We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #16 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was a great one night stay venue. It has a fantastic location on South Beach and is a beautiful hotel with charm, style and delightful staff. The rooms are small but really stylish and have great character. The rooftop deck is a wonderful and offers a fantastic view over to the ocean. Allan the bellman was very helpful and we highly recommend Paul the Concierge for all the assistance he provided. The lobby bar was great looking and really busy in the early evening. The pool is small, but you're probably not in South Beach or staying at The Betsy to sit at the pool anyway.

Would we stay more than one night? Probably not.

We didn't know that some rooms have a view of the sidestreet/alley. Had we known that we'd have requested a different view before we confirmed our reservation. While it didn't end up being noisy or a major problem during our stay, it was really disappointing to open the shutters and look down at a run down side street, see lots of pedestrian traffic, hear the candid conversations they were having and see the sad accommodations across the side street. We didn't, and you wouldn't want to, pay the rates that The Betsy charges for their rooms while having such a disappointing view.

Room Tip: Be warned that many rooms face the sidestreet/alley...that may not be the view you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguyry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband and I spent last weekend at The Betsy to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary and it was perfect in every way. We loved the rooftop deck and spent a great deal of time reading, eating and relaxing there with the spectacular view of the ocean and South Beach. The food is extraordinary (quality over quantity)--from the exotic, perfectly ripe fruit bowl at breakfast to the best cuban sandwich at lunch. The service is excellent. The concierge made recommendations for dinner Friday and Saturday night and we were extremely pleased with both restaurants. And, the rooms were clean, cozy and comfortable.

Loved this hotel and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

A friend of mine recommended me Betsy and after having reviewed a lot of hotels through the web (I live in Argentina) I made the decision and don't regret at all having stayed there for 2 weeks. The hotel looks really as the pictures show in its website.
I can definitely say that our stay at Betsy has been very pleasant. The hotel is really nice, rooms are very clean and are decorated with very good taste. Beds are comfortable. Staff really worried to make our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel is linked to several cultural events which are really interesting (photo exhibition, library in each room, jazz at the lobby, and others).
Finally, Betsy has a very good location, 3 blocks from Lincoln Rd. and Collins Ave. approx., almost in front of the beach (Ocean Drive and 15th St.) and a few blocks from bar lounges and night life in Ocean Drive.
I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florencia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Florencia M,
Thank you for your long visit, and for taking the time to write your review on our property. Especially for a long stay like yours, our location is indeed best, and I was happy to read that my staff and our cultural vein had such a great impact on your stay. I hope will see you next time!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is lovely. It combines all of the comforts of home (staff that greet you by name, newspapers on the door, and slippers at the foot of the bed) with a definite elegance. I would stay here again in a second. And don't forget to check out the roof deck that I didn't find until I was ready to leave; my bad!

Room Tip: I think they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dithdat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Dithdat,

Thank you for your review! We actually designed the hotel with a residential feel in mind, every step of the way. In a city as energized and intense as Miami Beach can be, it is great to "come home" at the end of the day to your room or suite here, where all of your needs are our highest priority! We look forward to welcoming you home in the future!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

From the moment you arrive at The Betsy, when your luggage is swooped up and taken to your room and a glass of champagne is in your hand while checking in, you realize the exceptional service you will be enjoying. That service did not falter during our long anniversary weekend. Every staff member we interacted with gave us impeccable service while being sweet and gracious, from the wait/bar staff to the concierge. We had a basic room that overlooked the pool, and was beautiful. We didn't spend too much time there, because once we saw the stunning terrace we knew where we would be spending most of our time. However, it is an older hotel so when people were in the hallways we could hear them, but it was never really disruptive. The bed was blissfully comfortable. I really cannot rave enough. We had our anniversary dinner at the steakhouse and, like everything at The Betsy, it was perfection. You must try the popover bread! They even give you the recipe so you can take a little bit of The Betsy with you. The beach area is pristine! They set up chairs and umbrellas, and that part of the beach is private so there were fewer people there. This was my first visit to The Betsy, but hopefully not my last. We had a divine anniversary, and would absolutely stay at The Betsy in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FutureMrsLarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear FutureMrsLarson,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for your review! I'm glad you had such an enjoyable first visit, and honored that you chose to spend your anniversary with us. Think of us next year! Our return Guests are among our favorites, of course, and I will personally see to it that each visit is better than the last one!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Betsy is just lovely. It is the perfect place to base yourself and tour South Beach.

The complimentary cooked breakfast and fruits were a real treat.

The rooms are so clean and well maintained.

The roof terrace was so clean and perfect if just wanting to chill outside in peace. Lovely water spritzer to cool you down too. So well thought out.

Beach across the road with allocated sunbeds - perfect.

There is also a pool area with lemon/lime water on tap – a small but nice touch in the heat.

The gym open all hours – fab, although I preferred to go for a run along the South Beach promenade for exercise!

Room Tip: We had a room facing another buidling - with the sun shining it didn't seem to matter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear GingerOrange,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for your review! I was happy to read that you had such a wonderful, relaxing time! We really do try to stay focused on all of the details that our Guests have told us they appreciate - glad you noticed! We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Booked two nights at The Betsy for a romantic weekend and we were not disappointed.
From when you arrive until you leave, you receive excellent service and the staff is very attentive and helpful and they actually expressed that they enjoyed working there.
The atmosphere is colonial classic and stylish and very different from the other hotel you find along Ocean drive. The food is great and sitting outside sipping on a Miami Heat is a great experience.
It is a little expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortenJohansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear MortenJohansen,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Betsy! It is so great to read these reviews, and see how my staff and our hotel are able to stand out from all the rest, on Ocean Drive and beyond! Your comments are greatly appreciated!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,876 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,933 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,642 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $271 - $920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing