We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #15 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is the Place To Stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Betsy last week and we were not disappointed. We were there 2 years ago and were so happy to go back.
First of all, the customer service was excellent. The front desk staff were so welcoming and helpful. All those who work there are very friendly and we appreciate that.
Once again, the BLT restaurant was amazing. We had three meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and all were excellent.
We highly recommend the Betsy.
Thank you to all for a wonderful experience! See you again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCBTravel2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,792
    515
    159
    64
    34
See reviews for
536
1,255
101
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We only live an hour north but the get-a-way felt like we were wherever you dream about! We met "william p" and his wife on the beach one day so my comments are much like his. I loved the suite we stayed in. The decorations were very homey and comfortable.I spent the "rainy" times in the sitting room while my husband sat at the desk in the bedroom working on his computer...both very comfortable for what we needed to do. I don't think I'll ever stop talking about the bathroom TV...even took a picture to send to my friends! The beach attendants were friendly and alert to your needs...too bad the weather wasn't cooperating (that's Florida summer for you). If you go, you must see the Roof Top...it is a great place to relax, have a drink, watch the stars,or just CHILL OUT!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sherry R.,

Well I am sorry the weather didn't cooperate fully during your stay, but with great food and drinks, great books, good WiFi and always an interesting Guest or two in the lobby, one can always make the best of it! Glad that you did, and that you got a little beach time! We hope to see you again soon! Happy Anniversary again!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We suggest this amazing hotel, for all you needs during your holidays in miami:
Relax, elegance, cleaned,excellent food, best service. Beach in front, but also deck if you want stay in hotel.
Number one of course, because it is different from others hotel jn miami

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PENNYBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent and the hotel is pretty... However, the rooms are tiny, the housekeeping service is terrible, it is as humid as a rainforest and it has a cellar smell to it. It is WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for the standards. For the same price you can stay at Loews which is way better quality. If you choose to stay at the Betsy, be prepared for a Travelodge quality at a Waldorf Astoria price.

Helpful?
2 Thank Valeria A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel will never fall out of the top 5 in Miami Beach on TripAdvisor, and because of the location, attention to detail, superior customer service in all phases of the staff, and the beautiful room and building, it should be NUMBER 1!

My wife and I Celebrated our very first Anniversary at the Betsy, the hotel gave us a courtesy upgrade on our room, Bottle of wine, and fruit.

The Room is FLAWLESS. The Bathroom shower is the biggest shower I have ever seen, it has a seating area in the shower. The bathroom has a flatscreen tv embedded in the bathroom mirror, and its not in the way, you can still see yourself. its perfect! I am telling you, I am watching ESPN as I am showering, its like my MAN CAVE away from home LOL

My wife and I are in our early 30's, this hotel is for all ages. The customer service at this hotel is TOP NOTCH, everybody, from the front desk, housekeeping, the doorman, all the way to the TOP ED PONDER are committed to making sure you have the best experience. To be honest, I really like the housekeeping, they just come across very "HONEST" and "GENUINE" they are just hard workers, no games are being played.

The beach area the Betsy uses, is not very crowded, and me and my wife felt like we were King and Queen on the beach. They provide chairs/towels/umbrella for you.

I am at the hotel right now Aug 25-29. My honeymoon last year was at the Hay Adams, a boutique hotel overlooking the WHITE HOUSE in D.C. and I thought I would never experience anything like that again, but the BETSY treated us even better. THANK YOU BETSY TEAM!!! We hope to come back next year.

Room Tip: The Suites are very nice! If you can get a suite do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Charming right sized boutique hotel in the perfect setting at the north corner of famous Lummus (beach) park. Decorating well done; a very well appointed room and bath, as well as, all the designs throughout hotel (especially enjoyed lobby and bar sitting area). They had the lost rock n' roll pics up of the Stones and Beatles when I was there; fun. In town for one day of business, but friendly staff and delightful facility made it seem like a nice relaxing long weekend.

Location is superb, in center of SB history, restaurants, shops and other fun distractions. Enjoyed gym, (treadmills work), yoga morning(s) (I observed) on hotel sky deck, and I took a long rejuvenating morning swim in delicious warm Atlantic before business; it worked for focus.

I look forward to returning with my lovely wife for a very special getaway at a very special hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The great location at the quieter end of Ocean Drive, the meticulous and inspired architecture and décor, the perfect and unfailingly cheerful service, and even the
brilliant food and drink, are all surpassed by the Betsy's efforts to nurture poetry, music and art. The curated exhibitions in the halls and stairwells, the performers invited to perform in the lounge, the Writer's Room provided gratis to selected scribes and philosophers, and the artists' salons arranged by The Betsy imbue the hotel with an energy and ambience that all guests take home with them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,398 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#57 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,690 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,908 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,129 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing