We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm oasis in South Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #13 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at The Betsy for a long weekend and overall we had a great stay. The real selling point of the Betsy is the staff who are very helpful and welcoming. The food from BLT Steak is also excellent and they also offer a limited menu on the roof deck from BLT Steak which is nice for breakfast or a light lunch.

The spa was great - in fact, I had the best massage of my life here. If you're looking for a massage then ask for Reggie when you book. He was incredible!

We were expecting pool side and beach beverage service which unfortunately isn't offered which was quite disappointing. But, if we had read between the lines on The Betsy website then we would have realized this. So instead, we found ourselves going to other hotel pools and beaches during the day to lounge around and enjoy some food and cocktails.

Overall, its a great hotel and perfect if you're looking for something a little calmer in South Beach.

Room Tip: Classic King rooms are pretty small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 2,656 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a great hotel! Great location, right across the street from the beach! All staff were friendly and very helpful! They always opened doors, offered help w/shopping bags and any and everything. The pool was nice and relaxing. Excellent bar service. Nice clean rooms. We definitely felt like royalty! Definitely must stay at The Betsy Hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we stayed at the Betsy for 12 nights and enyoyed every moment. Lovely room, good comfortable beds and excellent food, especially the steaks at the BLT. greatest thanks to Paul the concierge, he was of great help. He knew just the things we would like to do and always managed to book fantastic trips for us. Quite outstanding was the boat trip with Marc the shark and the fishing involved. We really managed to relax and recover from our busy work life and could only recommend the Betsy. Thank you for the fantastic experience and service.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited for 4 days as part of our honeymoon and its a lovely hotel, great staff if a little too many! Beautiful sun terrace and the food is fantastic if a little pricy! Only two small complaints - wifi runs like a dog, and didn't like walking through the lobby to go to the pool from our room! Great location and not too noisy but close enough for everything you'll need. Try it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sasquatch61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

South Beach hotels can be a bit tricky, but The Betsy was impressive. We wanted a full day on the beach, so we got there at 10am, knowing that our room would not be ready--no problem...they held our bags, gave us some bottled water, and we went over to the beach, where we got free chairs (padded), towels, and umbrella. To be clear, this combo costs over $50 per day for non-hotel guests--and it's free for Betsy guests.

The Betsy pool is in a courtyard, so not much sunning to be done there, but you have the beach and you have the rooftop if you want.

All the people were nice, from the reception to the bellmen, all wanted to help out.

Room was fine. Yes, we heard people walking down the hallway...but really, what South Beach Collins Ave. or Ocean Drive hotel is totally soundproof? None I have stayed in.

Easy walk to Lincoln Road Mall. My wife took advantage of the free Yoga class at 7:30am Saturday morning. Really, I find less and less "great values" hotels any more...This is one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly located, wonderful staff. a bit noisy as we were in an Oceanview room, but even with the noise we slept very well. From what we saw, It seems to be the best small hotel in the area. Would return to the Betsy anytime!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claviprum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Palms, Delano and a couple of other hotels in South Beach. While the Delano has a great pool the Betsy has superior service and the ocean front room we stayed in was fantastic, updated, fresh and a great view. While the pool is lacking at the Betsy, the beach service (Zachary) was outstanding. We ate at the BLT restaurant located in the hotel and he food was really good. The concierge (Margot) was great also, taking care of all of our reservations and appointments.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JJ169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,672 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,968 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#25 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,647 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,947 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $274 - $1,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Splitty, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing