We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Calm oasis in South Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Calm oasis in South Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at The Betsy for a long weekend and overall we had a great stay. The real selling point of the Betsy is the staff who are very helpful and welcoming. The food from BLT Steak is also excellent and they also offer a limited menu on the roof deck from BLT Steak which is nice for breakfast or a light lunch.

The spa was great - in fact, I had the best massage of my life here. If you're looking for a massage then ask for Reggie when you book. He was incredible!

We were expecting pool side and beach beverage service which unfortunately isn't offered which was quite disappointing. But, if we had read between the lines on The Betsy website then we would have realized this. So instead, we found ourselves going to other hotel pools and beaches during the day to lounge around and enjoy some food and cocktails.

Overall, its a great hotel and perfect if you're looking for something a little calmer in South Beach.

Room Tip: Classic King rooms are pretty small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    430
    130
    50
    22
See reviews for
423
1,064
87
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a great hotel! Great location, right across the street from the beach! All staff were friendly and very helpful! They always opened doors, offered help w/shopping bags and any and everything. The pool was nice and relaxing. Excellent bar service. Nice clean rooms. We definitely felt like royalty! Definitely must stay at The Betsy Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

we stayed at the Betsy for 12 nights and enyoyed every moment. Lovely room, good comfortable beds and excellent food, especially the steaks at the BLT. greatest thanks to Paul the concierge, he was of great help. He knew just the things we would like to do and always managed to book fantastic trips for us. Quite outstanding was the boat trip with Marc the shark and the fishing involved. We really managed to relax and recover from our busy work life and could only recommend the Betsy. Thank you for the fantastic experience and service.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited for 4 days as part of our honeymoon and its a lovely hotel, great staff if a little too many! Beautiful sun terrace and the food is fantastic if a little pricy! Only two small complaints - wifi runs like a dog, and didn't like walking through the lobby to go to the pool from our room! Great location and not too noisy but close enough for everything you'll need. Try it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasquatch61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

South Beach hotels can be a bit tricky, but The Betsy was impressive. We wanted a full day on the beach, so we got there at 10am, knowing that our room would not be ready--no problem...they held our bags, gave us some bottled water, and we went over to the beach, where we got free chairs (padded), towels, and umbrella. To be clear, this combo costs over $50 per day for non-hotel guests--and it's free for Betsy guests.

The Betsy pool is in a courtyard, so not much sunning to be done there, but you have the beach and you have the rooftop if you want.

All the people were nice, from the reception to the bellmen, all wanted to help out.

Room was fine. Yes, we heard people walking down the hallway...but really, what South Beach Collins Ave. or Ocean Drive hotel is totally soundproof? None I have stayed in.

Easy walk to Lincoln Road Mall. My wife took advantage of the free Yoga class at 7:30am Saturday morning. Really, I find less and less "great values" hotels any more...This is one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly located, wonderful staff. a bit noisy as we were in an Oceanview room, but even with the noise we slept very well. From what we saw, It seems to be the best small hotel in the area. Would return to the Betsy anytime!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claviprum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Palms, Delano and a couple of other hotels in South Beach. While the Delano has a great pool the Betsy has superior service and the ocean front room we stayed in was fantastic, updated, fresh and a great view. While the pool is lacking at the Betsy, the beach service (Zachary) was outstanding. We ate at the BLT restaurant located in the hotel and he food was really good. The concierge (Margot) was great also, taking care of all of our reservations and appointments.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,991 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
The Setai
#5 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing