We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #13 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I am going to keep this short and sweet, as I could go on for hours about this hotel.

Elegant and sophisticated with a historic feel....

The position on south beach is great, as the beach is just across the road. Plus you have starbucks and some small shop just across the road...

Rooms are a good size with everything you need.

And finally the staff, well what can I say. Although the hotel does have a sophisticated feel, you always feel welcome and the staff cannot do enough for you. I was my partner birthday and they kindly placed a chocolate desert from their restaurant in our room saying happy birthday on it, which was a lovely thought.

I have stayed in some other lovely hotels in MIami including the epic, however this wins hands down.

Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms add that little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALISTER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear ALISTER2,

Please feel free to go on and on! Our best business comes from referrals made by those who have experienced what we do - I'm happy to include you in that list now! Please let me know whenever you are returning to Miami Beach - we are more than happy to return the favor!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,275 - 1,281 of 2,655 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel caught my eye because of the beautiful pictures and tripadvisor reviews. I am going to start with the positives.

The positives and in my opinion what keeps this hotel alive is Ocean Drive! Wow its beautiful! Having the beach just steps away is amazing. The Betsy is also a beautiful looking colonial style hotel which there are not many of in South Beach. BLT Steak is amazing a must for anyone. Last but not least Starbucks across the street a huge plus for coffee people!


The negatives. For the rate I was surprised upon entering the room. It was small and dusty. My view was looking at the back alley which in the morning was a nightmare trying to get rest. The bathroom was small. No bathtub No Space the only good thing was a built in TV in the mirror but I don't plan on watching tv while I am in the bathroom. No closet space for my clothes. To sum it up very very small. You can also hear every little noise through the walls from workers to your neighbors above and next to you.

Pretty much not worth the rate for this hotel. Maybe when the rates go down I will give it another try in a different section of the hotel because it does look beautiful. Overall disappointed

Room Tip: Do not go to the back alley of the hotel. Its worth it when its not busy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lifevalues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear lifevalues,

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and for taking the time to write your review. While it is true that our prices are high over New Year's, they are in fact in good balance with our competition. During the year, our prices do vary, based on demand and what the market is dictating. It is not unlike airline seats, in comcept, although the overall experience, regardless of the rate or size of the room or suite, is focused on your comfort and luxury. I hope you had time on your visit to visit our spectacular roof deck, or appreciate the artwork that fills are lobby, hallways and other public areas! I am happy to read that you were able to enjoy BLT during your visit.
I would be happy to work on a future reservation for you - perhaps finding a way for you to experience one of our larger suites, of which they are many. It would of course be our honor to have you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Every aspect of our stay at the Betsy Hotel during our December 2013 vacation surpassed our expectations!

We were very much looking forward to our first visit to South Beach Miami and the decision to stay at the Betsy Hotel was the perfect choice. The hotel provided the atmosphere, the amenities and first class service we wanted to experience in South Beach.

Great location to both beach and the attractions of Collins Avenue.

Special recognition to the follow Betsy Staff who made our stay there very special:
- Margot and Paul of the Concierge Services who provided excellent dinning (Ceconni, Monty's and BLT) and site seeing recommendations (the Miami Heat game was a wonderful addition to our vacation itinerary- awesome seats!). Both a pleasure to work with.
- Kevin Christopher of the Front Desk who was attentive and welcoming each and every time we met
- Aziz of BLT whose knowledge and professionalism made dining at BLT enjoyable and rewarding
- and Ed, Management who made a day trip to the Keys a wonderful reality!

We have incredible memories of our first trip to SOBE and we look forward to our return.
The BETSY Hotel delivers on every award they have achieved on being a first class, top class hotel. Simply amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear M S,

Thank you for your visit and your review! It is true, the key to our success is our staff, and I was happy to read how you were able to acknowledge so many of them. I hope to meet you on your next visit - you need look no further than the Betsy for creating wonderful memories of yoru time in South Beach!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

we traveled with a person with disability -there was no accessible entry in front of the building and had to request assistance from a staff to enter from the back, the mini elevator was barely able to hold the wheelchair and 1 passenger, so-called accessible room was very difficult to maneuver through (but the bathroom had been adapted and was acceptable). Our assigned room was in the back of the building and we were woken to the sound of the trash pickup truck.

However, we must confess that it is a beautiful hotel, close to the beach and within walking distance to many interesting sites.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1941Hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear 1941Hoosier,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for taking the time to write your review. I'm happy to read that your stay was overall enjoyable. We will certainly look into your comment about the possible improvements to maneuvering with a wheelchair in the hotel; some of those restrictions were the result of historic guidelines that were adhered to in our renovation in 2009. While our current elevator does meet ADA guidelines of course, we have already begun the process of sourcing a location for an additional, over-conforming elevator which we anticiapte being installed in the upcoming year or so. We look forward to welcoming you back to see all of our improvements - all of our Guests matter deeply to us!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We arrived for the Christmas holiday and it was extremely busy, crowded and noisy. The room was expensive and nothing fancy and certainly we felt not worth the amount we paid which was about $1200/night. Very modern and minimalist room without a bathtub which is important. No view from anywhere other than an alley. We felt South Beach was not our cup of tea and decided to depart earlier than we had planned. The staff at the hotel was excellent and very accommodating and friendly. Perhaps it needs another opportunity but we felt we could have done better at the Four Seasons at almost half the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view and try for a bathtub in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Ken M.,

Thank you for your recent visit over the holidays. South Beach can be pretty intense at times, and many find the Betsy a peaceful oasis in the heart of all the excitement. While we do not have rooms with bathtubs, we do have a substantial variety of bathroom sizes, some with double sinks, sitting areas, and a variety of higher end amenities. Hopefully on your next visit I can steer you towards one of those, as well as a peaceful Pool View, some amazingly tranquil accomodations! I look forward to eharing from you the next time your plans are bringing you to Miami Beach!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Betsy for 3 nights in November. Unfortunately, we didn't have great weather so weren't able to use the pool or beach facilities to their fullest. We managed one trip to the bar on the roof terrace, with its great views, shortly after our arrival, but again the weather prevented any further visits.

That said, this is a beautiful hotel, which provides exceptional service. We were particularly impressed with the staff on the door, who could not have been friendlier. A great deal of thought has clearly gone in to all of the details of the hotel, from the lovely Malin & Goetz products in the bathroom to live jazz in the lobby.

We also very much liked the hotel location, on Ocean Drive but right at the north end where it's much quieter.

We did however feel that the drinks from the bar (both in the lobby and on the roof terrace) were somewhat pricey.

Despite that, this really is a great place to stay and treat yourself to a little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Mandyb64,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that the weather didn't cooperate with your visit - hopefully on your next trip you will be able to spend more time on our Veranda, with some of the best people watching that South Beach has to offer! Our return Guests are among our most important, so feel free to reach out to me personally for the utmost in care and luxury on your next visit!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, great location, friendly staff especially Leslie on the door and Margot Harsan the concierge, who was exceptionaly helpful. Highly recommended.
Rooms on 3rd floor at back were soo quiet.

Food at BLT was pricey but worth it.

Roof terrace lovely to chill out

We will be back

Betsy Manager if you are reading this only thing I would do if I were you would be a lick of paint in the room...335! Also add tea for us English

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Pam R,

Thank you for your visit and your review! I do indeed read every review, and we will take a look at your room. Our PM (preventative maintenance) program is ongoing, and I am sorry that your visit coincided with that room's need for a little touch up painting. Still, I'm happy to read that you had a great time. All of our suites (roughly a third of our accomodations) have coffee and tea makers in them - I think I know where you need to stay on your next visit!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,672 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,967 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,646 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,947 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $282 - $1,036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Splitty, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing