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #14 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton Manors, Florida
2 reviews
“An elegant and comfortable oasis in the middle of bustling South Beach”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I love this hotel for the simple fact that it's such a departure from the others. South Beach is a great place to "see and be seen," and I find that many of the hotels and restaurants in the area pander too much to this notion. There's often an air of forced formality and trendy snobbery at many of the established properties located north of the Lincoln Road. Not at the BETSY.

The BETSY is a historic building at the northern end of Ocean Drive that has been elegantly restored. I'd characterize the mood as beautiful and stylish while making sure you feel welcomed and a special. The lobby is a study in effective integration of restaurant (BLT Steak), hotel, and bar (B Bar). The hotel staff are exceptionally friendly, professional and prompt. My room, located on the second floor and overlooking the pool, was so comfortably and beautifully furnished that it was had to leave. My favorite detail - a flat screen TV embedded in the large bathroom mirror, looking like it was floating inside the glass. The beach is a 10 minute walk at a leisurely pace and the hotel's proximity to the Lincoln Road makes it's location very convenient.

I highly recommend at stay at the BETSY.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardrogowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Director of Guest Services at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Hello richardrogowski,
The love which you expressed in your glowing review is sincerely appreciated. Our style is comfortable, classic and relaxed (with some unexpected surprises). Our location is the very best in South Beach. Please continue to spread the great news.
Kindly,
Reo Davis, Director of Entertainment & Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    518
    159
    64
    34
See reviews for
539
1,257
101
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The hotel was a delight with tasteful furnishings & decor. The location was amazing with the beach across the road, and so many places to eat in the vicinity. The shopping wasn't too far away.

The staff were really helpful.

The only negative was the room size when taking the 2 doubles option - but ok when only staying a couple of days. The extra large shower with enormous shower head was fabulous and I really loved the toiletries - Malin + Goetz.

With the ocean view room there was some noise from the busy street life below each night.

The Betsy really captured old Miami with a new updated feel and we were really happy with our choice.

The use of the Boucher Bros lounge chairs & umbrella at the beach was helpful as it was really hot during our stay.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bay6601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Director of Guest Services at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
G'Day Bay6601,
Thank you for coming all the way from 'Downunder' to spend some time with us here at The Betsy. Your review is right on the money. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Your Mate,
Reo Davis, Director of Entertainment & Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Entering the lobby of The Betsy Hotel from the sizzling heat/streets of South Beach is truly the equivalent of a long, cool drink of _______ (your favorite beverage). Being greeted by Reo, the ambassador of fun and Jessica, the manager, made our initiation to the hotel very comfortable. The property is beautiful and the staff from top to bottom are to be commended. Our room and amenities were fab making it all the more enjoyable to hide out from Miami's extreme heat and humidity. We usually don't dine in hotel restaurants but made an exception for "BLT"; the food was 'as publicized' and the pop-overs are NOT TO BE MISSED - OMG!!! While there please visit the bar on roof and tell Joel we said 'Hello', we got to meet him on his first day and were impressed by his Mojito 'magic'. Supposedly they leave special 'bookmarks' on your pillow
as part of the turn-down service - we didn't get one but perhaps 'you' will!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livs2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Director of Guest Services at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
livs2eat!!!
Your positive energy is infectious. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at The Betsy. We truly appreciate your amazing review! Jessica sends her love and Joel (holding a chilled lime) would like to know when you are coming back. Please email me rdavis@thebetsyhotel.com so that I can send you a couple of Betsy bookmarks.
Cheers,
Reo Davis
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Betsy for the first time and what a great experience. It was everything I imagined it would be - elegant, sophisticated and luxurious. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming and all of the attention they showered on us made us feel quite pampered. The location puts you in the heart of South Beach – far enough away from the noise of the clubs along Ocean drive but still at the epicenter of it all – steps away from the beach and Starbucks and Lincoln road is close as well.

I can’t say enough good things about the Betsy – the wonderful staff, the comfortable bed and amazing lobby which integrates seamlessly with the bar and the fantastic restaurant all made it the most enjoyable stay that we’ve ever had in South Beach. No need to try another hotel, we’ll be back at the Betsy for our next visit!

Sincerely,

Jason A.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaavers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Director of Guest Services at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Hello jaavers1,
Your lavish praise is greatly appreciated. Our staff is indeed our biggest strength, thanks for mentioning them. You have good taste my friend. It was fantastic to have you both at The Betsy.
Come back soon.
Reo Davis
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

great hotel if you are staying in south beach. the location is perfect, close to the beach and to the stores. the service is impeccable. the overall atmosphere is very design but not too cold or trendy like in other famous hotels in south beach. overall a very good value for money. the pool is the only disappoiting part, a bit stucked behind the building and with some food odours coming from the kitchen

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathischi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Director of Guest Services at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Bon Jour mathischi,
Merci Beaucoup for the 5 star review. I am pleased that your stay at The Betsy lived up to your expectations.
Sincerely,
Reo Davis
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

If you want to escape the craziness of Ocean Drive, this is the perfect respite.!
My best friends and I chose The Betsy to celebrate our 40th birthdays and it could not have been a better choice. As soon as we walked through the doors we felt transformed back to Old Florida. The lobby is very inviting, but wait till you get to your room.....perfectly appointed rooms make you feel you are staying at a friends beach cottege. You will not want to wake from the fabulous beds; or leave the shower once you encounter the bath products, which leave the room smelling heavenly.
After a sun filled day on the beach, return to the rooftop lounge for late afternoon relaxing. The view is the BEST on Ocean Dr.
The lobby bar is nice and relaxing, with an upbeat vibe and great cocktails......BLT is wonderful...but plan on adding a few pounds as the gruyere pop overs are amazing. But you can always dance off those pounds in the hidden B Bar..the downstairs lounge that opens at midnight....well worth it!

The Betsy is the perfect location for walking to all the shopping, viewing the scene on Ocean Drive and a quick cab ride to all the nighlife.

And to top it off, the staff is exceptional! Every staff member goes out of their way to ensure you have a fabulous stay. We will definitely be returning.

To sum it up: perfection!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubelle40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Director of Guest Services at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Hello lulbelle40,
“Perfection”! That is what we were shooting for. A huge thanks for your glowing praise of The Betsy. The “fabulous beds” and “heavenly” bath products await your return.
Best wishes,
Reo Davis
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Our stay at the Betsy was the best experience we have had in a hotel. The room was spotless and well kept every day, the bathroom, well I had a hard time getting my wife out of it, I'm disabled and a bathroom to suit me, even had a TV in mirror. Staff was excellent and very polite. The Food, you just couldn't get it any better. I just wish we could have this experience on our honeymoon fifty years ago. O I forgot the mattress, I want to have it sent home. The roof top was our spot to relax watch the ocean and sunsets. Hal & Mary

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Director of Guest Services at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Hi mac752,
What a lovely review. Glad that we could be of service. On behalf of your Betsy Family, congratulations on 50 years together. See you again very soon.
Reo Davis
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,400 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#53 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,705 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,133 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,909 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing