We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room but lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #10 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small room but lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Betsy for 4 nights. While the room was small for the price (about 10X12 with a king bed) and the bathroom was teeny, it was very well-appointed and quite comfortable. There was even a TV within the bathroom mirror! The room was very clean and the bed and linens were wonderful, with an assortment of pillow choices. The location was great; we could walk everywhere within South Beach, but we weren't right in the middle of all the noise and craziness. It was terrific having the beach and a Starbucks right across the street. The roof deck was lovely, with numerous lounge chairs and a great view, and the lobby was very comfortable. What really made our stay, though, was the staff -- everyone we came in contact with was exceptionally polite and welcoming and went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The concierge, Andrew, spent quite a while helping us plan our activities and recommending (and making reservations for) restaurants. The one downside was that the pool is not heated and it was unusually cool when we were there. Also, I would agree with a previous reviewer that I'm not sure it's worth spending extra for a pool view. All in all, we had a lovely time!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCtraveler427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    478
    148
    59
    29
See reviews for
494
1,194
96
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

I had a great stay while I was at The Betsy Hotel. I would describe it as a more intimate and refreshing experience compared to the larger hotels on South Beach. The staff goes out of their way to provide friendly service and the newly remodeled finishing gives a homely ambiance. The location is right on the corner of Ocean Drive which puts you within walking distance of the beach, restaurants and other hotels. Check out the rooftop for a nice view overlooking Ocean Drive and the beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

we loved the hotel. tastefully furnished lobby, rooms and roof top garden. BLT Sunday's brunch menu had unique offerings that all were delicious. Attentive wait staff with special thanks to Cory and Louis for attending to all of our needs. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

Nice hotel, location,spacious room with a great bathroom.Had TV in mirror. Everything was fine except for the valet service damaging my rental car. The valet service did not tell me or the hotel about the damage. I saw the damage when They brought the car to me in the middle of my stay. The hotel told me they would help with the claim while I was there, however once I left they would not respond to any communication. My credit card was charged for the damage and it was very time consuming resolving the problem. This incident left a lousy taste in my mouth. The hotel should have stepped up to the plate for their customer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paf6571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Betsy South Beach is a well designed and sophisticated mixture of boutique hotel and restaurant combining modern pop culture with 1940s lifestyle. Some facts: King bed rooms are a little bit small but sufficient, pretty much noise from the corridor, turndown service lady was awesome, service staff in restaurant seemed false and constrained, made me feel uncomfortable. Great roof terrace, don't miss it!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octopus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

For getting right in to the South Beach scene the Betsy Hotel is in a perfect location. It's a very pretty hotel, and when you enter the front door you feel like you have arrived at a party! We had read previous reviews and knew there was an issue with noise from the bar, but we decided to go for it anyway as we wanted to experience some of the South Beach nightlife.

The reception is right between the bar and lounge and the BLT restaurant so there is always something going on. We had a lovely welcome from reception, checked in quickly and were show to our room on the second floor 228, we booked an ocean view room and were upgraded to an ocean view suite. The room was bright and airy with a huge bathroom and we had a separate little sitting room although we never actually used it.

The beds are truly comfy, the linens and towels are all luxurious. The biggest problem we had was indeed the noise but not so much from the bar - which we knew would stop and actually isn't as bad on weeknights as it is on Friday and Saturday. The soundproofing is really poor - we could hear the woman in the room next to us on her phone, our rooms had an interconnecting door which was clearly not thick enough to cut out the noise. We could also hear the people in the room above us walking across their floor. I am sure there must have been restrictions when the hotel was renovated but think they could have done a better job cutting the room to room noise. The only other room complaint is that it takes the water in the shower, literally, five minutes to heat up.

They have a good gym, small but very well kitted out which we used a couple of times, all the equipment is brand new and it was kept really clean.

The roof top is a great place to spend the day, although the service is not so good. It was a bit of a palaver when we ordered a beer and a glass of wine, the wine came from the restaurant so we had to pay cash for it and signed for the beer - weird system. But the loungers are great quality and they have speakers all around and play chill out music.

Also we didn't rate the service in BLT at all - it was dreadful the evening we ate there. We sat on the veranda at the front of the hotel and watched waiter after waiter pass us without asking if we would like a drink. Each time we stopped one to ask for a cocktail menu they said they would send someone over, and in the end we went back to the front desk to ask the maitre d' to help. All in all it took twenty mintues to get two drinks - not good when you think that for 15 of them we were sitting trying to get served, all the more frustrating when you see how many staff they have - none of them really seem to know what they are doing but they do a lot of running around. By the time we sat down to eat were were more than a little aggravated, especially as we waited another ten minutes to order, you know when you are right on the edge of leaving? Our waiter who served us really did his best, and in fact made up for it, but it is not fair for him to have to apologise for the lack of organisation in other areas. The food once it arrived was lovely.

I would recommend anyone who is thinking of paying extra for an ocean view room to save their money and get a room on a high floor at the back as I imagine they would be quieter because you woudn't get the traffic/pedestrian noise, also the ocean is on the other side of the road, with the beach before it so you only really see a titchy bit of water, it's not really a stunning ocean vista you might imagine it to be.

The Betsy is a fun hotel and it should always stay that way - the concierge team are really superb, very friendly, very knowledgeable, we really did have a good time, we would stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sun Lounge Lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

Had a nice 4 day stay in The Betsy, the location is great and the room was small but well furnished. We had a VERY expensive dinner there one night which was good.....but not that good. My only complaint really could be the lack of organisation and staff in the bar area. There was only one night where the service was good and that was becasue the guy in charge was spot on, the rest of the staff were uninterested, but only in the bar.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAT2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing