We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
1 review
“Beyond Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

A group of friends and I decided to have a girl's weekend on South Beach. After much talk regarding which hotel to stay at, we decided on The Betsy and were far from disappointed with our decision. From the moment we entered the beautiful hotel lobby, we felt welcomed and right at home. The staff was AMAZING! They followed up with every request we made and made us feel pampered. The room was beautiful and very nicely decorated. It wasn't like most trendy hotels with cold decor. It was very warm and home-like. I will definitely be returning to The Betsy on my next South Beach visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_and_travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    476
    148
    59
    29
See reviews for
492
1,192
96
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Having read the reviews in trip advisor I was pretty sure the Betsy would be a good experience but I have to say the reviews don't do this place justice. From maintenance personnel (thanks for chasing down my ice), door staff, front desk, concierge to operations manager these people work to exceed expectations. I was on the beach during one of the MOST chaotic weekends of the year and they never forgot my name, I always received a friendly greeting, and without hesitation the staff will take the extra steps to make your stay memorable.. Combine the fantastic service with wonderful accomodations and you can't loose. I will not hesitate to go back and from now on when in Miami Beach you'll find me at the Betsy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bear043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed here two nights before a cruise and unfortunately, that made me wish we had spent our whole time here! We had a great time on the cruise, but had an awesome time at this hotel! We are actually already planning our next trip here. We stayed in a regular room with a pool view and while a little small, it was set up with plenty of room to keep our suitcases out without having to unpack. We were very comfortable during our stay and really enjoyed our time at this hotel. The best part was the comfy beach chairs that we lounged in during the day. They had really thick padding and were perfect for spending the day at the beach!

As for location, there is a Starbucks across the street that we went to for our morning coffee. Everything is within walking distance. We went to Emeril's every night while there and really enjoyed our meals. We wanted to try the hotel restaurant, BLT Steak, but enjoyed Emeril's so much that we kept going back. Lincoln is very close for shopping and you don't even have to worry about what to pack because there is a Wings store very close that you can buy anything you might want to have at the beach (sunscreen, swimsuit, hat, etc.). We walked all around South Beach (including all the way down the beach) and never got tired. This was our first trip to the area and we were definitely impressed with how much there is to do. Everything was amazing and I can't wait to stay at this hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccndallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at The Betsy the end of May with a group of friends. This hotel is true to its advertising and is everything we hoped it would be. We checked in late and were suprisingly upgraded to a King Suite Classic View (the alley). The room was gorgeous, bed was super comfortable, and the bathroom pristine. While the view was less than inspiring, we quickly realized we had the quiet side of the hotel - as ocean/street view rooms were a little noisy as the SoBe crowd heated up after 10pm. The roof-top deck is amazing - definitely a must. We had the Sunday brunch at BLT and were pleasantly suprised. Pricey, but mid-range for South Beach standards. The french toast is to die for!! A little confusion between the restaurant and the hotel regarding our promotional included breakfast - but the confusion was cleared up fairly quickly. Right on Ocean Drive, the Betsy is just steps from the ocean. We took advantage of the included beach chairs and umbrella one morning - very conveniently located and very comfortable. FYI - chairs & umbrellas only available from 9-5. Valet service was a necessity and very reasonably priced for the area. We never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes for our car. From the front desk - to maid service - to the valet, the customer service was impeccable. Thanks, Betsy, for a wonderful start to our vacation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommaDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

The Betsy is a darling boutique-style hotel situated on the quite end of bustling Ocean Drive. It is absolutely beautiful with subtle but sophisticated decor. Our king-sized bed was so comfy we ended up sleeping in much later than planned! The room was beautifully furnished and had all the amenities one could ask for. Most importantly, the staff was wonderful and very genuine. Be sure to check out the gorgeous roof deck which features a very good outdoor spa. This is an exceptional hotel that we would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpinaround4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

Although the hotel location is great and the restaurant excellent (if somewhat overpriced), we found the service at the Betsy poor. The staff at the reception could not manage simple requests and the housekeeping was inconsistent so we frequently had to ask for clean towels or replacement toiletries.

The most frustrating, however, was the service on the beach where the staff managing loungers and umbrellas was extremely rude. Although their hours are meant to be 9am-5pm, they would only start setting up after 9am and would not provide customers with covers and towels or an umbrella until they had set everything up (which was not until after 10am). One of the guys (Nick) also tried to close early on a few of the slower days by closing everyone's umbrellas allegedly due to the wind (which didn't affect any other umbrellas on the beach) and telling people around us how he had leave early to take care of personal business on one occasion.

In addition, we thought that the rooms were too small, even by European standards. There was literally no space around the beds for two people to pass each other and the bathrooms were equally tiny.

If you can live with small rooms and bad service, there are much cheaper options around the corner from the Betsy. For the price, this hotel is substandard.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

The Betsy has everything it needs to be a great hotel and stay...location, well appointed rooms and a great set-up. Unfortunately the staff could not pull it together last night. Aside from a very helpful bellman (Robert) we met on our arrival, the staff was engaging and less than helpful unless directly asked a question. Took a tour of the rooftop observation deck which is a nice addition to the hotel only to run into a staff member who in the 15 minutes I was there could not find time to offer a greeting or drink (my wife were the only ones there). Similar experience that evening after dinner. Later we decided to sit on the front porch and while I watched the staff I found it odd that with a valet and hostess both within 10 feet of the front door, neither could manage to hold the door open for their patrons. Advertised turn down service did not occur last night, then to top it off the hotel booked a party into the room beneath mine, complete with a throbbing bass that could be felt through the floor. Night manager asked if it was too loud....after two phone calls and a personal visit to the front desk, they managed to move us to another smaller room one floor up at 1130 pm. At checkout in the morning I was presented a bill for the amount of the original room....all I could think was "are you kidding or just not communicating?" To their credit they eventually credited $250 to my bill and apologized for the issues. Honestly I would have just preferred decent service. Lot's of good hotels in South Beach, it takes effort to be a great one.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#9 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing