We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful, lovely atmosphere, superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, lovely atmosphere, superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed with husband and 2 teenagers in a Suite. We all loved the hotel. It is beautiful and in a superb location. The rooms were perfect and the staff extremely courteous.

Only grumble - we arrived after 5 and our room wasn't ready -annoying after a long drive.
On the plus - the photography around the hotel is fantastic.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the front of the hotel (sea view) which was beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    427
    129
    49
    21
See reviews for
406
1,052
87
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Betsy Hotel was great. Great location, great room, great staff. We loved being so close to the beach as well as within walking distance of restaurants and Lincoln Road shopping. The rooms were clean, and the staff was helpful and courteous. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for three nights with Husband and two children (aged 17 & 12) Room was pretty small for a family of four. Room backed on to the pool, which was very pretty indeed, but a nightmare when people decided to swim at 10.15pm at night (in fairness, hotel staff dealt with this quickly) and at 8am in the morning when it opened. Bathroom was tiny (only shower, sink & loo - no bath) Walls were paper thin (didn't help that we seemed to have a family of small elephants staying in the room above us) Enjoyed our stay, the staff were very polite and helpful, but wouldnt rush back. Overrated and overpriced.

Room Tip: request a room that does not overlook the pool if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

After staying at multiple Miami Beach hotels in the past, we found our perfect fit at The Betsy. It is everything we have looked for, and have returned for the past four years. It is intimate and charming and meets our every need. Their attention to personalized, quality service puts this boutique resort in a class by itself. Kudos to Jeff, Ed, and the entire staff !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanava
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel has very good location, close to wonderful beach and restaurants in the area. We found hotel staff very helpful and professional. Major drawback of the hotel is that rooms are very noisy, you can hear all of your neighbors talking, walking etc.. When we arrived we were given one half of a double-room an when our neighbors arrived with little kids we could hear every single word, kids tried to get into our room at 5.00 a.m. as the doors between two rooms were not lockable. We have asked to change the room in the morning and the front desk staff was very helpful and changed the room for us. Generally rooms have very poor sound insulation.
Hotel has very good restaurant and food quality was very good both for breakfast and diner.

Room Tip: Rooms are very noisy with very poor sound insulation you can hear every step and every noise from in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pavol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

From the front door opening to the staff saying goodbye we look forward to seeing you again, it was an above all customer service experience! Hendrick helped accommodate a room change request which made the experience so much enjoyable for our family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for a few nights as an add on to a vacation to the Caribbean. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the heart of south beach but want somewhat of a quieter location. This boutique hotel is on the northern end of ocean drive which was a bit more toned down than the rest of the area. The hotel rooms are clean, functional, and I would say average sized. The staff was helpful, friendly, and we loved having fresh water and ice in our room daily. The hallways are decorated with cool candid photos of the Beatles and Rolling Stones and the lobby had a lovely library feeling with chess and checker boards to use. The elevator is pretty slow but the hotel maybe has 4 floors so we just used the stairs most of the time. They charge a resort fee which gives you wifi, newspaper, and use of lounge chairs, umbrella, and towels on the beach. We had a great spot on the beach and it's just across the street from the hotel. I never made it to the pool area but I know there was free yoga offered and no need to sign up, you just show up. We had a great time here and was in walking distance to all the Art Deco buildings and great places to eat. We never ate at the hotel restaurant but the food always looked and smelled delicious. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone going to that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvs2travel1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing