We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeeded my already high expectations in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #13 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeeded my already high expectations in every way”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Betsy has a superb South Beach location, an immaculate building which beautifully represents the best of Miami Beach architecture. The staff, the lobby, the room, the view, the bar and the food all exceeded my expectations for a true world-class luxury boutique hotel experience. I could not recommend the Betsy any more emphatically to any traveler whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,740
    493
    153
    62
    32
See reviews for
509
1,229
97
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fleet
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fantastic hotel - very clean and access to main shopping and Beach excellent.
Staff were very friendly and helped to make stay excellent

Beach is just a minute walk and is lovely - lots to see if you want - we just chilled for 2 weeks.

Lincoln road is a nice 10 minute walk where there is many restaurants to choose

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jibers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked our hotel stay with Mr and Mrs Smith who never fail to provide top quality stylish hotels. on arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne and also received a complimentary upgrade to a suite - the first time this has ever happened.Our room overlooked the pool and was beautiful we had 3 TV s in our room - one which was integrated into the bathroom mirror. breakfast was great and service was pleasant and speedy. I used the gym twice and I found it well stocked and modern. We also used both bars the roof top ( very romantic) and the lobby bar where a pianist played in the evenings. Due to the length of our stay I did t use the pool but it looked amazing. We loved the fact we had a reserved area on the beach. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milesydoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in The Betsy during the last days of our holidays in the USA. The Betsy is a stylish hotel at a prime position on South Beach. Just a stone's throw from the beach, Lincoln Street and Collins Avenue, the position could not be better. You are also in the middle of nightlife whenever you would be looking for that in the evening
Reception and service are excellent. Christoffer, the porter, did all possible to make our stay as pleasant as possible by showing us around and explaining all amenities. Rooms are light, nicely decorated and have all ammenities needed. Our bathroom was a tiny bit small but that should be considered a detail.
There is a small swimming pool which we did not use. We did go to the beach however where the hotel has its own chairs and towels. Good service, nice, clean and comfortable sunbeds.
The only peculiar experience we had was with the BLT Steak Restaurant in the hotel. When we asked for a table we were turned away with the reason that they we fully booked. Hard to understand as it was less than an hour before the kitchen closed and half the tables were (still) empty. When we asked them to make an effort as we were staying in the hotel, we were in the end given a table. Afterwards we saw other people coming in without reservation who where given a table straightaway. Strange, and a bit of a pity as the restaurant is extremely good (we took the set menu with excellent wine package).
Prices of drinks, food, etc. are however rather 'pricy'

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I'm not a fan of glossy, uber-modern hotels (they remind me of airports somehow), so the beautiful, tasteful, impeccably clean, and very cozy rooms at the Betsy were right up my alley. The colonial-style architecture feels warm and elegant, tucked into its beachfront art deco neighborhood. Excellent location right across the street (and a small, grassy park) from the beach. I opted for two rooms facing the pool for my father and I based on other reviews about street noise on the beachfront side. I was very glad I did this as the street is indeed very noisy, mainly due to the dueling dance-pop music blasting from every restaurant on the block.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The roof deck was beautiful and breezy, with very comfy chairs, though the wait-staff up there seemed a little out of it compared to the people at the front desk.

Definitely not a cheap hotel, but it's one of a kind as for as atmosphere. If you want to splurge a little, this is the place to do it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool are quiet. I stayed in the cheapest room option and found nothing wanting. Beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Chose the Betsy based on other reviews and overall the hotel was very clean and pretty and location outstanding (across the road from the beach). Its' very cool with all the pics of The Beatles & Rolling Stones so as a fan I was thrilled to see all of these. Overall it was a great place to stay but expensive accommodation for what you get. The rooftop bar was beautifiul but not used - we went on a couple of nights say at 10pm to find the rooftop empty. The lobby bar also had music pretty early and shut early (again around 10pm) so if out for dinner and looking to relax at a bar, we didn't get this at The Betsy. The hotel offers resort facilities (towel and beds) on the beach at a cost which is great - although the cost is applied whether or not you go to the beach. The BLT restaurant served a great breakfast. All the staff were professional and offered assistance at the drop of a hat. The Concierge very knowledgeable about the area and was able to offer advice on what to do. Starbucks across the road was great and very convenient. The internet was a problem during our stay - consistently dropped out and impacted the ATM also which was a problem. The really disappointing part of our stay was when I asked for assistance to make a 'collect call' to my bank due to an issue i was having and I didnt want to pay for the call. I had to make a few calls and at each occasion asked for the calls to be 'collect' only to find when checking out, I was actually charged for them. This was an expensive cost in addition to the accommodation and put a damper on our stay in Miami.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Recommend for couples and singles for the great accomodations, friendly staff, and location - across the street from the beach. Walking distance from Lincon Road. Very good dinning. Take a front room, with beach view...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebBulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,363 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#10 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,485 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,891 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,011 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach and only one of three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, a Lobby Bar, Library and Conservatory with an Espresso Bar giving guests ample options to lounge and enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world’s great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing