We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a great hotel on a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Woudrichem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a great hotel on a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Beautifull hotel on the best imaginable location in Miami.
Perfect ambiance, great service.
Small rooms...but luxurious in every detail.

Great bellboys who make you smile and make you feel extremely welcome.

Restaurant is perfect, breakfast, lunch, diner....it's all the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    427
    129
    50
    21
See reviews for
406
1,052
87
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

After a lot of searching, we finally settled on The Betsy and what a perfect choice it was. It was my girlfriend's first visit to Miami and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. Quite simply everything was pitch perfect. The lobby is delightfully decorated and the suite we stayed in was impeccably appointed. It was spacious and tasteful. I would recommend getting either the suites overlooking the ocean or the pool. Other places on Ocean Drive can be loud but we did not have any problems at all with noise level.

Another thing that stood out was the service. Professional and friendly almost at every facet of the hotel. Everyone from the front door to the reservations desk to the porter to the concierge and restaurant were excellent.

I honestly could go on and on but really we loved every moment of our time there. Yes, the hotel is a little on the expensive side as is the BLT restaurant, but to us it was well worth it for the experience and time we had. I can't imagine staying at any other place in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Usama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

the hotel was very nice, clean great staff and right on South Beach (if that's your thing). but the rooms were pretty small, the rooftop was pretty but also small. even the rooms facing the ocean didn't have a view because of the tall palm trees in front of the hotel. for a one-night stay (which is why were were there) it was OK, but for the money, I'd rather stay a few blocks away from the main drag and have more amenities. one interesting note was the beautiful photos of the Beatles and Rolling Stones which were on (permanent?) display throughout the hotel. a photographer who traveled with both bands in the very early stages of their careers had documented those days. really beautiful photos.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyK312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Betsy was my treat to myself for my one night in South Beach, Miami and it did not let me down. Lovely staff and service, beautifully appointed room, wonderful lobby and excellent bar. I would have loved to have stayed their longer to better experience all there is to offer, I didn't have time to enjoy the rooftop deck. The bed was so comfortable and my room quiet, would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for an ocean view, it was out of my budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaKBooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a wonderful building with a very accommodating, efficient and pleasant staff inside the building. They check is in hours before typical check policy. The location is terrific for walking to the beach, restaurants and other venues. The pool is cozy and serene. The two negatives would be the walls are very thin so you can hear everything in the hallway and what your neighbors are doing in the bathrooms and the second would be the beach staff is horrible. They are supposed to have chairs, towels and umbrellas from the hours of 9 am to 5 pm. We got there at 10 am with only 4 other couples in the beach area. It took them well over an hour to set up the umbrella after we asked an additional 6 times. Yeah, the sun is that strong. The employee was extremely rude so he spoil the rest of out beach time hence we stayed at the pool for 3 days while in south beach. Crazy, huh?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dressgirl_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited the Betsy Hotel for 3 nights end of June, and while it's true the hotel location, and global design is great, we wouldn't recommend it to friends. Let's say that to the question "I've seen this Betsy Hotel offer online, what do you think ?", I would probably answer "Depends of the price rate you get, it's good, but not great".
So, the positive points :
- Well situated
- Very nice, elegant facade, and nice lobby (but quite chilly)
- Very clean room, with several cleaning inspections/day (bed opened for the night, towels changed in the evening...)
- Nice restaurant (but pricey, like in most places in Miami Beach)
- Email from the Concierge a few weeks before our stay to propose booking restaurants, events....

The negative points :
- On top of the price at which we booked the room, add 7% State tax + 3% city tax + 3 % county tax + 16 USD/day of "Resort Fees" (Beach lounge chairs and umbrella). While I don't mind paying for the beach chairs and umbrella, I do not like having it automatically added on my bill, whether I use those amenities or not
- Ocean view from the room is more a palm tree/street view, as we couldn't see the ocean at all (then, don't bother, just book a normal room)
- Drawers and closet too small to unpack suitcase (drawers about 20 cm wide, so forget about putting any cloths in there...)
- Room is not available for check in before 4pm, which is a major inconvenience when you wish to enjoy your first day there, and no late check out option was provided (the solution : take a shower by the pool, and change in the bar bathroom... Not ideal before a long international flight)
- Very nice roof deck, but it's just the deck, the swimming pool is in a little backyard, enclosed by walls at the back of the lobby/restaurant. Deserted, as no one really wants to sit there (unless you're totally sunburned and looking for shade, as it's very well sun protected by the 4 stories high walls around it)

To sum it up : be aware of all those negative points (especially budget wise), and compare with other hotels before to book.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maimai0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Inn was very modern and well appointed. The service was first rate from the valet to the front desk they made you feel like a VIP with everything they did for you.
The food is good, but very pricey.
The beach area is nice. Crowded like all of southbeach, but unique.
I did not check other prices, but The Betsy is up there. I would say you get what you pay for and therefore it was well worth it to me.
They advised we dine at Havana, a local Cuban restaurant, and we loved it. Went every night.
There is a pay station for bike rental across the street and they are reasonable and fun to ride.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing