We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent service from friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 Dining Credit
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service from friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We only stayed for one night on a quick visit to Miami from Orlando, and chose The Betsy for its obvious charm and location. I travelled with my husband and son and daughter, and had booked a double family room. On our arrival, I was greeted my a very helpful Emmanuel who gave me a glass of champagne while I booked in, and then found he was able to upgrade us to a suite. The room was lovely, and certainly made our stay extra special. The hotel amenities are good; the pool is quiet, the sun roof bar has amazing views, and the hotel arranges sun loungers, towels and umbrella while on the beach. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. My daughter and I took the early morning yoga class on the sunroof with Benjamin which was very relaxing and worth a go. My only fault is that it is expensive to eat there, but that is just Miami!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leni1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,457
    427
    129
    49
    20
See reviews for
404
1,050
87
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

we checked in and we found a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room, due to my boyfriend birthday. staff was very friendly at checking. the lobby décor was excellent. we also found everything was so closed to the hotel ( clubs, shopping, beach across the street)

Room Tip: definitelg pool view room, super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to kick off our honeymoon and loved every minute!

The location is perfect, easy walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go. The rooftop bar was stunning; for a while we were the only people there! Don't miss it. Our room overlooked the pool and it was stunning. The gym is also very nice.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We did have an extra charge post to our account that was not on our bill, but everyone we worked with was great and got it taken off about a week after it posted.

If you are in Miami, you shouldn't stay anywhere else!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LDParrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear LD Parrish,

I am happy to read that you had a great stay with us - romantic is our middle name, and the Betsy has hosted not only Honeymoons like yours, weddings themselves, renewals and other life events, but even a couple's anniversary who honeymooned here in 1951! Perhaps one day you can return for more celebration at the Betsy!

Best wishes,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. The Betsy is a lovely boutique hotel that provided excellent service. The rooms, whilst quite small are well decorated and very clean. The beds are super comfy and the TV in the bathroom a luxurious touch.
The location is right across the road from the beach and is a lovely and lively place to be at night. The BLT restaurant had lovely food although I thought a little pricey.
I do feel the price you pay to stay at the Betsy is a little too much for the small size room you get and it also does not include breakfast where I think it probably should for the price you pay per night. I also think the $16 daily resort fee is also ridiculous and should all just be included in the nightly rate.
Other than that a lovely place and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Betsy last week and we were not disappointed. We were there 2 years ago and were so happy to go back.
First of all, the customer service was excellent. The front desk staff were so welcoming and helpful. All those who work there are very friendly and we appreciate that.
Once again, the BLT restaurant was amazing. We had three meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and all were excellent.
We highly recommend the Betsy.
Thank you to all for a wonderful experience! See you again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBWorldTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We only live an hour north but the get-a-way felt like we were wherever you dream about! We met "william p" and his wife on the beach one day so my comments are much like his. I loved the suite we stayed in. The decorations were very homey and comfortable.I spent the "rainy" times in the sitting room while my husband sat at the desk in the bedroom working on his computer...both very comfortable for what we needed to do. I don't think I'll ever stop talking about the bathroom TV...even took a picture to send to my friends! The beach attendants were friendly and alert to your needs...too bad the weather wasn't cooperating (that's Florida summer for you). If you go, you must see the Roof Top...it is a great place to relax, have a drink, watch the stars,or just CHILL OUT!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sherry R.,

Well I am sorry the weather didn't cooperate fully during your stay, but with great food and drinks, great books, good WiFi and always an interesting Guest or two in the lobby, one can always make the best of it! Glad that you did, and that you got a little beach time! We hope to see you again soon! Happy Anniversary again!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We suggest this amazing hotel, for all you needs during your holidays in miami:
Relax, elegance, cleaned,excellent food, best service. Beach in front, but also deck if you want stay in hotel.
Number one of course, because it is different from others hotel jn miami

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PENNYBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
The Confidante
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,604 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing